

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COUNCIL

PO BOX 201704 **HELENA, MONTANA 59620-1704** (406) 444-3742

GOVERNOR BRIAN SCHWEITZER HOUSE MEMBERS **DESIGNATED REPRESENTATIVE** CHAS VINCENT--Chair MIKE VOLESKY

SUE DICKENSON JULIE FRENCH MIKE MILBURN CARY SMITH FRANKE WILMER SENATE MEMBERS BRADLEY MAXON HAMLETT--Vice Chair JEFF PATTISON JIM KEANE RICK RIPLEY JIM SHOCKLEY MITCH TROPILA BRUCE TUTVEDT

PUBLIC MEMBERS **BRIAN CEBULL** DIANE CONRADI

COUNCIL STAFF JOE KOLMAN, Research Analyst SONJA NOWAKOWSKI, Research Analyst HOPE STOCKWELL, Research Analyst MARY FITZPATRICK CYNTHIA PETERSON, Secretary TODD EVERTS, Legislative Environmental Analyst

January 19, 2010

Director Richard Opper Department of Environmental Quality 1520 East 6th Avenue P.O. Box 200901 Helena, MT 59620-0901

Dear Director Opper:

At the January 8, 2010, Environmental Quality Council (EQC) meeting, the Council Members voted unanimously to send this letter to the Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) recommending that the DEQ:

- (1) form and institutionalize a broad group of stakeholders analogous to the Clean Air Act Advisory Committee to be convened and consulted for any current and future Comprehensive Environmental Cleanup and Responsibility Act (CECRA) administrative rulemaking processes; and
- (2) undertake, at some point in the future, a comprehensive CECRA administrative rulemaking process utilizing the stakeholder group noted in subsection (1) above.

These recommendations were made in response to some issues that were raised by interested and affected parties during the January 8, 2010, EQC meeting with respect to the DEQ's current CECRA rulemaking activities (MAR Notice No. 17-296).

Thank you for your serious consideration of this matter.

Sincerely,

Rep. Chas Vincent **EQC** Chair

EQC Members cc:

Cl0425 0019teea.