Montana Supreme Court, Office of the Court Administrator
Draft Summary Report on DUI Fines, Fees and Costs

Introduction & Methodology

This report provides summary information on court® fines, fees and costs assessed, allocated
and paid by defendants convicted of a driving under the influence (DUI) offense in Montana.

The information in this report is based on an analysis of 13,340 court cases and corresponding
financial records where a DUI conviction occurred and fines, fees and/or costs were ordered by
the sentencing court between January 1, 2008 and December 31, 2009. The information was
extracted from the court central data repository maintained by the Office of Administrator.
This report was prepared at the request of Pat Gervais, Legislative Fiscal Analyst.

In this report a DUI charge is any final charge under 61-8-401, MCA — Driving Under the
Influence of Alcohol or Drugs, 61-8-406, MCA — Operating with Alcohol Concentration of
0.08% or Greater, and 61-8-410, MCA — Operating with Alcohol Concentration of 0.02% BAC
under 21 years of age. DUI charges may be further categorized in this report by offense count,
i.e., 1% 2" 3 4™ or subsequent offense.

Court fines, fees and costs imposed on DUI offenders.

Table 1 provides in the broadest terms a summary by court jurisdiction of cases, court ordered
fines, fees and costs, adjustments, payments to date and outstanding balances for the 13,340
DUI cases reviewed for this report. Court ordered fines represent the largest percentage (85%)
of the court ordered fines, surcharges and costs. However, prioritization for the payment of
fines is a low priority and, therefore, statutorily mandated surcharges and court costs are
typically paid before fines. Table 2 on page two provides a breakdown of court ordered fines,
surcharges and costs and notes the current prioritization for disbursements of funds when
payments are made based on the allocation parameters set forth in 46-18-251, MCA.

Table 1: Status Summary of Court Ordered Fines, Surcharges and Costs (CY2008 and CY2009)

Court DUI Cases Total Court Ordered Adjustments Defendant Paid Outstanding
Jurisdiction €Y2008-CY2009 Fines/Surcharges/Costs (::::ietnf;’e’;is":“fr:‘c’::' to date
otc) ’ 3/15/2010

City 2,170 $2,482,698.29 -$882,700.99 -$782,314.76 $817,682.54
District 742 $884,155.88 -$208,096.05 -$112,626.27 $563,433.56
Justice 5,815 $4,611,214.10 -$720,705.95 -$2,540,996.05 $1,349,512.10
Municipal 4,613 $4,679,336.49 -$1,064,413.07 -$1,924,200.58 $1,690,722.84
Total 13,340 $12,657,404.76 -$2,875,916.06 -$5,360,137.66 $4,421,351.04

! Cases for Teton County Justice Court are not included in this report.
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As noted, fines, fees and costs are assessed by the sentencing Judge in accordance with current
statute. Table 2 provides an itemization of the current priority settings of DUI court ordered
fines, surcharges and costs.

Table 2: Prioritized DUI Court Ordered Fines/Surcharges/Costs by Fund Description (cv200s-cv2009)

Description Statute Reference Amount Total Court Payment
Ordered Priority
Restitution’ (50% initial payment) 46-18-251 Variable $314,151.15 1
Misdemeanor Surcharge 46-18-236 $15 $194,235.00 2
Felony Surcharge 46-18-236 S20+ $18,091.00 2
State - Court Technology 3-1-317 $10 $133,415.00 3
Victim/Witness Surcharge 46-18-236 $49 $623,605.00 4
Victim/Witness Administration Fee 46-18-236 S1 $10,837.00 5
State - MT Law Enforcement Academy 3-1-318 $10 (Limited $125,320.00 6
Courts only)
State - Public Defender’ 46-8-113 $150 for each $12,510.00 7
misd, $500 for
each felony
Local - Costs (prosecution, community 46-18-232 Variable $427,216.08 8
service, supervision, DUl treatment
courts) assessed
Fines 46-18-231 and 46- See Fines $10,798,024.53 9
18-233 Table 3
Total DUI Fines/Surcharges/Costs $12,657,404.76
Ordered (cy2008-cy2009)

Fines

Minimum and maximum fines and jail time for DUI convictions are set in statute. However, the
sentencing judge may not sentence an offender to pay a fine unless the offender is or will be
able to pay the fine. In determining the amount and method of payment, the sentencing judge
takes into account the nature of the crime committed, the financial resources of the offender,
and the nature of the burden that payment of the fine will impose.

It’s also important to note that many defendants establish time pay agreements with the court
and the final reconciliation of sentence may take many years.

> This figure is for misdemeanor restitution only. Restitution in felony actions is managed by the Department of
Corrections.

*In 2009 SB 263 was passed requiring a mandatory public defender cost (if applicable) to be assessed against a
convicted defendant of $150 for each misdemeanor case and $500 for each felony case. These costs are typically
assessed in a judgment or separate sentencing order and forwarded to the OPD for collection. These costs are not
typically tracked through the general ledger accounting program of the court.
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Table 3 provides the median fine assessed by DUI category and provides the minimum and

maximum fine and jail time allowed in statute for the offense.

Table 3: Median Fine Assessed by DUI Offense Category (CY2008-CY2009)

DUI Offense Category # Cases Median Fine | Min Fine Max Min Jail Max Jail Penalty Section
Assessed Fine

DUI/BAC - 1 10,069 $450 $300 $1,000 24 Hrs. 6 Mo 61-8-714 & 61-8-722

DUI/BAC - 1st Commercial 20 $600 $300 | $1,000 24 Hrs. 6 Mo 61-8-722

DUI/BAC - 1st Under 21 690 $210 $100 $500 0 0 61-8-410(2)

DUI/BAC - 2™ 1,727 $600 $600 $1,000 7 Days 6 Mo 61-8-714 & 61-8-722

DUI/BAC - 2nd Commercial 1 $1,000 S600 | $1,000 7 Days 6 Mo 61-8-722

DUI/BAC - 2nd Under 21 18 $325 $200 $500 0 10 Days 61-8-410(3)
(over 18)

DUI/BAC - 3™ 355 $1,000 $1,000 S$5,000 30 Days 1Yr 61-8-714 & 61-8-722

DUI/BAC - 3rd+ Under 21 2 $255 $300 $500 24 Hrs. 60 Days 61-8-410(4)
(over 18) (over 18)

DUI/BAC - 4th+ 458 $1,000 $1,000 | $10,000 13 Mo 5Yrs 61-8-731

Allocation of Money Collected in DUI Actions

Table 4 provides a chart of how money collected in DUI actions is distributed

jurisdiction of the court.

Table 4: Allocation of Money Collected in DUI Actions by Jurisdiction

based on the

Fine/Fee/Cost Category City Municipal Justice District Reference

Fines City City 1/2 County - | State 46-18-231 or 46-18-
1/2 State 233

Misdemeanor/Felony Surcharge City City County County 46-18-236

Victim/Witness Administration Fee City City County County 46-18-236

Victim/Witness Surcharge City/State | City/State | County/State | County/State | 46-18-236

Court Technology Surcharge State State State State 3-1-317

MLEA Surcharge State State State State 3-1-318

Costs City City County State 46-18-232 or 46-18-

233
March 2010 Page 3




