HB 142 Review of Advisory Councils Service Area Authorities

Prepared by Alexis Sandru May 2012

Statutory Authority: Title 53, chapter 21, part 10, MCA

Purposes

- Collaborate with DPHHS and Local Advisory Councils (LACs) for regional planning and oversight of mental health services within a service area
- Promote consumer and family leadership within the mental health care system in order to advance access to mental health services and individual choice

General Information

 Divided into three regions: Western Service Area Authority (WSAA), Central Service Area Authority (CSAA), and Eastern Service Area Authority (ESAA)

Membership:

- DPHHS approves a leadership committee within each service area, which, in turn, establishes a board and adopts bylaws
- Includes mental health services providers, county commissioners, consumers of mental health services, and family members of consumers of mental health services
- Includes representatives of LACs
- Regional members are not appointed or elected -- membership is open
- Board members are elected by a leadership committee and serve 1-3 years, with reelection possible

Duties and Activities:

- Leadership committees meet one to four times per year
- Boards meet monthly
- Receive proposals and/or recommendations from LACs regarding issues affecting local communities
- Serve in a collaborative and planning role for DPHHS

Budget Information

Each SAA has nonprofit status, serves as an instrumentality of the state, and receives funding from the Addictive and Mental Disorders Division (AMDD) to cover meeting expenses, including travel, per diem, etc. Fiscal year 2011 contract amounts were \$35,000 for ESAA, \$25,000 for CSAA, and \$25,000 for WSAA. AMDD hosts an annual meeting for the combined SAA boards. This meeting is paid for by the SAAs. AMDD staff attend the SAA meetings, but do not have responsibilities other than to provide DPHHS updates. Typical staffing functions are provided by the SAAs.

Recent Activities

- Community education and advocacy
- Developing legislative priorities and serving as advocates for persons with severe mental illness within service area regions

Western Service Area Authority Membership

WSAA Members	Hometown	Representing	Term Expires
Howard Gaines	Dillon	Consumer	9/2012
Joe Estenson	Kalispell	Consumer	9/2012
Royalee Bishop	Polson	Consumer	9/2012
Richard Halseth	Superior	Consumer	9/2012
David Cockrell	Missoula	Consumer	9/2012
Sara Brigham	Stevensville	Consumer	9/2012
Tom Russell	Butte	Provider	9/2012
Kerry Brown	Anaconda	Consumer	9/2012
Stacey Wheeler	Bonner	Consumer/Family Member/Provider	9/2012
Sylvia Carollo	Missoula	Consumer	9/2012
Brenda Desmond	Missoula	Criminal Justice	2012
Chris Hartzmann	Troy	Consumer	2012
Paul Meyer	Missoula	Provider	2012
Tyler Steinebach	Superior	Consumer	2012
Denelle Pappier	Hamilton	Consumer/Family Member	2013
Courtney Rudbach	Kalispell	Provider/Other Representative	2013
Geri Stewart	Missoula	Consumer/Other Representative	2013
Rena Ayres	Missoula	Family Member/Provider	2014
Tom Camel	Ronan	Consumer	2014
Monique Casbeer	Missoula	Consumer/MHOAC Rep.	2014

Central Service Area Authority Membership

CSAA Members	Hometown	Representing	Term Expires
Alicia Smith	Bozeman	Consumer	2014
Andrea Lower	Bozeman	Court Services/Diversion	2015
Brett Linneweber	Livingston	County Attorney	2015
Jacob Wagner	Bozeman	Consumer/Peer Provider	N/A
James Gustafson	Great Falls	Consumer/Peer Provider	N/A
Jeanette Kotecki	Cascade	Family Member	2014
Jeffrey Krott	Helena	Consumer	2013
Jim Wilkerson	Helena	Family Member/Provider	2015
Jodi Dali	Bozeman/Livingston	Provider (MHC)	2015
Louise Livingood	Logan	Family Member	2015
Marlene O'Connell	Great Falls	Provider	2012
Mavis Young Bear	Ft. Belknap	Provider/Family Member	2013
Mike Murray	Helena	Co. Commissioner	2015
Molly Protheroe	Helena	Consumer	2012
Robin Johnson	Great Falls	Consumer/LCPC	2013
Sidney Blair	Great Falls/Helena	Provider/C4MH	2015
Tom Peluso	Bozeman	Family Member	2014
Betsy Garrigues	Bozeman	Children's Advocate/Family Member	2015
Cindy Smith	Havre	Provider	2013
Joe Moll	Great Falls	Consumer/Peer Provider	2012
Lenore Stiffarm	Ft. Belknap	Consumer/Family Member	2014
Aneta Jones	Havre	Consumer/Peer Provider	N/A

Eastern Service Area Authority Membership

ESAA Members	Hometown	Representing	Term Expires
John Ronneberg	Big Timber	Consumer	2012
Jody Ferestad	Billings	N/A	2012
Diane Ronneberg	Big Timber	Consumer	2013
Dave Pierce	Billings	SC Mont. Mental Health	2012
Rev. Karalee Mulkey	Broadus	Advocate	2012
Colleen Forrester	Glasgow	ESAA Secretary & NCILS	2013
Bobbie Becker	Glendive	LIFTT & ESAA Treas.	2013
Adam Gartner	Glendive	Dawson Co. Commr.	2012
Bill Hodges	Hardin	Big Horn Co. Pub. Health	2013
Jo Shipman	Lewistown	Advocate/MHOAC Rep.	2014
Carl Seilstad	Lewistown	Fergus Co. Commr.	2013
Mary Jean Golden	Lewistown	Consumer	2012
Janice Reichelt	Malta	N/A	2014
Frank Lane	Miles City	EMCMHC/Consumer	2013
Carla Bichler	Miles City	Consumer/Provider	2014
Philip Richmond	Roundup	Consumer	2014
Esther Kramer	Scobey	Consumer/MT-MHA	2014
Judy Lapan	Sidney	Co. Public Health Dept.	2015

Cl0425 2111asxe.