

ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY COUNCIL

PO BOX 201704 HELENA, MONTANA 59620-1704 (406) 444-3742

GOVERNOR BRIAN SCHWEITZER DESIGNATED REPRESENTATIVE MIKE VOLESKY	HOUSE MEMBERS DUANE ANKNEYVice JERRY BENNETT BILL MCCHESNEY MICHELE REINHART CARY SMITH	SENATE MEMBERS JIM KEANEChair JOHN BRENDEN BRADLEY MAXON HAMLETT RICK RIPLEY CHAS VINCENT	PUBLIC MEMBERS DEXTER BUSBY DIANE CONRADI MARY FITZPATRICK JOHN YOUNGBERG	COUNCIL STAFF JASON MOHR, Research Analyst SONJA NOWAKOWSKI, Research Analyst HOPE STOCKWELL, Research Analyst HELEN THIGPEN, Staff Attorney KEVIN MCCUE, Secretary
	KATHLEEN WILLIAMS	GENE VUCKOVICH		JOE KOLMAN, Legislative Environmental Analyst

April 17, 2012

TO: Environmental Quality Council Members

FR: EQC Staff

RE: The May 1-3, 2012 EQC Meeting

Hope you're enjoying a wonderful Spring!

A reminder that the business portions of the upcoming EQC meeting will occur May 1 and 3 in Room 172 of the Capitol and that the EQC will recess and travel to Virginia and Nevada Cities and Lewis and Clark Caverns on May 2 as part of the HJR 32 study.

Enclosed are the meeting prep materials, including:

- draft agenda
- rule review memo
- minutes for the meetings of March 7 and 8, 2012 (need approval)
- HJR 32 cover memo and bill drafts requested in March
- draft EQC eminent domain report
- Water adjudication update from DNRC and Water Court
- Jobs report re: new coal leasing laws, DOLI
- DFWP Future Fisheries Improvement Program Report
- DFWP Private Land/Public Wildlife Council Report
- DFWP Upland Game Bird Enhancement Program Report
- Background sheets for four DFWP advisory councils, including the Upland Game Bird Citizens' Advisory Council, the Alternative Livestock Advisory Council, the Wetlands Protection Advisory Council, and the Boating Advisory Council
- Migratory game bird program update
- HB 142 bill drafts requested in March

All of the meeting materials are also available on the EQC web site at www.leg.mt.gov/eqc.

Thank you for reviewing these materials prior to the meeting; it will help us stay on schedule. Also, please bring your packet with you to the meeting!

If you have any questions or comments, feel free to contact us anytime. Joe Kolman (444-3747, jkolman@mt.gov) Jason Mohr (444-1640, jmohr2@mt.gov) Hope Stockwell (444-9280, hstockwell@mt.gov) Sonja Nowakowski (444-3078, snowakowski@mt.gov)