

Economic Affairs Interim Committee

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

62nd Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS
JOE BALYEAT
TOM FACEY
EDWARD WALKER
JONATHAN WINDY BOY

HOUSE MEMBERS TOM BERRY CHUCK HUNTER CAROLYN SQUIRES GORDON VANCE COMMITTEE STAFF
PAT MURDO, Lead Staff
BART CAMPBELL, Staff Attorney
CLAUDIA (CJ) JOHNSON, Secretary

as of Aug. 22, 2011

Economic Affairs Interim Committee August 23, 2011, Room 137, State Capitol

Agenda	All times are tentative. An issue may be discussed earlier or later than listed. Questions from the Committee are included in the timeframes provided.
9:00 a.m.	Call to order. Roll Call. Committee Action on Minutes from June 2011 meeting
9:10 a.m.	Panel Discussion: Medicaid, Indian Health Service Interface with Health Insurance Exchange -Linda Snedigar, Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services -Kevin Howlett, Tribal Health Director, Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes
10:00 a.m.	Health Insurance Exchange Updates: Federal Exchange and Montana OptionsMarguerite Salazar, Department of Health and Human Services Regional Director, plus - Joel Ario, Director of the Office of Health Insurance Exchanges with the Centers for Consumer Information and Insurance Questions
11:00 a.m.	Public Comment
11:15 a.m.	Department of Livestock Update, including New Brucellosis Review Area Christian Mackay, Executive Officer
12:15 p.m.	Lunch
1:30 p.m.	HB525 Review of the Board of Pharmacy Board Representative: Mike Bertagnolli, RPh
2:00 p.m.	Public Comment on Board of Pharmacy, followed by <i>Committee action</i> on board necessity
2:30 p.m.	HB525 Review of the Board of Dentistry Board Representatives: Dale Chamberlain, DDS, George Johnston, DDS, and Cliff Christenot, LD
3:00 p.m.	Public Comment on Board of Dentistry, followed by <i>Committee action</i> on board necessity Colleen Grass, Montana Dental Hygienists' Association Dr. Rob Neill, Montana Dental Association Allen Casteel, Denturist Association of Montana Others
3:30 p.m.	Overview of State Agricultural Prospects Post-Floods, Post-Oil Spill plus Department Update Ron de Yong, Director, Montana Department of Agriculture
4:15 p.m.	Rule Review Bart Campbell, EAIC staff attorney
4:30 p.m.	Public comment on any issue not on the agenda but under the committee's purview. Recess until Aug. 24 (agenda opposite page).



Economic Affairs Interim Committee

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

62nd Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS
JOE BALYEAT
TOM FACEY
EDWARD WALKER
JONATHAN WINDY BOY

HOUSE MEMBERS TOM BERRY CHUCK HUNTER CAROLYN SQUIRES GORDON VANCE COMMITTEE STAFF
PAT MURDO, Lead Staff
BART CAMPBELL, Staff Attorney
CLAUDIA (CJ) JOHNSON, Secretary

as of Aug. 22, 2011

Economic Affairs Interim Committee August 24, 2011, Room 137, State Capitol

8:30 a.m. Panel Discussion of SJR 15 Study on Agricultural Bonding

Greg Thayer, Montana Grain Elevator Association

Jeff Van Pevenage, Columbia Grain Inc. (grain trading organization)

Lochiel Edwards, Montana Grain Growers Association, Big Sandy grain grower

Chris Christiaens, Montana Farmers' Union John Youngberg, Montana Farm Bureau Services Cort Jensen, Montana Department of Agriculture

Public Comment on SJR 15

9:45 a.m. Work Plan Discussion.

The committee discussion may include reviews of:

*HB 142 scope regarding advisory council and report reviews - Pat Murdo, staff

*Eminent Domain - Sonja Nowakowski, Legislative Services

*Budget options (Governors' Conference on Workers' Compensation) - Pat Murdo, staff

Committee action to adopt remainder of work plan.

11:45 a.m. Report of legislative liaisons regarding Montana State Fund Board meeting of June 17th

12:00 p.m. Lunch

1:15 p.m. HB525 Review of Board of Chiropractors, followed by *Committee action* on board necessity

Board Representative: John Sando, DC

1:45 p.m. Public Comment on Board of Chiropractors

2:15 p.m. HB525 Review of Board of Veterinary Medicine

Board Representatives: Barbara Calm, DVM, Board President

Kim Baker, Board Vice President and public member

Jean Lindley, DVM, Board Secretary

2:45 p.m. Public Comment on Board of Veterinary Medicine, followed by *Committee action* on board

necessity

3:15 p.m. Public comment on any other issue under the committee's purview

3:30 p.m. Directions to staff. Adjourn.

Cl0206 1234pmxb.

If you plan to attend the meeting and need services or accommodations for a disability, please contact Pat Murdo by email at pmurdo @mt.gov or CJ Johnson at 406-444-3064 at least 3 working days before the meeting.