MONTANA FIFTH JUDICIAL DISTRICT

Loren Tucker District Judge



Jefferson County P.O. Box H Boulder, MT 59632 (406) 225-4043 FAX: (406) 225-4044 Michael J. Gee Law Clerk

Diane L. Kaatz Court Administrator

Madison County P.O. Box 185 Virginia City, MT 59755 (406) 843-4235 FAX: (406) 843-5207

2 S. Pacific Dillon, MT 59725 (406) 683-3745 FAX: (406) 683-3728

Beaverhead County

June 8, 2012

Senator Jim Shockley, Chairman Law and Justice Interim Committee P.O. Box 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706

RE: Article VII Section 2(3) Montana Constitution Supreme Court Rule - Substitution of Judges – Section 3-1-804 MCA

Dear Chairman Shockley:

At its Spring conference, the Montana Judges' Association considered the Supreme Court Rule (codified as Section 3-1-804 MCA) which allows for substitution of judges without cause.

As is usual in our Association, a variety of spirited opinions were expressed. After discussion, the Association determined by majority vote to recommend to the Legislature that the rule allowing parties to remove a presiding judge without cause should be disapproved. The one Supreme Court Justice in attendance abstained.

Generally, the reasoning of the majority coincided with my correspondence to you of April 17, 2012. I am enclosing a copy. Please bear in mind that views expressed in it are mine. The Association acted on the rule, not my correspondence.

Judge Brad Newman has noted that on at least two occasions, the Supreme Court discussed problems and abuses even though it did not effect any change. *State ex rel. Greely v. Fourth Judicial District Court*, 180 Mont. 317, 590 P.2d 12104 (1979), *State ex rel. Perry v. Fourth Judicial District Court*, 145 Mont. 287, 400 P.2d 648 (1965).

The Montana Judges' Association requests the Legislature to disapprove Section 3-1-804 MCA which was implemented by Supreme Court Rule. Thank you for the opportunity to make recommendations to your Committee. Judge Newman and I would appreciate an opportunity to appear when it convenes on June 21 and 22 to answer questions as the Committee schedule permits.

Sincerely,

Loren Tucker President, Montana Judges' Association

LT:dlk

c: Chief Justice Mike McGrath Rep. Ellie Boldman Hill Rep. Steve Lavin Rep. Margaret MacDonald Rep. Mike Menahan Rep. Michael More Rep. Ken Peterson Sen. Shannon J. Augare Sen. Steve Gallus Sen. Greg W. Hinkle Sen. Lynda Moss Sen. Terry L. Murphy MJA Legislative Committee Members