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Montana Department of Transportation 
Report on Dyed Fuel Enforcement 

Submitted to the Revenue and Transportation Interim Committee 
December 4, 2013 

 

Background 

 
Motor fuel tax, including the tax on diesel fuel is the primary funding source for the construction, 
maintenance, and administration of the highway system in Montana, including the state match for over 
$300 million in federal revenue received each year.  Diesel fuel is taxed at the rate of $0.2775 per gallon 
and all diesel powered vehicles traveling on public roads in Montana are subject to this tax. 
 
Untaxed diesel fuel is available in Montana for off-road use and other non-taxable activities.  To 
distinguish untaxed fuel from taxed fuel, a red dye is added to the untaxed fuel at the refinery.  Dyed 
fuel is exempt from both Montana and Federal taxes and can be purchased through petroleum 
distributors or at many retail stations. 
 

Impact on State Special Revenue Fund 

Special Fuel (diesel) Tax accounts for more than $70 million in revenue to the Highways State Special 
Revenue Fund.  Dyed (untaxed) diesel represents nearly 40% of the diesel fuel sold in Montana and is 
sold at many retail locations across the state.  Without adequate enforcement, the State of Montana 
would be at substantial risk of fuel tax evasion, resulting in lower revenue collections at MDT, lower 
investment in Montana’s highway infrastructure and reduced ability to match federal-aid funds. 

 

Motor Carriers Services (MCS) Enforcement Activity: 

Vehicle Inspections 

Montana law allows for the inspection of motor vehicle supply tanks to ensure that dyed fuel is not 
being consumed on Montana roadways.  MDT’s Motor Carriers Services (MCS) Officers routinely check 
for dyed fuel during motor carrier safety inspections.  Additionally, they may pull vehicles over 
specifically to check for dyed fuel if probable cause exists to suspect dyed fuel abuse.   
 
Civil penalties of up to $1,000 for first offenses and $5,000 for second and subsequent offenses are 
imposed on the driver if a concentration of dye of 2 parts per million or greater is found through such an 
inspection.  The below table demonstrates the number of vehicles checked for dyed fuel and the 
number of violations found. 
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Fiscal 
Year 

Vehicles 
Inspected 

First 
Offense 
($1,000) 

Second 
Offense 
($5,000) 

2009 27,377  84  2  
2010 23,230  95  2  
2011 25,474  59  3  
2012 23,264 71 1 
2013 25,016 76 1 

TOTAL 124,361  385 9 
 

Construction Site and Special Fuel User Checks 

Contractors performing work on public road projects are required to use clear (taxed) fuel for all project 
activities.  MCS offices periodically inspect contractor’s vehicles and equipment for compliance with this 
requirement.  Below is a summary of the construction inspections: 

FY2012 Construction Site Fuel & SU Checks Summary 
JOB Type # Checked 

 
Contractor Type # Checked 

   
  

City 1 
 

Prime 12 
 

Total Vehicles / 
Equip Ckd 

County 3 
 

Sub 6 
 

67 
State 14 

 
Unknown 2 

   
  

Federal 5 
 

TOTAL 20 
 

Total Time    
Unknown 1 

    
12 hrs   

TOTAL 24             

         FY2013 Construction Site Fuel & SU Checks Summary 
  

       
  

JOB Type # Checked 
 

Contractor Type # Checked 
  

  

City 5 
 

Prime 30 
 

Total Vehicles / 
Equip Ckd 

County 1 
 

Sub 17 
 

167 
State 46 

 
Unknown 9 

   
  

Federal 11 
 

TOTAL 56 
 

Total Time   
Unknown 2 

    
33 hrs   

TOTAL 65               

         FY2014 to date Construction Site Fuel Checks Summary 
  

       
  

JOB Type # Checked 
 

Contractor Type # Checked 
  

  

City 8 
 

Prime 17 
 

Total Vehicles / 
Equip Ckd 

County 1 
 

Sub 5 
 

51 
State 12 

 
Unknown 1 

   
  

Federal 1 
 

TOTAL 23 
 

Total Time   
Unknown 1 

    
 10 hrs   

TOTAL 23               
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Appeals 

 
Once a citation has been issued, the driver may file an appeal to the Department, either through an 
informal review or formal appeal.  If the penalty is upheld at the Department level, the driver may wish 
to elevate to the State Tax Appeal Board (STAB) and ultimately to District Court. 
 
During the informal review, the penalty may be upheld at the full, $1,000, dismissed completely, or 
reduced based on the circumstances.  The below table summarizes the dyed fuel citations that have 
been appealed. 
 

Fiscal 
Year 

Informal 
Appeal 

Formal 
Appeal STAB 

District 
Court 

Supreme 
Court 

2009 29  3  1  0  0 
2010 47  5  0  0  0 
2011 28  4  1  1  0 
2012 28 6 1 0 0 

2013* 11 1 0 0 1 
TOTAL 143  19  3 1 1 

 
*Decisions still pending on FY13 formal appeals  

 

2013 Legislative Changes 

 
The 2013 Legislature passed two bills that impact dyed fuel enforcement: 
 
 
SB116 removed the Special Fuel User’s License requirement for contractors working on public road 
projects.  Public road contractors are still required to use clear fuel when working on public road 
projects but do not need to obtain a license from MDT nor are they required to submit quarterly tax 
returns. 
 
SB226 allows feed trucks to travel on public roads using dyed fuel.  In order to qualify for the exemption, 
a truck must meet these requirements: 
 
(a) the feed-delivery box is permanently affixed to the vehicle; 
(b) the vehicle is used exclusively for the feeding of livestock; and 
(c) the gross vehicle weight of the vehicle, exclusive of any towed units, is greater than 12,000 pounds. 
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Biodiesel Fuel Tax Incentives 

 
The 2005 Montana Legislature created fuel tax incentives for Biodiesel producers, licensed distributors, 
and retailers selling Biodiesel. House Bill 756 became effective July 1, 2005 and provides 10 cents per 
gallon incentive on each gallon increase of Biodiesel production over the previous year. The tax 
incentive may be claimed for 1) the first year's total production, 2) the production in the second year 
that exceeds the production in the first year, and 3) the production in the third year that exceeds 
production in the second year.  
 
 
Two licensed distributors applied for and qualified for the incentive of $.10 per gallon.  In FY09, $495.90 
was paid to a Belgrade distributor. 
 
In FY10, $3,536.70 was paid to a Chester distributor. 
 
This incentive expired effective June 30, 2010.   
 
15-70-369 MCA provides a refund of 2 cents per gallon to licensed distributors and 1 cent per gallon to 
retailers who sell Biodiesel that is produced entirely from Biodiesel ingredients produced in Montana. 
The refunds must be applied for within 30 days after the quarter ends. 
The department has never had any person apply for this incentive.   
 

Contacts 

If you have questions or comments regarding MDT’s dyed fuel enforcement activities, please contact 
one of the following: 
 
Larry Flynn, Administration Division Administrator  444-9418 lflynn@mt.gov 
Duane Williams, Motor Carriers Services Division Administrator 444-7312 duwilliams@mt.gov 
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