ADDITIONAL STATE INFORMATION HJR 1 - SURVEY

April 9, 2014

Of the states that responded to our survey, which ones have fines for reporting errors?

States with fines or late penalties (some in fixed in statute, some in rule)

Alaska

Arkansas

California

Colorado - up to \$50/day fine for late or incomplete reports

Delaware - if don't correct an error found within 30 days

Hawaii - if "substantially defective or deficient"

Indiana

Maryland - effective 2015

Maine - if substantially incorrect

Michigan

Minnesota - up to \$1000 if don't send in an amended report after the Board tells them to do so, other fines for false certifications

North Dakota - if not corrected after notice within 10 days

New Mexico - false or incomplete reports \$50/day

Ohio - \$15-\$100/day

Oregon - if not corrected within 14 days after notification, \$10 per insufficient or missing item South Carolina - can assess up to \$50 for technical violations

Virginia

States with no fines*

Connecticut

Idaho

Nehraska

New Hampshire - but considering legislation now that would have reporting fines (SB 120)

Texas

Nevada

*Note: although some didn't have a specific fine, if reporting error was substantial enough, they said they would simply apply the late penalty.

Compiled by: Sheri Scurr and Ginger Aldrich, Legislative Services Division

Cl0134 4098shoc.