

Water Policy Interim Committee

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

63rd Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS
CHAS VINCENT--Chair
JENNIFER FIELDER
BRADLEY MAXON HAMLETT
SHARON STEWART-PEREGOY

HOUSE MEMBERS
KATHLEEN WILLIAMS--Vice Chair
PAT CONNELL
STEVE FITZPATRICK
REILLY NEILL

COMMITTEE STAFF
JASON MOHR, Lead Staff
HELEN THIGPEN, Staff Attorney
NADINE SPENCER, Secretary

MINUTES LOG

CSKT Compact Technical Working Group

July 25, 2014

Room 335, State Capitol Building Helena, Montana

<u>Please note</u>: These minutes provide abbreviated information about committee discussion, public testimony, action taken, and other activities. To the left of each section in these minutes is a time designation indicating the approximate amount of time in hours, minutes, and seconds that has elapsed since the start of the meeting. This time designation may be used to locate the referenced discussion on the audio or video recording of this meeting.

Access to an electronic copy of these minutes and the audio or video recording is provided from the Legislative Branch home page at http://leg.mt.gov. On the left-side menu of the home page, select *Committees*, then *Interim*. Once on the page for *Interim Committees*, scroll down to the appropriate committee. The written minutes summary, along with the audio and video recordings, are listed by meeting date on the interim committee's web page.

Hard copies of the exhibits for this meeting are available upon request. Legislative Council policy requires a charge of 15 cents a page for copies of the document.

COMMITTEE MEMBERS PRESENT

MR. JOHN METESH, Chair

MR. ANDREW BRUMMOND, VIA PHONE

MR. RUSSELL LEVENS

MR. KIRK WAREN

MR. LARRY DOLAN

MR. MIKE MCLANE

STAFF PRESENT

JASON MOHR, Lead Staff NADINE SPENCER, Secretary

AGENDA & VISITORS' LIST

Agenda, Attachment 1. Visitors' list, Attachment 2.

COMMITTEE ACTION

None

CALL TO ORDER AND ROLL CALL

00:00:01 John Metesh, state geologist, director, Montana Bureau of Mines and Geology

(MBMG), called the meeting to order at 10:02 a.m. The secretary called the roll,

Attachment 3

AGENDA

INTRODUCTIONS

00:00:37	Jerry Laskody, irrigator, St. Ignatius, Montana	
00:00:43	Kate Vandemoer, hydrologist, Concerned Citizens of Western Montana	
00:00:51	Jason Mohr, research analyst, Legislative Services Division (LSD)	
REVIEW OF TECHNICAL WORKING GROUP (TWG) WORK PLAN		
00:00:57	Mr. Metesh said the objective of the meeting is to discuss the elements, approach, and content of the report of findings. He asked when the technical review being completed by the Reserved Water Rights Compact Commission will be completed. Mr. Mohr said the analysis should be out early next week and he will forward it to the TWG.	
00:02:30	Mr. Metesh asked about copies of the reviews that were done by the Flathead Joint Board of Control. Mr. Mohr said the Board must approve release of the analysis and they are scheduled to meet August 11.	
00:03:51	Mr. Metesh began the discussion on the topics and sub-topics of the TWG report and the approach for writing up each topic, Exhibit 1.	
00:06:57	Larry Dolan, surface water hydrologist, Water Management Bureau, Department of Natural Resources and Conservation (DNRC)	
00:07:18	Kirk Waren, senior research hydrologist, and groundwater modeler, Ground Water Investigation Program, MBMG	
00:10:52	Mr. Dolan	
00:13:27	Mike McLane, water resources specialist, Department of Fish, Wildlife, and Parks (FWP)	
00:17:33	Mr. Laskody	

```
00:19:31
             Mr. Metesh
00:20:06
             Mr. McLane
00:21:16
             Mr. Dolan
00:22:48
             Mr. McLane
00:25:38
             Mr. Metesh
00:29:10
             Mr. Waren
             Russell Levens, section supervisor/groundwater hydrologist, Water Management
00:32:12
              Bureau, DNRC
00:33:09
             Mr. Metesh
00:33:58
             Mr. Levens
00:34:07
             Mr. Metesh
00:35:13
             Mr. Laskody
00:36:02
             Mr. Metesh
00:37:01
             Mr. Laskody
00:37:17
             Mr. Metesh
00:37:25
             Mr. Laskody
00:37:52
             Mr. Metesh
00:39:20
             Mr. Laskody
00:39:37
             Mr. Metesh
00:39:49
             Mr. Laskody
             Mr. McLane
00:40:18
00:42:32
             Mr. Metesh
00:42:45
             Mr. Dolan
00:43:28
             Mr. McLane
00:43:57
             Mr. Levens
00:44:23
             Mr. Waren
00:44:27
             Mr. Metesh
             Ms. Vandemoer
00:47:06
00:47:44
             Mr. Metesh
00:48:28
             Mr. Dolan
00:50:18
             Mr. McLane
00:51:21
             Mr. Metesh
00:51:28
             Mr. Dolan
00:51:37
             Mr. Metesh
00:53:17
             Mr. Laskody
00:54:47
             Mr. Metesh
00:55:54
             Mr. Dolan
00:56:15
             Mr. Metesh
             Mr. Metesh discussed the work plan topics.
00:58:00
01:04:41
             Mr. Laskody
01:05:13
             Mr. Metesh
01:05:52
             Mr. Levens
01:06:06
             Mr. Metesh
01:06:33
             Ms. Vandemoer
01:07:22
             Mr. Metesh
             Mr. Levens
01:08:40
01:08:52
             Mr. Metesh
01:09:35
             Ms. Vandemoer
```

01:10:13	Mr. Metesh
01:10:18	Mr. Dolan
01:10:55	Mr. McLane
01:11:22	Mr. Metesh
01:11:31	Mr. McLane
01:12:25	Ms. Vandemoer
01:12:37	Mr. McLane
01:13:04	Mr. Metesh
01:13:36	Mr. Dolan
01:13:44	Mr. Metesh
01:13:54	Mr. Levens
01:14:17	Mr. Metesh
01:16:02	Mr. Waren
01:16:32	Mr. Levens
01:16:57	Mr. Metesh
01:17:22	Ms. Vandemoer
01:18:05	Mr. Waren
01:18:41	Mr. Metesh
01:20:16	Mr. Metesh
01:23:04	Mr. Dolan
01:23:53	Mr. Metesh
01:24:28	Mr. Dolan
01:25:04	Mr. Waren
01:25:38	Mr. Metesh
01:25:46	Mr. Levens
01:26:24	Mr. Metesh
01:26:33	Mr. Levens
01:27:05	Mr. Metesh
01:28:51	Mr. Levens
01:29:53	Mr. Metesh
01:33:16	Mr. Dolan
01:33:43	Mr. Metesh
01:35:18	Mr. Levens
01:35:47	Mr. Metesh

ADMINISTRATIVE MATTERS

01:38:18	Mr. Metesh discussed the TWG future meeting schedule.
01:38:51	Mr. Levens
01:39:03	Mr. Dolan
01:39:17	Mr. Metesh
01:39:28	Mr. Levens
01:39:43	Mr. Mohr
01:40:13	Mr. Levens
01:40:24	Mr. Metesh
01:42:13	Mr. Dolan
01:42:40	Mr. Levens
01:43:02	Mr. Metesh said the TWG will meet on August 13.

01:44:36	Mr. Mohr
01:46:12	Mr. Metesh
01:46:23	Mr. Mohr said the mailing deadline for the Water Policy Interim Committee (WPIC) will be August 25.
01:47:54	Mr. Metesh
01:49:45	Mr. Dolan
01:51:23	Mr. Metesh
01:52:09	Mr. Levens
01:52:22	Mr. McLane
01:52:34	Mr. Metesh

PUBLIC COMMENT ON ANY TWG ISSUE

01:52:50 Ms. Vandemoer

01:53:20 Mr. Metesh adjourned the meeting at 11:55 a.m.

Cl0099 4226nsxa.