

Water Policy Interim Committee

63rd Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS JENNIFER FIELDER BRADLEY MAXON HAMLETT SHARON STEWART-PEREGOY CHAS VINCENT HOUSE MEMBERS PAT CONNELL STEVE FITZPATRICK REILLY NEILL KATHLEEN WILLIAMS COMMITTEE STAFF JASON MOHR, Lead Staff HELEN THIGPEN, Staff Attorney NADINE SPENCER, Secretary

FINAL AGENDA WATER POLICY INTERIM COMMITTEE

State Capitol, Room 172 June 17-18, 2013

AGENDA ITEM TIMES ARE APPROXIMATE

1 p.m.	 Call to Order - Sen. Bradley Hamlett, senior senator Roll Call Committee member introductions Approval of minutes from September 2012
1:15 p.m.	 Staff introductions, WPIC overview Mr. Joe Kolman Adoption of rules Mr. Mohr Public comment Committee discussion and action
1:25 p.m.	 Review of 2013 water legislation Mr. Mohr Public comment Committee questions and discussion
1:35 p.m.	Agency overviews • Department of Natural Resources and Conservation Director John Tubbs • Department of Environmental Quality Director Tracy Stone-Manning • Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks Director Jeff Hagener • Public comment • Committee questions and discussion
2:35 p.m.	Break
2:45 p.m.	 Guide to new Legislative District maps Mr. Kolman, staff Committee questions and discussion

MONTANA LEGISLATIVE SERVICES DIVISION STAFF: SUSAN BYORTH FOX, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR • DAVID D. BOHYER, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF RESEARCH AND POLICY ANALYSIS • TODD EVERTS, DIRECTOR, LEGAL SERVICES OFFICE • HENRY TRENK, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY • JOE KOLMAN, DIRECTOR, LEGISLATIVE ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY OFFICE

3 p.m. Water Information System Update (85-2-105, MCA)

- Evan Hammer, digital information manager/CIO, Montana State Library
- Public comment
- Committee questions and discussion
- 3:15 p.m. Election of WPIC chair and vice chair

3:30 p.m. Statutory Administrative Rule Review

- General overview -- Ms. Thigpen
- Public comment
- Committee questions and discussion

3:40 p.m. Discussion of study priorities

- Overview Mr. Kolman
- Public comment
- Committee discussion

4:30 p.m. Public comment

• Representatives of organizations or other members of the public interested in water issues may introduce themselves to the committee or provide comment on any mater related to water policy

- Committee questions
- 5:00 p.m. Recess for day. Reconvene at 8:30 a.m.

8:30 a.m. Water supply outlook

- Tim Davis, administrator, Water Resources Division, DNRC
- Jess Aber, planner, Water Planning Section, DNRC
- Eric Sommer, state statistician, Montana Field Office, National Agricultural Statistics Service, U.S. Department of Agriculture
- Mike McLane, water conservation specialist, Fisheries Bureau, FWP
- Public Comment
- Committee questions and discussion
- 9:00 a.m. Water right adjudication update (75-5-313, MCA)
 - Tim Davis, DNRC
 - Montana Water Court Judge C. Bruce Loble, a final update and reflections on 23 years of water rights adjudication
 - Public comment
 - Committee questions and discussion

10:00 a.m.	 Overview of Ground Water Programs (85-1-203, MCA) John Metesh, director and state geologist, Bureau of Mines and Geology John Wheaton, senior research hydrologist, Ground Water Investigation Program John LaFave, senior research hydrologist, Ground Water Assessment Program Public comment Committee questions and discussion
10:45 a.m.	Break
11:00 a.m.	 2015 Water Plan (85-1-203, MCA) Mr. Davis, DNRC Paul Azevedo, bureau chief, Water Management Bureau, DNRC Public Comment Committee questions and discussion
12:00 p.m.	Lunch
1:00 p.m.	 Numeric Nutrient Standards Report (75-5-313, MCA) George Mathieus, administrator, Planning, Prevention and Assistance Division, DEQ Public Comment Committee questions and discussion
1:15 p.m.	Reserved Water Rights Compact Commission update Chris Tweeten, chairman, RWRCC Committee questions and discussion
1:45 p.m.	Break
2:00 p.m.	Adoption of committee work plan Mr. Kolman • Committee discussion and action
2:30 p.m.	 Administrative matters Budget overview Mr. Mohr Adoption of interim WPIC meeting dates Mr. Mohr Public comment Committee discussion and action
2:45 p.m	Public Comment on any issue within the jurisdiction of the WPIC
3:00 p.m.	Other business
3:15 p.m.	Instructions to staff
3:30 p.m.	Adjourn

Meeting attendees who may need services or accommodations should contact Jason Mohr (406-444-1640 or jasonmohr@mt.gov) at least 5 working days before the meeting.

Cl0099 31680mxa.