

## **Economic Affairs Interim Committee**

## 65th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS EDWARD BUTTREY TOM FACEY GORDON VANCE LEA WHITFORD HOUSE MEMBERS NATE MCCONNELL MARK NOLAND VINCE RICCI SHARON STEWART-PEREGOY COMMITTEE STAFF PATRICIA MURDO, Lead Staff JAMESON WALKER, Staff Attorney FONG HOM, Secretary

as of Nov. 3, 2017

## Economic Affairs Interim SJR 27 Subcommittee Agenda

November 8, 2017 Room 137 of the State Capitol (Times are subject to change. An agenda item may be earlier or later than scheduled.) 8:00 a.m. 1. Call to Order - Roll Call - Sen. Vance, presiding officer 8:05 a.m. 2. Administrative Updates on Subcommittee Approach - Review of Table Approach -- Sen. Vance 8:10 a.m. 3. a) Montana's Workers' Compensation Overview: The 3-Way System - Nancy Butler, Deputy State Auditor b) Questions from the Subcommittee c) Public Comment 9:00 a.m. 4. Employer Views on Competition a) John Youngberg, Montana Farm Bureau b) Larry Jones, Montana Self-Insurers Association c) Riley Johnson, National Federation of Independent Businesses d) Spook Stang, Montana Motor Carriers Association e) State of Montana Benefits Division (no representative - dividend handout) f) Questions from the Subcommittee g) Public Comment 5. Insurers' Discussion on Competition - Rates, Premium Taxes, Service, Settlements 10:30 a.m. a) Laurence Hubbard, Montana State Fund b) Keith Brownfield, Victory Insurance c) Gary Strannigan, Liberty Mutual d) Shannon Shanholtzer, MT Association of Counties Workers Compensation Trust e) John Leonard, retired, president emeritus, Maine Employers Mutual Insurance Co. f) Questions from the Subcommittee g) Public Comment 12:00 p.m. Lunch (on your own) 6. Panel Comparing Guaranteed Markets and Residual Risk Pools/Assignments 1:00 p.m. a) Bruce Hockman, Pinehurst Consulting b) Cliff Merritt, NCCI c) Questions from the Subcommittee d) Public Comment 1:30 p.m. 8. Subcommittee Next Steps. Invitation to Table - Discussion, Next Topics (Prospective Direction/Outcomes) 3:00 p.m. 9. Directions to staff, adjourn Notes: \*Public comment provided in person to the committee is a public record that is videotaped, archived, and

\*The Montana Legislative Services Division will make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public meeting.

MONTANA LEGISLATIVE SERVICES DIVISION STAFF: SUSAN BYORTH FOX, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR • SONJA NOWAKOWSKI, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF RESEARCH AND POLICY ANALYSIS • TODD EVERTS, DIRECTOR, LEGAL SERVICES OFFICE • DALE GOW, CIO, OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY • JOE KOLMAN, DIRECTOR, LEGISLATIVE ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY OFFICE