

Economic Affairs Interim Committee

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

65th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS EDWARD BUTTREY TOM FACEY GORDON VANCE LEA WHITFORD

political parties:

HOUSE MEMBERS

NATE MCCONNELL

MARK NOLAND

VINCE RICCI
SHARON STEWART-PEREGOY

COMMITTEE STAFF
PATRICIA MURDO, Lead Staff
JAMESON WALKER, Staff Attorney
FONG HOM, Secretary

Economic Affairs Interim Committee Presiding Officer Background (updated 5/2017)

Legislators often ask about the rotation for presiding officers. By statute the only requirement is that the presiding officer and vice presiding officer must be from different

5-5-213. Officers of interim committees. Each interim committee shall elect its presiding officer and vice presiding officer from among its members. The officers may not be members of the same political party.

That said, the following historical information may be of interest.

Interim 2001-2002	Presiding Officer Sen. Dale Mahlum (R-Missoula)	Vice Presiding Officer Rep. Kathleen Galvin-Halcro (D- Great Falls)
2003-2004	Rep. Joe McKenney (R-Great Falls)	Sen. Glenn Roush (D-Cut Bank)
2005-2006	Rep. Jim Keane (D-Butte)	Sen. Don Steinbeisser (R-Sidney)
2007-2008	Rep. Scott Mendenhall (R-Clancy)	Sen. Ken Hansen (D-Harlem)
2009-2010	Sen. Jim Keane (D-Butte)	Rep. Gordon Vance (R-Bozeman)
2011-2012	Rep. Tom Berry (R-Roundup)	Sen. Tom Facey (D-Missoula)
2013-2014	Sen. Bruce Tutvedt (R-Kalispell)	Rep. Ryan Lynch (D-Butte)
2015-2016	Rep. Ryan Lynch (D-Butte)	Sen. Gordon Vance (R-Bozeman)