State-Tribal Relations

http://www.leg.mt.gov/css/committees/interim/2003_2004/st_trib_rel/default.asp

Section 5-5-229, MCA, provides:

The mandate of the State-Tribal Relations Committee is to act as a liaison with tribal governments, encourage state-tribal and local government-tribal cooperation, conduct interim studies, and report its activities, findings, recommendations, and proposals for legislation to the upcoming Legislature.

Membership

The eight-member Committee is chosen by the Speaker of the House (four members) and the Senate Committee on Committees (four members).

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

House Members

Rep. Carol Juneau (D)

128 9th Ave. SE Browning, MT 59417-0055 Ph: 338-5689 csjuneau@3rivers.net

Rep. Bruce Malcolm (R)

2319 Hwy 89 South Emigrant, MT 59027-6023 Ph: 333-4977

Rep. Rick Ripley (R)

8920 MT Hwy 200 Wolf Creek, MT 59648-8639 Ph: 562-3502 ripleys@3rivers.net

Rep. Jonathan Windy Boy (D)

RR 1, Box 544 Box Elder, MT 59521-9799 Wk: 395-5091, Hm: 395-4478 jonathan@cct.rockyboy.org

Senate Members

Sen. John Bohlinger (R)

2233 Remington Sq.
Billings, MT 59102-2489
Ph: 259-5698
jcbohlinger@hotmail.com

Sen. Ed Butcher (R)

P.O. Box 89 Winifred, MT 59489-0089 Wk: 462-5615, Hm: 462-5627 senatorbutcher@aftco.net

Sen. Ken Hansen (D)

P.O. Box 686 Harlem, MT 59526-0686 Ph: 353-4941 hansen kenneth@email.com

Sen. Carolyn Squires (D)

2111 S 10th St. West Missoula, MT 59801-3412 Ph: 543-6734 sqigs@msn.com

Assigned Studies

<u>HJR 8</u> Study the dropout rates, graduation rates, and at-risk factors among American Indian students in Montana's public schools, develop a strategic state plan to reduce the dropout rate among all students, and report the findings of the study and recommendations to the 59th Legislature.

<u>Staff</u>

Connie Erickson, Research Analyst, Legislative Services Division

Eddye McClure, Attorney, Legislative Services Division

Dawn Field, Legislative Secretary, Legislative Services Division