

Education and Local Government Interim Committee

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

59th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS
JEFF MANGAN--Chair
JEFF ESSMANN
KIM GILLAN
BOB HAWKS
RICK LAIBLE
ROBERT STORY

HOUSE MEMBERS
MARK NOENNIG--Vice Chair
ELSIE ARNTZEN
KATHLEEN GALVIN-HALCRO
ROBIN HAMILTON
MIKE JOPEK
JON SONJU

COMMITTEE STAFF LEANNE KURTZ, Lead Staff EDDYE MCCLURE, Staff Attorney FONG HOM, Secretary

DRAFT AGENDA

Education and Local Government Interim Committee Friday, Dec. 2, 2005 Room 102, State Capitol

8:30	Call to Order, roll call, approval of July 15 minutes - Sen. Mangan, chair, or designee
8:35	PEPB update Rep. Kathleen Galvin-Halcro, chair; Alan Peura, Legislative Fiscal Analyst
9:00	Board of Public Education Steve Meloy, Executive Secretary; Dr. Kirk Miller, chair, Diane Fladmo, vice-chair >Overview of the Board and its functions >Board projects >Rural education and access to higher education
10:30	Continuation of PEPB update, if necessary
10:45	Break
11:00	Update on Quality Schools Interim Committee/school funding Eddye McClure, LSD legal staff
11:45	Local Government Subcommittee update Sen. Laible, chair; Leanne Kurtz, staff >SJR 11 >Local government planning >Subcommittee work plan
12:15	Public comment on any item within the purview of the committee
12:45	Next meeting of subcommittees: February 24 Next meeting of full committee: June 13 >June 13 agenda items >instructions to staff
1:00	Adjourn