

LEGISLATIVE FINANCE COMMITTEE

66th Montana Legislature

Room 110 Capitol Building * P.O. Box 201711 * Helena, MT 59620-1711 * (406) 444-2986 * FAX (406) 444-3036

SENATE MEMBERS JANET ELLIS TOM JACOBSON BOB KEENAN RYAN OSMUNDSON DANIEL SALOMON JON SESSO

HOUSE MEMBERS

NANCY BALLANCE DAVID BEDEY MARY CAFERRO KIMBERLY DUDIK JIM HAMILTON KENNETH HOLMLUND MIKE HOPKINS LLEW JONES RYAN LYNCH BILL MERCER RAE PEPPERS MARILYN RYAN JULIE JOHNSON, Staff Attorney KAREN GILBERT, Secretary AMY CARLSON, Legislative Fiscal Analyst

Legislative Finance Committee -- Education Subcommittee Agenda April 23, 2020 Room 102 Video Teleconference, State Capitol Building

- 1:00 p.m. Call to order & roll call Chair David Bedey
- 1:05 p.m. HB 657 Special Education Draft bill on providing inflation and ANB adjustments for special education Pad McCracken, Legislative Services Division and Paul Taylor, OPI
- 1:30 p.m. Public comment on draft bill
- 1:55 p.m. Committee action on draft bill
- 2:05 p.m. Funding special education for older special education students Pad McCracken, Legislative Services Division, Chanda Hermanson, DPHHS or Tammy Hogan, DPHHS Vocational rehabilitation
- 2:20 p.m. Public comment on funding for older students
- 2:30 p.m. Educational Costs for Children served in In-State Psychiatric Treatment Facilities and the Significant Needs Grant Program – Ken Bailey OPI, Julia Swingley OPI, Mike Chavers, Yellowstone Boys and Girls Ranch, Dick Trerise, OPI or Jenifer Cline, OPI
- 3:00 p.m. Public Comment on Educational Costs for Children served in In-State Psychiatric Treatment Facilities and the Significant Needs Grant Program
- 3:15 p.m. OPI Update on K-12 education
 - Distribution of CARES act funding
 - Other items related to COVID19 emergency impact on schools
- 3:30 p.m. Directions to staff on education topics, adjourn



LEGISLATIVE FINANCE COMMITTEE 66th Montana Legislature

Room 110 Capitol Building * P.O. Box 201711 * Helena, MT 59620-1711 * (406) 444-2986 * FAX (406) 444-3036

SENATE MEMBERS JANET ELLIS TOM JACOBSON BOB KEENAN RYAN OSMUNDSON DANIEL SALOMON JON SESSO

HOUSE MEMBERS NANCY BALLANCE DAVID BEDEY MARY CAFERRO KIMBERLY DUDIK JIM HAMILTON KENNETH HOLMLUND MIKE HOPKINS LLEW JONES RYAN LYNCH BILL MERCER RAE PEPPERS MARILYN RYAN

JULIE JOHNSON, Staff Attorney KAREN GILBERT, Secretary AMY CARLSON, Legislative Fiscal Analyst

This meeting is open to the public. The meeting will be streamed live on <u>www.leg.mt.gov</u> and broadcast on the Montana Public Affairs Network (MPAN) if you wish to view only. An archived recording of the meeting will also be made immediately available on leg.mt.gov.

Members of the public who wish to participate may join the meeting. If you want to participate, please email Kris Wilkinson at <u>kwilkinson@mt.gov</u> with your name and a request and you will be sent a calendar invite with instructions for joining and participating in the call by 5 p.m. the day before the call.

A time will be provided for oral public comment on the agenda, at that time, members of the public who have joined may "raise their hand" and participate after being recognized by the presiding officer or the meeting host. Comments will be taken in order. Written public comment via email in advance of the meeting to <u>kwilkinson@mt.gov</u> is also welcome and will be provided to committee members.

Any oral or written public comment provided to the committee is a public record that is recorded, archived, and available on the web.

The Montana Legislative Fiscal Division will make reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities who wish to participate in this public meeting. For questions about accessibility or to request accommodations, please contact Kris Wilkinson at <u>kwilkinson@mt.gov</u> or call 444-2722 as soon as possible before the meeting date.