

# LEGISLATIVE FINANCE COMMITTEE

## 66th Montana Legislature

Room 110 Capitol Building \* P.O. Box 201711 \* Helena, MT 59620-1711 \* (406) 444-2986 \* FAX (406) 444-3036

SENATE MEMBERS HOUSE MEMBERS

JANET ELLIS

NANCY BALLANCE

TOM JACOBSON

DAVID BEDEY

BOB KEENAN

RYAN OSMUNDSON

KIMBERLY DUDIK

DANIEL SALOMON

JIM HAMILTON

JON SESSO

KENNETH HOLMLUND

MIKE HOPKINS

MIKE HOPKINS LLEW JONES RYAN LYNCH BILL MERCER RAE PEPPERS MARILYN RYAN JULIE JOHNSON, Staff Attorney KAREN GILBERT, Secretary AMY CARLSON, Legislative Fiscal Analyst

Legislative Finance Committee – Education Subcommittee
Draft Agenda
Monday, December 16,2019
9:00 a.m.
State Capitol Room 102

9:00 Call to order & roll call – Chair David Bedey

9:05 Approval of Minutes from September meeting

9:15 HB 657 – Community college funding

- Summarization of changes in statute to the funding formula

  Katie Guenther,
  Legislative Fiscal Division
- Review and summarize FY 2020 community college funding, Katie Guenther, Legislative Fiscal Division
- Changes in community college funding and student FTE from FY 2007 to FY 2019 compared to growth in inflation and the economy – Katie Guenther, Legislative Fiscal Division

10:00 HB 657 – Career and technical education (CTE)

- Defining post secondary CTE Pad McCracken, Legislative Services Division
- Cost by school for FY 2019 by category including percentage of CTE Tyler Trevor, MUS
- Update on shared policy goals for CTE established for the 2021 biennium Tyler Trevor, MUS

10:45 Break

11:00 HB 633 -

- Montana State Library FY 2020 budget Jennie Stapp, Montana State Library
- HB 633 study funding suggestions Jennie Stapp, Montana State Library

12:00 Lunch

1: 00 HB 657 - Special Education

- Review of special education statutes Laura Sankey Keip, Legislative Services Division
- Background on the establishment of the components of special education funding formula – Pad McCracken, Legislative Services Division



## LEGISLATIVE FINANCE COMMITTEE

## 66th Montana Legislature

Room 110 Capitol Building \* P.O. Box 201711 \* Helena, MT 59620-1711 \* (406) 444-2986 \* FAX (406) 444-3036

#### **SENATE MEMBERS**

JANET ELLIS
TOM JACOBSON
BOB KEENAN
RYAN OSMUNDSON
DANIEL SALOMON
JON SESSO

#### **HOUSE MEMBERS**

NANCY BALLANCE
DAVID BEDEY
MARY CAFERRO
KIMBERLY DUDIK
JIM HAMILTON
KENNETH HOLMLUND
MIKE HOPKINS
LLEW JONES
RYAN LYNCH

JULIE JOHNSON, Staff Attorney KAREN GILBERT, Secretary AMY CARLSON, Legislative Fiscal Analyst

 Historic revenues, expenditures, and children served by special education, FY 2005 – FY 2018, including base and annual adjustments, by component – Kris Wilkinson, Legislative Fiscal Division

BILL MERCER RAE PEPPERS MARII YN RYAN

- Revenues, expenditures, and children served by special education cooperatives by cooperative, FY 2005 – FY 2018 – Kris Wilkinson, Legislative Fiscal Division
- Review of memorandum of understanding for special education cooperatives Kris Wilkinson, Legislative Fiscal Division

### 3:00 Break

3:15 Resume HB 657 – Panel discussion on the benefits and challenges of funding cooperatives, Michelle Halberg, Special Education Director, Gallatin/Madison Cooperative, Tim Miller, Special Education Director, Bitterroot Valley Cooperative, Jenny Malloy, Special Education Director, Park County, Shelly Dempsey, Special Education Director, Prickly Pear, and Sara Novak, Special Education Director, Great Divide Cooperative

4:00 Discussion of statutory requirements included in 5-5-224, MCA for the Education Interim Committee to assess goals and long-range plan, develop accountability measurements of revenues and expenditures, and report on advisability of adjustments to mechanisms used to determine funding for MUS, Pad McCracken, Legislative Services Division

- 4:15 Public comment
- 4:30 Directions to staff
- 4:45 Adjourn