Economic Affairs

5-5-223, MCA provides:

The Economic Affairs interim committee has administrative rule review, draft legislation review, program evaluation, and monitoring responsibilities for the following Executive Branch agencies and the entities attached to those agencies for administrative purposes:

Department of Agriculture, Department of Commerce, Department of Labor and Industry, Department of Livestock, Department of Public Service Regulation, Office of the State Auditor and Insurance Commissioner, and Office of Economic Development.

<u>Membership</u>

Not less than half of the members must have served on the following session standing committees:

House Business and Labor; House Agriculture; House Appropriations; House Federal Relations, Energy, and Telecommunications; Senate Business and Labor; Senate Agriculture, Livestock, and Irrigation; Senate Finance; and Senate Energy and Telecommunications.

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

House Members

Rep. Kathleen Galvin-Halcro, Vicepresiding officer (D)

101 Riverview Dr. E Great Falls, MT 59404 Wk: 268-3572, Hm: 452-3356 kgalvinhalcro@aol.com

Rep. Gary Matthews (D)

1708 Main St. Miles City, MT 59301 Ph: 232-5696 gmatthews@mcn.net

Rep. Joe McKenney (R)

1140 18th Ave. SW

Legislative Services Division Interim Directory of Legislative Committees Page 19 Great Falls, MT 59404 Wk: 452-2051, Hm: 452-0326

Rep. Steve Vick (R)

Senate Members

Sen. Dorothy Berry (R) 852 Ponderosa Dr. Hamilton, MT 59840 Ph: 363-2911

Sen. Dale Mahlum, Presiding officer (R) 10955 Highway 93 North

Missoula, MT 59808 Ph: 549-3115 mal51732@aol.com 5875 Thorpe Road Belgrade, MT 59714 Ph: 388-3353

Sen. Jon Ellingson (D)

430 Ryman St. Missoula, MT 59802 Wk: 721-1614, Hm: 543-5608 Jonelling@aol.com

Sen. Glenn Roush (D)

PO Box 185 Cut Bank, MT 59427 Ph: 873-4452

Assigned Studies

SJR 22 Interim study of health insurance and rising health care costs.

<u>Staff</u>

Gordy Higgins, Research Analyst, Legislative Services Division

Bart Campbell, Attorney, Legislative Services Division

Lois O'Connor, Legislative Secretary, Legislative Services Division

Legislative Services Division Interim Directory of Legislative Committees Page 20