State Administration and Veterans' Affairs

5-5-228, MCA provides:

The State Administration and Veterans' Affairs interim committee has administrative rule review, draft legislation review, program evaluation, and monitoring responsibilities for the public employee retirement plans and the following Executive Branch agencies and the entities attached to those agencies for administrative purposes:

Department of Administration,

Department of Military Affairs, and

Office of the Secretary of State.

Membership

Not less than half of the members must have served on the following session standing committees:

House State Administration, House Appropriations, Senate Administration, and Senate Finance.

MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE

House Members

Rep. Edith Clark (R)

PO Box 34

Sweetgrass, MT 59484

Ph: 937-6905

ejclark@northerntel.net

Rep. Larry Jent, Vice-Presiding Officer (D)

506 E. Babcock St. Bozeman, MT 59715

Wk: 586-1373, Hm: 587-1210

Rep. Ralph Lenhart (D)

PO Box 1225

Glendive, MT 59330

Ph: 365-3469

lenhart@midrivers.com

Rep. Allan Walters (R)

416 Granstdale Road Hamilton, MT 59840

Ph: 363-1372

Legislative Services Division Interim Directory of Legislative Committees Page 30

Senate Members

Sen. John Bohlinger (R)

2233 Remington Sq. Billings, MT 59102

Ph: 259-5698

johnbohlinger@msn.com

Sen. Glenn Roush (D)

PO Box 185

Cut Bank, MT 59427

Ph: 873-4452

Sen. Don Hargrove, Presiding officer

(R)

PO Box 1

Belgrade, MT 59714

Ph: 587-1373

Sen. Ken Toole (D)

PO Box 1462

Helena, MT 59624

Wk: 442-5506, Hm: 442-3180

samt@mcn.net

Assigned Studies

The State Administration and Veteran's Affairs Committee has appointed separate subcommittees to complete it interim work on <u>SJR 5</u>, a study of veterans' issues and <u>HJR 8</u>, a study of voting systems.

Senator Roush is the Presiding officer of the veteran's issues subcommittee. Other members are Senator Hargrove, Representative Edith Clark and Representative Lenhart.

Representative Walters is the Presiding officer of the voting systems subcommittee. Other members are Senators Toole and Bohlinger and Representative Jent.

The committee will also monitor public employee retirement plans.

Staff

Sheri Heffelfinger, Research Analyst, Legislative Services Division

David Niss, Attorney, Legislative Services Division

Legislative Secretary, Legislative Services Division

Legislative Services Division Interim Directory of Legislative Committees Page 31