Transition Advisory Committee on Electric Utility Industry Restructuring

Statutory Citation: Section 69-8-501, MCA

The 1997 Legislature deregulated Montana's electric utility industry and established a Transition Advisory Committee (TAC or Committee) to oversee the market restructuring. The Committee is composed of 24 members: 12 legislative members, with House members appointed by the Speaker of the House and Senate members appointed by the President of the Senate; and 12 state agency and public members. The legislators are the only voting members of the Committee. The public and state agency members represent the following groups: the Montana Department of Environmental Quality, the Legislative Consumer Committee, the Montana Electric Cooperatives' Association, the public utilities, the Public Service Commission, the industrial community, the nonindustrial retail electric consumer sector, organized labor, environmental and conservation interests, a low-income program provider, Montana's Indian tribes, and the electric power market industry.

The TAC is required to meet at least quarterly, but generally meets more often to give adequate attention to the complex issue of utility restructuring. The Committee must provide to the Governor and legislative leadership an annual report on the status of restructuring.

The TAC is scheduled to dissolve on December 31, 2007.

Members of the Committee

House Members

Rep. Roy Brown (R)

PO Box 22273 Billings, MT 59104

Wk: 252-5554, Hm: 252-4411

RLBRES@Wtp.net

Rep. Tom Dell, Vice Presiding Officer (D)

212 South Santa Fe Dr. Billings, MT 59102

Wk: 656-2806, Hm: 656-9366

delcom4@home.com

Legislative Services Division Interim Directory of Legislative Committees Page 39

Rep. Stan Fisher (R)

76 Golf Terrace Dr. Bigfork, MT 59911

Ph: 837-2232

Rep. Jim Keane (D)

2131 Wall St. Butte, MT 59701

Wk: 563-3476, Hm: 723-8378

Rep. Steve Gallus (D)

2701 Phillips St. Butte, MT 59701

Wk: 782-2042, Hm: 494-5224

Gallus@in-tch.com

Rep. Alan Olson (R)

18 Halfbreed Creek Rd. Roundup, MT 59072

Ph: 323-3341

ajolson@midrivers.com

Senate Members

Sen. Alvin Ellis, Jr. (R)

HC 50 Box 4840 Red Lodge, MT 59068

Ph: 446-2778

Sen. Linda Nelson (D)

469 Griffin Road

Medicine Lake, MT 59247

Ph: 286-5611

Sen. Walter McNutt (R)

110 12th Ave. SW Sidney, MT 59270

Wk: 488-4400, Hm: 488-4966

walt@lyrea.com

Sen. Don Ryan (D)

2101 7th Ave. South Great Falls, MT 59405

Ph: 761-3261

Ryan749@home.com

Sen. Emily Stonington (D)

15042 Kelly Canyon Rd. Bozeman, MT 59715

Ph: 587-9332

emstony47@aol.com

Sen. Fred Thomas, Presiding

Officer (R)

3566 Holly Lane

Stevensville, MT 59870

Wk: 777-5005, Hm: 777-5000

fred@siphersthomas.com

Legislative Services Division Interim Directory of Legislative Committees Page 40

Public and State Agency Members

Mr. Stephen Bradley

Crow Tribal Council PO Box 159 Crow Agency, MT 59022

Mr. Art Compton

Department of Environmental Quality 1520 E Sixth Ave. Helena, MT 59620 Ph: 444-6754

Mr. Jerry Driscoll

Montana AFL-CIO PO Box 1176 Helena, MT 59624 Ph: 442-1708

Mr. Gene Leuwer, Executive Director

Rocky Mountain Development Council PO Box 1717 Helena, MT 59624

Ms. Kathy Rice

(nonindustrial retail electric consumer) 2900 3rd Ave. N Great Falls, MT 59401

Ms. Kathie Roos

(conservation community) 1420 LeGrande Cannon Blvd. Helena, MT 59601

Mr. Matt Brainard

Public Service Commission PO Box 202601 Helena, MT 59620 Ph: 444-6168

Mr. Pat Corcoran

Montana Power Co. 40 East Broadway Butte, MT 59701 Ph: 497-2202

Mr. David Kinnard

PPL-Montana 303 North Broadway, Suite 400 Billings, MT 59101

Mr. Bob Nelson

Montana Consumer Counsel 616 Helena Avenue, Suite 300 PO Box 201703 Helena, MT 59620 Ph: 444-2771

Mr. Russ Ritter

(industrial community) PO Box 5476 Helena, MT 59601

Mr. Dave Wheelihan

MT Electric Cooperatives' Assn. PO Box 1306 Great Falls, MT 59403 Ph: 761-8333

Legislative Services Division Interim Directory of Legislative Committees Page 41

Assigned Studies

During the 2001-2002 interim, the TAC will continue to evaluate the transition of the regulated utility market to a deregulated market.

Staff

Jeff Martin, Research Analyst, Legislative Services Division

Todd Everts, Legislative Environmental Analyst, Legislative Services Division

Contract Secretary