

## Law and Justice Interim Committee

## 58th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS BRENT CROMLEY DUANE GRIMES DAN MCGEE GERALD PEASE GARY PERRY MIKE WHEAT HOUSE MEMBERS GAIL GUTSCHE MICHAEL LANGE JOHN PARKER DIANE RICE JIM SHOCKLEY FRANK SMITH PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

COMMITTEE STAFF SHERI HEFFELFINGER RESEARCH ANALYST VALENCIA LANE, STAFF ATTORNEY

## AGENDA

## <u>Meeting #1</u> Tuesday, August 5, 2003 Room 102, State Capitol, Helena

I.	9:30 a.m.	Roll Call; Introductions; Election of Officers
II.	9:45 a.m.	Staff overview of statutory duties and assigned study of juvenile justice (SJR 31), <b>Ms. Sheri Heffelfinger</b> , Research Analyst
111.	10:00 a.m.	Staff overview of rule-making process and committee rule review responsibilities, <b>Ms. Valencia Lane</b> , Staff Attorney
IV.	10:15 a.m.	Agency overviews, the agency's legislative issues, perspectives on SJR 31 study, questions and answers
		<ul> <li>Department of Justice, Attorney General Mike McGrath (invited)</li> <li>Department of Corrections, Director Bill Slaughter (invited)</li> <li>Montana Supreme Court, Chief Justice Karla Gray (invited)</li> </ul>
V.	11:45 a.m.	Lunch Break (on own)
VI.	1:00 p.m.	Staff overview: The Basic Anatomy of the Juvenile Justice System in Montana and Other States, Review of SJR 31 Issues, <b>Ms. Sheri Heffelfinger</b> , Research Analyst
		<ul> <li>Sen. Tash, sponsor of SJR 31</li> </ul>
VII.	1:30 p.m.	Panel on Juvenile Justice System
		<ul> <li>Montana Supreme Court Administrator, Mr. Jim Oppedahl</li> <li>Juvenile Probation Officers' Association, Mr. Glen Welch</li> <li>Juvenile Justice Division, Department of Corrections, Mr. Steve Gibson</li> <li>Youth Justice Council, Ms. Audry Allums</li> </ul>
VIII.	2:30 p.m.	Public comment
IX.	3:30 p.m.	Committee discussion, identification study topics and focus areas of interest, adoption of tentative work schedule for the interim
Х.	4:30 p.m.	Instructions to Staff

MONTANA LEGISLATIVE SERVICES DIVISION STAFF: LOIS A. MENZIES, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR • DAVID D. BOHYER, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF RESEARCH AND POLICY ANALYSIS • GREGORY J. PETESCH, DIRECTOR, LEGAL SERVICES OFFICE • HENRY TRENK, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY • TODD EVERTS, DIRECTOR, LEGISLATIVE ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY OFFICE Adjournment

Cl2255 3202shxa.