

Fire Suppression Interim Committee

PO BOX 201706 Helena, MT 59620-1706 (406) 444-3064 FAX (406) 444-3036

60th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS
JOHN COBB
KEN HANSEN
RICK LAIBLE
DAVE LEWIS
GERALD PEASE
CAROL WILLIAMS

HOUSE MEMBERS
STEVE BOLSTAD
JIM KEANE
KRAYTON KERNS
RICK RIPLEY
CHAS VINCENT
BILL WILSON

COMMITTEE STAFF
LEANNE HEISEL, Lead Staff
TODD EVERTS, Staff Attorney
DAWN FIELD, Secretary
BARBARA SMITH, Fiscal Analyst

DRAFT AGENDA Fire Suppression Committee Bitterroot River Inn, Hamilton April 28-29, 2008

**Please note: Times are approximate. Some agenda items may take more or less time than is indicated.

<u>April 28</u> 10:00	Call to Order, roll call, approval of minutes
10:15	FSC Q & A with Forest Service, BLM, DNRC >Tom Tidwell, Regional Forester, USFS Northern Region >Dave Bull, Forest Supervisor, Bitterroot National Forest >Rick Hotaling, Butte Field Office Manager, BLM and Phil Gill, Fire Management Officer, BLM >Bob Harrington, Forestry Division Administrator, DNRC
12:00	Break
12:35	Bitterroot National Forest perspective Dave Bull, Forest Supervisor, Bitterroot National Forest
1:00	Biomass utilization Dr. Kristiina Vogt, Professor of Ecosystem Management, College of Forest Resources, University of Washington
1:45	Mitigation in the WUI Steve Woodruff, Deputy Director, Western Progress - Northern Region
2:15	Forest Health in the Bitterroot Sonny LaSalle, Big Sky Coalition
2:45	Fire History and Ecology of Montana Forests Dr. Steve Arno
3:30	Break
3:45	Public comment
5:30	Recess

April 29

9:30 Call to Order, review day's activities

10:00 Load buses for tours

Tours:

>Hayes Creek fuel reduction projects

>Tin Cup >Sula Basin

1:30 Return to Bitterroot River Inn, adjourn