

# **Fire Suppression Interim Committee**

#### 60th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS JOHN COBB KEN HANSEN RICK LAIBLE DAVE LEWIS GERALD PEASE CAROL WILLIAMS HOUSE MEMBERS STEVE BOLSTAD JIM KEANE KRAYTON KERNS RICK RIPLEY CHAS VINCENT BILL WILSON COMMITTEE STAFF LEANNE HEISEL, Lead Staff TODD EVERTS, Staff Attorney DAWN FIELD, Secretary BARBARA SMITH, Fiscal Analyst

# AGENDA

#### Libby

#### June 20, 2008

### Little Theater, Central Administrative Building, 724 Louisiana Ave.

8:00 Call to order, roll call - Rep. Vincent, chair

### 8:05 Panel discussion

- Paul Bradford, Kootenai Forest Supervisor
- DNRC representative
- Mike Herrin, Three Rivers District Ranger

# 9:00 Lincoln County logging history

Jeff Gruber, Teacher/Historian

# 9:30 Panel discussion

- Jim Hurst, Owens & Hurst Lumber
- Duane Vaagen, Vaagen Brothers Lumber
- Ed Levert, Chairman of Lincoln County Steering Committee/ Kootenai
  - Forest Stakeholder Secretary/Treasurer
- Bruce Vincent, Communities for a Great Northwest
- Ron Hvisdak, Fire Specialist

#### 11:30 Public comment

- 12:30 Lunch (to be provided for Committee members and staff)
- 1:15 Field trip
- 3:00 Reconvene and directions to staff
- 3:30 Adjourn

# \*\* Please note: Times are approximate. The public comment period may be extended if participation warrants extension.

MONTANA LEGISLATIVE SERVICES DIVISION STAFF: SUSAN BYORTH FOX, EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR • DAVID D. BOHYER, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF RESEARCH AND POLICY ANALYSIS • GREGORY J. PETESCH, DIRECTOR, LEGAL SERVICES OFFICE • HENRY TRENK, DIRECTOR, OFFICE OF LEGISLATIVE INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY • TODD EVERTS, DIRECTOR, LEGISLATIVE ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY OFFICE