HJR 46: Study of Election Laws List of Interested Counties – Mail Ballot Pilot Project April 2008

Eighteen counties have expressed an interest in participating in the mail ballot pilot project. The table below shows the geographic and demographic characteristics of the counties, as well as the number of registered voters and the number of places of deposit that would be required for federal and state elections under the formula contained in the initial draft of LC 60.

The attached map illustrates the distribution of the counties, shows the number of voters registered in each interested county in 2006, and indicates which counties have reservations about participation or would not participate if AutoMARK machines were required for all types of elections. Issues related to the use of AutoMARK machines are discussed in the related briefing paper entitled "HJR 46: Study of Election Laws — Use of AutoMARK Machines."

County	Geographic Type	Demographic Type	Registered Voters 2006	Polling Places	Places of Deposit Formula
Yellowstone	East	Urban	93,045	50	4
Missoula	West	Urban	84,741	36	4
Gallatin	Southcentral	Urban	60,990	32	4
Lewis and Clark	Westcentral	Urban	36,844	31	4
Ravalli	West	Rural	28,780	11	4
Lake	West	Tribal	17,403	9	4
Jefferson	Southwest	Rural	7,749	8	4
Sanders	West	Rural	7,711	9	4
Big Horn	Southeast	Tribal	7,694	20	4
Carbon	East	Rural	7,055	10	4
Richland	East	Rural	6,415	13	4
Rosebud	East	Rural/Tribal	5,395	9	3
Blaine	Northcentral	Tribal	4,193	8	3
Pondera	Northwest	Rural	3,917	8	3
Toole	Northwest	Rural	2,963	4	2
Phillips	Northcentral	Rural	2,786	9	2
Sweet Grass	Southcentral	Rural	2,440	1	1
Carter	Southeast	Rural	871	3	2

