

## State Administration and Veterans' Affairs Interim Committee 60th Montana Legislature

SENATE MEMBERS
KELLY GEBHARDT
VERDELL JACKSON
LARRY JENT
CAROLYN SQUIRES

HOUSE MEMBERS
PAT INGRAHAM
GARY MACLAREN
VERONICA SMALL-EASTMAN
FRANKE WILMER

COMMITTEE STAFF
DAVE BOHYER, Lead Staff
DAVID NISS, Staff Attorney
FONG HOM, Secretary

## **PRESS RELEASE**

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: Tuesday, October 09, 2007

CONTACT: Dave Bohyer, 444-3592

State Administration and Veterans' Affairs Interim Committee will meet on Friday and Saturday, October 19 and 20, 2007.

The State Administration and Veterans' Affairs Interim Committee (Committee) will meet in Helena on Friday and Saturday, October 19 and 20, 2007, in Room 102 of the State Capitol at 1 p.m. on Friday, 10/19, and at 8:30 a.m. on Saturday, 10/20.

Among the items on the Committee's Friday agenda are briefings on the Post-Deployment Health Reassessment (PDHRA) Program and the report and recommendations of the PDHRA Task Force. Individuals invited thus far by the Committee to testify on the PDHRA include: Mr. Joe Foster, Administrator, Veterans' Affairs Division, Montana Department of Military Affairs (DMA); MG Randall Mosley, Adj. Gen., MNG, and Director, DMA; LTC Scott Smith, MNG; and Ms. Joyce DeCunzo, Administrator, Addictive and Mental Disorders Division, Montana Department of Public Health and Human Services. The Committee has invited veterans or families of veterans who served in operations in Iraq or Afghanistan. The Committee will also allow time for public comment on the PDHRA Program and report.

Also on the agenda for Saturday are briefings on various aspects of the state's public employee retirement plans. A number of "stakeholders" have been requested to provide their insights and advice regarding the retirement systems, including: Ms. Roxanne Minnehan, Ex. Dir., Montana Public Employees' Retirement Administration; Mr. David Senn; Ex. Dir., Teachers' Retirement System; Mr. Carroll South, Ex. Dir., Montana Board of Investments; Mr. Quentin Nyman, Ex. Dir., Montana Public Employees' Association; Mr. Bob Vogel, Montana School Boards' Association; and Ms. Charlotte Thomas, Retired Teachers Association. The Committee will provide time for public comment as well.

Finally, staff will update the Committee on the status of the HJR 46 study of election laws and the Committee members will conduct administrative business.

The Committee's members are: Rep. Franke Wilmer, Presiding Officer, Bozeman; Rep. Gary MacLaren, Victor, Vice Presiding Officer; Sen. Kelly Gebhardt, Roundup; Rep. Pat Ingraham, Thompson Falls; Sen. Verdell Jackson, Kalispell; Sen. Larry Jent, Bozeman; Rep. Veronica Small-Eastman, Lodge Grass; Sen. Carolyn Squires, Missoula.