58th Legislature

1	HOUSE BILL NO. 439
2	INTRODUCED BY P. CLARK
3	
4	A BILL FOR AN ACT ENTITLED: "AN ACT REVISING THE QUALIFICATIONS OF THE MEMBERS OF THE
5	FISH, WILDLIFE, AND PARKS COMMISSION; AMENDING SECTION 2-15-3402, MCA; AND PROVIDING AN
6	IMMEDIATE EFFECTIVE DATE."
7	
8	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MONTANA:
9	
10	Section 1. Section 2-15-3402, MCA, is amended to read:
11	"2-15-3402. Fish, wildlife, and parks commission composition qualifications quasi-judicial.
12	(1) There is a fish, wildlife, and parks commission.
13	(2) The commission consists of the following five members:
14	(a) one member who possesses experience in fisheries biology or 5 years of active fish management
15	experience;
16	(b) one member who possesses experience in wildlife biology or 5 years of active wildlife management
17	experience;
18	(c) one member who represents the general public hunting and fishing community, possesses a
19	minimum of 5 years of active involvement in promoting the public's interest in hunting and fishing in Montana,
20	and has no commercial interest in wildlife management:
21	(d) At least one one member must be who is experienced in the breeding and management of domestic
22	livestock or is a major landowner with habitat capable of sustaining fish or game-; and
23	(e) one member who is a licensed attorney with experience related to management of public natural
24	resources.
25	(3) The governor shall appoint one member from each of the following districts:
26	(a) District No. 1, consisting of Lincoln, Flathead, Sanders, Lake, Mineral, Missoula, Powell, Ravalli,
27	Granite, and Lewis and Clark Counties;
28	(b) District No. 2, consisting of Deer Lodge, Silver Bow, Beaverhead, Madison, Jefferson, Broadwater,
29	Gallatin, Park, and Sweet Grass Counties;
30	(c) District No. 3, consisting of Glacier, Toole, Liberty, Hill, Pondera, Teton, Chouteau, Cascade, Judith
	LegislativeServices-1 -Division

## 58th Legislature

HB0439.01

1 Basin, Fergus, Blaine, Meagher, and Wheatland Counties;

2	(d) District No. 4, consisting of Phillips, Valley, Daniels, Sheridan, Roosevelt, Petroleum, Garfield,
3	McCone, Richland, Dawson, and Wibaux Counties;

4 (e) District No. 5, consisting of Golden Valley, Musselshell, Stillwater, Carbon, Yellowstone, Big Horn,
5 Treasure, Rosebud, Custer, Powder River, Carter, Fallon, and Prairie Counties.

6 (3)(4) Appointments must be made without regard to political affiliation and must be made solely for the 7 wise management of the fish, wildlife, and state parks and other outdoor recreational resources of this state. A 8 person may not be appointed to the commission unless he that person is informed or interested and experienced 9 in the subject of wildlife, fish, parks, and outdoor recreation and the requirements for the conservation and 10 protection of wildlife, fish, parks, and outdoor recreational resources. 11 (4)(5) A vacancy occurring on the commission must be filled by the governor in the same manner and 12 from the district in which the vacancy occurs. 13 (5)(6) The fish, wildlife, and parks commission is designated as a quasi-judicial board for purposes of 14 2-15-124. Notwithstanding the provisions of 2-15-124(1), the governor is not required to appoint an attorney to

- 15 serve as a member of the commission."
- 16
- 17 <u>NEW SECTION.</u> Section 2. Effective date. [This act] is effective on passage and approval.

- END -

18