60th Legislature HB0207.02

1	HOUSE BILL NO. 207
2	INTRODUCED BY INGRAHAM, CORDIER, HENDRICK, HILBERT, LAKE, MACLAREN, ROSS, WARD
3	
4	A BILL FOR AN ACT ENTITLED: "AN ACT REVISING WHEN COUNTY COMMISSIONERS AND OTHER
5	COUNTY ELECTED OFFICIALS SHALL TAKE THE OATH OF OFFICE; AND AMENDING SECTIONS 7-4-2105
6	AND 7-4-2205, MCA."
7	
8	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MONTANA:
9	
10	Section 1. Section 7-4-2105, MCA, is amended to read:
11	"7-4-2105. Term of office. (1) The term of office of county commissioners is 6 years. A county
12	commissioner takes office at 12:01 a.m. on January 1 succeeding the date of the election at which the county
13	commissioner was elected.
14	(2) A county commissioner elected to take office shall take the oath of office on or before the last
15	business day of December following the commissioner's election, except as provided for in 7-4-2106."
16	
17	Section 2. Section 7-4-2205, MCA, is amended to read:
18	"7-4-2205. Term of office oath. (1) Each person elected to an office named in 7-4-2203 holds the
19	office for the term of 4 years and until a successor is elected and qualified.
20	(2) A person appointed to any of the different offices serves at the pleasure of the commissioners.
21	(3) Each officer who is mentioned in this part and who is elected to office shall:
22	(a) take the oath of office on or before the last business day of December following the officer's election;
23	and
24	(b) take office at 12:01 a.m. on January 1 following the officer's election."
25	- END -

