OFFICE OF THE GOVERNOR STATE OF MONTANA

STEVE BULLOCK GOVERNOR



JOHN WALSH Lt. GOVERNOR

May 6, 2013

The Honorable Linda McCulloch Secretary of State State Capitol Helena, MT 59620

Dear Secretary McCulloch:

In accordance with the power vested in me as Governor by the Constitution and the laws of the State of Montana, I hereby veto House Bill 218 (HB 218), "AN ACT AUTHORIZING THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE TO ISSUE GRANTS TO ASSIST LOCAL GOVERNMENTS WITH INFRASTRUCTURE AND OTHER NEEDS AS A RESULT OF OIL AND GAS IMPACTS; PROVIDING FOR ADMINISTRATION OF THE PROGRAM THROUGH THE DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE; ESTABLISHING PRIORITIES AND CRITERIA FOR AWARDING GRANTS; GRANTING RULEMAKING AUTHORITY; ESTABLISHING AN OIL AND GAS IMPACT ACCOUNT; PROVIDING AN APPROPRIATION AND A STATUTORY APPROPRIATION; ALLOCATING FEDERAL MINERAL LEASING REVENUE; TRANSFERRING MONEY FROM THE GENERAL FUND TO THE OIL AND GAS IMPACT ACCOUNT; AMENDING SECTIONS 17-3-240 AND 17-7-502, MCA; AND PROVIDING AN IMMEDIATE EFFECTIVE DATE AND TERMINATION DATES."

HB 218 is excessive and duplicative. House Bill 11 currently allocates over \$15 million in infrastructure assistance to oil and gas producing cities and counties. House Bill 8 allocates and fully funds the State of Montana's share of the two remaining regional water system projects, both of which serve oil and gas producing cities and counties. Senate Bill 175 allocates additional funds to Eastern Montana schools. These funds, collectively, represent over \$40 million in infrastructure funds and other impact funds in this biennium alone.

As Governor of the State of Montana, I will continue to ensure that we create jobs, improve our schools and have a more effective government. The more than \$40 million in funds already allocated this biennium for infrastructure projects and other needs in Eastern Montana supports these goals, while maintaining the structural balance needed in budgeting.

For these reasons, I veto HB 218.

Sincerely,

STEVE BULLOCK

Governor

cc: Legislative Services Division

Mark Blasdel, Speaker of the House Jeff Essmann, President of the Senate