MINUTES

MONTANA SENATE 64th LEGISLATURE - REGULAR SESSION

COMMITTEE ON FINANCE AND CLAIMS

Call to Order: Chair Llew Jones, on March 30, 2015 at 9:00 A.M., in Room 317 Capitol

ROLL CALL

Members Present:

Sen. Llew Jones, Chair (R)

Sen. Bob Keenan, Vice Chair (R)

Sen. Mark Blasdel (R)

Sen. John Brenden (R)

Sen. Mary Caferro (D)

Sen. Bradley Hamlett (D)

Sen. Kris Hansen (R)

Sen. David Howard (R)

Sen. Jim Keane (D)

Sen. Frederick (Eric) Moore (R)

Sen. Mike Phillips (D)

Sen. Rick Ripley (R)

Sen. Matthew M. Rosendale Sr (R)

Sen. Jon C. Sesso (D)

Sen. Cary Smith (R)

Sen. Janna Taylor (R)

Sen. Roger Webb (R)

Sen. Jonathan Windy Boy (D)

Sen. Cynthia Wolken (D)

Members Excused: None

Members Absent: None

Staff Present: Prudence Gildroy, Committee Secretary

Julie Johnson, Legislative Branch Jon Moe, Legislative Branch

Audio Committees: These minutes are in outline form only. They provide a list of participants and a record of official action taken by the committee. The link to the audio recording of the meeting is available on the Legislative Branch website.

Committee Business Summary:

Hearing & Date Posted: HB 2, 3/25/2015

00:01:02 Chair Jones

HEARING ON HB 2

Opening Statement by Sponsor:

00:01:53	Rep. Nancy Ballance (R), HD 87, opened the hearing on HB 2, General Appropriations Act.
00:04:20 00:06:53	Amy Carlson, legislative fiscal analyst, Legislative Fiscal Division (LFD) Dan Villa, budget director, Office of Budget and Program Planning (OBPP)

Section A - General Government

Legislative Services Division

00:13:49	Rep. Ryan Osmundson, HD 30
00:17:30	Susan Byorth Fox, Legislative Services Division (LSD)

Montana Consumer Counsel

00:19:12	Rep. Osmundson
00:20:08	Bob Nelson, Consumer Counsel

Governor's Office

00:20:46	Rep. Osmundson
00:22:18	Mr. Villa, OBPP

Questions from Committee Members and Responses:

00:22:32	Sen. Phillips
00:22:49	Rep. Osmundson
00:23:31	Sen. Phillips
00:23:51	Mr. Villa
00:24:31	Sen. Phillips
00:24:51	Rep. Osmundson
00:25:39	Sen. Phillips
00:25:51	Rep. Osmundson
00:26:37	Sen. Phillips
00:26:44	Sen. Keane
00:27:31	Rep. Osmundson
00:28:30	Sen. Keane
00:28:57	Rep. Osmundson
00:29:23	Sen. Sesso
00:29:36	Rep. Osmundson
00:29:53	Sen. Rosendale
00:30:09	Rep. Osmundson
00:30:16	Sen. Brenden
00:30:37	Rep. Osmundson

00:30:49	Sen. Hamlett
00:31:46	Sen. Howard
00:32:04	Rep. Osmundson
00:32:52	Sen. Webb
00:33:06	Rep. Osmundson

Secretary of State

00:33:40	Rep. Osmundson
00:35:03	Linda McCullough, Montana Secretary of State

Commissioner of Political Practice

00:35:30	Rep. Osmundson
00:36:58	Jonathan Motl, Commissioner of Political Practices (COPP)
EXHIBIT(fcs	66a01)

Questions from Committee Members and Responses:

00:39:53 00:40:18 00:41:40 00:42:26 00:42:56 00:43:14 00:44:09 00:44:21	Sen. Wolken Rep. Osmundson Sen. Phillips Mr. Motl, COPP Sen. Phillips Mr. Motl Sen. Phillips Rep. Osmundson
00:44:55	Sen. Phillips
00:45:11	Rep. Osmundson
00:45:57	Sen. Hamlett
00:46:23	Mr. Motl
00:47:13	Sen. Blasdel
00:48:05	Rep. Osmundson
00:48:13	Sen. Moore
00:48:43	Mr. Motl
00:49:01	Sen. Moore
00:49:32	Mr. Motl
00:50:33	Sen. Phillips
00:50:54	Mr. Motl
00:52:15	Sen. Rosendale
00:52:45	Mr. Motl
00:53:42	Sen. Rosendale
00:53:55	Mr. Motl
00:54:45	Sen. Rosendale
00:55:39	Rep. Osmundson
00:56:49	Sen. Phillips
00:57:20	Mr. Motl
00:57:43	Sen. Hamlett
00:58:10	Rep. Osmundson
00:59:22	Sen. Sesso

01:01:12	Sen. Webb
01:01:35	Mr. Motl
01:02:07	Sen. Webb
01:02:20	Mr. Motl

State Auditors Office

01:05:14 Jesse Laslovich, Office of the Commissioner of Securities and Insurance,

Montana State Auditor

Department of Revenue

01:06:13 Rep. Osmundsor

01:07:53 Mike Kadas, director, Department of Revenue (DOR)

EXHIBIT(fcs66a02)

Questions from Committee Members and Responses:

01:13:07 01:13:44 01:14:01 01:14:22	Sen. Keane Sam Schaefer, Legislative Fiscal Division (LFD) Sen. Brenden Mr. Kadas, DOR
01:15:04 01:15:20	Sen. Brenden Mr. Kadas
01:15:27	Sen. Brenden
01:15:34	Sen. Phillips
01:15:57	Mr. Kadas
01:18:03	Sen. Phillips
01:18:12	Mr. Kadas
01:18:43	Sen. Hansen
01:18:56	Mr. Kadas
01:19:13	Sen. Hansen
01:19:31	Mr. Kadas
01:20:12	Sen. Sesso
01:20:46	Rep. Osmundson
01:21:35	Sen. Sesso
01:22:26	Mr. Kadas

Department of Administration

01:23:32	Rep. Osmundson
01:26:06	Sheila Hogan, director, Department of Administration (DOA)

Questions from Committee Members and Responses:

01:33:15	Sen. Brenden
01:33:35	Ms. Hogan, DOA
01:33:45	Sen. Ripley
01:34:04	Ms. Hogan

01:34:23	Sen. Ripley
01:34:37	Mark Bruno, Department of Administration (DOA)
01:34:55	Sen. Ripley
01:35:02	Kris Wilkinson, Legislative Fiscal Division (LFD)
01:35:58	Chair Jones
01:36:21	Ms. Wilkinson, LFD
01:37:06	Sen. Ripley
01:37:17	Ms. Wilkinson
01:37:25	Sen. Phillips
01:37:52	Ms. Hogan
01:38:07	Sen. Phillips
01:38:12	Ron Baldwin, chief information officer, Department of Administration (DOA)
01:38:38	Sen. Phillips
01:39:00	Mr. Baldwin, DOA
01:39:39	Sen. Phillips
01:39:45	Mr. Baldwin
01:40:20	Sen. Wolken
01:40:50	Ms. Wilkinson
01:41:07	Sen. Wolken
01:41:15	Ms. Wilkinson
01:42:55	Sen. Caferro
01:43:32	Mr. Baldwin
01:48:58	Sen. Caferro
01:50:22	Mr. Baldwin
01:51:51	Chair Jones
01:52:41	Ms. Wilkinson
01:53:31	Chair Jones
01:53:47	Ms. Wilkinson
01:53:59	Sen. Ripley
01:54:19	Chair Jones
01:54:32	Rep. Osmundson
01:54:43	Chair Jones
01:54:57	Sen. Sesso
01:56:06	Ms. Wilkinson
01:56:43	Sen. Sesso
01:57:11	Mr. Bruno
01:57:29	Sen. Sesso
01:58:16	Mr. Bruno
01:58:27	Ms. Wilkinson
01:58:49	Chair Jones
01:58:55	Ms. Wilkinson
01:59:06	Chair Jones

Department of Commerce

01:59:27	Rep. Osmundson
02:01:27	Meg O'Leary, director, Department of Commerce

Public Comment:

02:03:29	Paddy Fleming, Montana Manufacturing and Extension Center
02:05:49	Neil Blossom, American Chemet Corporation
02:07:47	Della Elkey, Felco Industries, Montana Hydraulics
02:10:39	Kevin Keeler, representing himself
02:13:48	Robert Dunn, Westscape Wholesale Nursery
02:20:17	Sen. Lea Whitford, SD 8
02:24:00	Jim Davison, Montana Economic Development Association
EXHIBIT(fcs6	·
EXHIBIT(fcs6	·
EXHIBIT(fcs6	·
	6a03)
02:29:57	6a03) Linda Kindrick, executive director, Montana Community Finance Corporation
02:29:57 02:33:24	Linda Kindrick, executive director, Montana Community Finance Corporation Dan Fallon, McDantim, Inc., Montana Manufacturing Extension Center

Questions from Committee Members and Responses:

02:39:02	Sen. Phillips
02:39:40	Rep. Osmundson
02:40:33	Sen. Phillips
02:41:23	Rep. Osmundson
02:41:38	Sen. Phillips

Deparment of Labor and Industry

02:41:54	Rep. Osmundson
02:44:21	Pam Bucy, commissioner, Department of Labor and Industry (DLI)

Public Comment:

02:55:30 Robin Cunningham, Board of Outfitters

Questions from Committee Members and Responses:

02:56:43	Sen. Sesso
02:57:13	Ms. Bucy, DLI
02:57:26	Sen. Sesso
02:57:47	Rep. Osmundson
02:58:21	Sen. Sesso
02:59:26	Ms. Bucy
03:00:35	Sen. Keane
03:02:36	Ms. Bucy
03:03:20	Sen. Keane
03:03:52	Ms. Bucy

Department of Military Affairs

03:04:37	Rep. Osmundson
03:06:03	Major General Matt Quinn, Department of Military Affairs (DMA)

Questions from Committee Members and Responses:

03:08:33 Sen. Sesso

SENATE COMMITTEE ON FINANCE AND CLAIMS March 30, 2015 PAGE 8 of 8

ADJOURNMENT

Adjournment: 12:13 p.m.	
	Prudence Gildroy, Secretary
pg	
Additional Documents:	
EXHIBIT(fcs66aad.pdf)	