MINUTES

MONTANA HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES 65th LEGISLATURE - REGULAR SESSION

COMMITTEE ON TRANSPORTATION

Call to Order: Chair Steve Lavin, on February 22, 2017 at 3:30 PM, in Room 317 Capitol

ROLL CALL

Members Present:

Rep. Steve Lavin, Chair (R) Rep. Frank Garner, Vice Chair (R) Rep. George G. Kipp III, Vice Chair (D) Rep. Dave Fern (D) Rep. Bruce Grubbs (R) Rep. Jim Hamilton (D) Rep. Denley M. Loge (R) Rep. Wendy McKamey (R) Rep. Ray L. Shaw (R) Rep. Bridget Smith (D) Rep. Kathy Swanson (D) Rep. Jeremy Trebas (R)

Members Excused:

Rep. Alan Doane (R)

Members Absent: None

Staff Present: Abigail Konen, Committee Secretary Jason Mohr, Legislative Branch Megan Moore, Legislative Branch

Audio Committees: These minutes are in outline form only. They provide a list of participants and a record of official action taken by the committee. The link to the audio recording of the meeting is available on the Legislative Branch website.

Committee Business Summary:

Hearing & Date Posted: HB 473, 2/16/2017

HEARING ON HB 473

Opening Statement by Sponsor:

00:01:55 Rep. Frank Garner (R), HD 7, Revise highway revenue laws.

Proponents' Testimony:

00:15:20 Director Dan Villa, Office of Budget and Program Planning (OBPP) 00:16:33 Darryl James, Montana Infrastructure Coalition <u>EXHIBIT(</u>trh39a01) <u>EXHIBIT(</u>trh39a02)

00:27:29 Tim Burton, Montana League of Cities and Towns (MLCT) <u>EXHIBIT(trh39a03)</u> <u>EXHIBIT(trh39a04)</u>

- 00:31:08 John Morgan, Butte-Silver Bow Council of Commissioners, Montana League of Cities and Towns (MLCT)
- 00:32:49 Ron Alles, City Manager of Helena
- 00:36:08 Tom Butler, Montana Highway Patrol (MHP)
- 00:37:21 Chris Kukulski, City of Bozeman

EXHIBIT(trh39a05)

- 00:41:23 John Engen, City of Missoula
- 00:44:44 Richard Clark, City of Billings
- 00:45:44 JD Lynch, Montana State Building and Construction Trades, International Brotherhood of Electrical Workers (IBEW), and Teamsters #2
- 00:46:19 Mayor Bob Kelly, Great Falls
- 00:48:28 Doug Russell, City of Kalispell
- 00:50:41 Harold Blattie, Montana Association of Counties (MACo)

EXHIBIT(trh39a06)

EXHIBIT(trh39a07)

00:54:23 Shane Gorder, Richland County

EXHIBIT(trh39a08)

- 00:56:18 Commissioner John Ostlund, Yellowstone County, Montana Association of Counties Transportation Committee (MACo)
- 00:58:50 Laura Obert, Broadwater County
- 00:59:24 Doug Nisbet, Montana Association of County Road Supervisors (MACRS) and Lewis and Clark County Road and Bridge Superintendent
- 01:01:01 Jon Metropoulos, Montana Association of Oil, Gas, and Coal Counties (MAOGCC)
- 01:02:13 Spook Stang, Motor Carriers of Montana (MCM)

EXHIBIT(trh39a09)

01:05:56 Aimee Grmoljez, Ash Grove Cement

EXHIBIT(trh39a10)

01:06:20 Cary Hegreberg, Montana Contractors Association (MCA) **EXHIBIT(trh39a11)**

01:11:01 Dan Karlin, Montana American Society of Civil Engineers, (ASCE) **EXHIBIT(trh39a12)**

01:15:52 Commissioner Duane Mitchell, Richland County and Sidney **EXHIBIT(trh39a13)**

- 01:16:27 Chris Cavazos, Montana American Federation of Labor and Congress of Industrial Organizations (AFL-CIO)
- 01:16:58 Kim Rickard, Laborers Local 1686
- 01:17:20 Mario Martinez, Carpenters, Pile Drivers, and Mill Rights
- 01:17:49 Steve Gross, International Unit Of Operating Engineers (IUOE) Local 400
- 01:18:16 John Johnson, International Unit Of Operating Engineers (IUOE) Local 400
- 01:18:31 Hal Fuglevand, MDU Resources
- 01:19:34 Aidan Myhre, Kalispell Chamber of Commerce
- 01:20:01 Jim Davison, Montana Economic Developers Association (MEDA)
- 01:21:36 Carson Taylor, Bozeman
- 01:22:38 Melissa Lewis, Shelby
- 01:23:05 Don McCammom, HDR Engineering, American Council of Engineering Companies (ACEC) Montana
- 01:27:06 Brent Campbell, WGM Group
- 01:28:25 Phill Forbes, Morrison Maierle

EXHIBIT(trh39a14)

- 01:29:45 Byron Stahly, Stahly Engineering and Associates
- 01:31:40 Jay Skoog, American Council of Engineering Companies of Montana (ACEC-MT)

EXHIBIT(trh39a15)

- 01:32:37 Deb Poteet, Poeet Construction
- 01:32:55 Dave Crawford, TD&H Engineering
- 01:33:47 Trevor Livesay, Montana Lines
- 01:34:29 Michael Clairmont, Self
- 01:35:05 Jason Rittal, Fallon County
- 01:35:18 Bob Morrison, Morrison Maierle Engineers
- 01:35:55 Austin Walker, Great Falls Development Authority and Montana Infrastructure Coalition
- 01:36:23 Darryl Stordahl, Self
- 01:36:59 Shaheen Siddiqui, Self
- 01:37:27 Greg Doyon, City Manager of Great Falls
- 01:37:47 Wendy Judisch, Conrad
- 01:38:13 Ed Bartlett, Bozeman Area Chamber of Commerce and Billings
- 01:38:34 Ted Barkley, Belgrade
- 01:39:05 Cyndy Andrus, Bozeman
- 01:39:35 Webb Brown, Montana Chamber of Commerce and Montana Infrastructure Coalition

EXHIBIT(trh39a16)

Opponents' Testimony:

- 01:40:27 Rep. Carl Glimm
- 01:42:17 Brent Mead, Montana Policy Institute

01:46:04 Steve Slagle, Self **EXHIBIT(trh39a17)**

Informational Testimony:

01:52:30 Sam Schaefer, Legislative Fiscal Division (LFD) **EXHIBIT(trh39a18)**

01:52:57 Larry Flynn, Montana Department of Transportation, (MDT) <u>EXHIBIT(trh39a19)</u> EXHIBIT(trh39a20)

01:56:51 Director Angus Maciver, Legislative Audit Division (LAD)

Questions from Committee Members and Responses:

- 01:57:27 Rep. McKamey Rep. Glimm 01:59:14 01:59:46 Rep. Loge Larry Flynn, MDT 02:00:33 Rep. Loge 02:01:02 Rep. Trebas 02:01:22 02:04:32 Darryl James, Montana Infrastructure Coalition Harold Blattie, MACo 02:04:47 02:05:13 Rep. Trebas Harold Blattie, MACo 02:05:41 02:06:43 Rep. Trebas Dan Villa, OBPP 02:07:15 02:08:33 Rep. Shaw
- 02:08:55 Darryl James, Montana Infrastructure Coalition

EXHIBIT(trh39a21)

- 02:12:17 Rep. Shaw
- 02:16:32 Rep. Glimm
- 02:18:39 Rep. Grubbs
- 02:22:38 Darryl James, Montana Infrastructure Coalition
- 02:23:24 Rep. Grubbs
- 02:23:30 Chair Lavin
- 02:23:34 Darryl James, Montana Infrastructure Coalition
- 02:23:59 Tom Butler, MHP
- 02:24:26 Rep. Swanson
- 02:24:56 Dan Villa, OBPP

EXHIBIT(trh39a22)

- 02:28:36 Rep. Swanson
- 02:28:44 Dan Villa, OBPP
- 02:30:46 Rep. Kipp III
- 02:33:21 Spook Stang, MCM
- 02:33:31 Rep. Kipp III
- 02:34:25 Rep. Garner
- 02:35:01 Rep. Fern
- 02:36:36 Larry Flynn, MDT

| 02:37:10 | Rep. Fern |
|----------|--|
| 02:37:50 | Rep. Garner |
| 02:39:21 | Rep. Hamilton |
| 02:40:09 | Tim Burton, MLCT |
| 02:43:30 | Rep. Trebas |
| 02:44:15 | Darryl James, Montana Infrastructure Coalition |
| 02:46:24 | Rep. Trebas |
| 02:48:10 | Webb Brown, Montana Chamber of Commerce and Montana Infrastructure |
| | Coalition |
| 02:49:42 | Rep. Loge |
| 02:53:16 | Larry Flynn, MDT |
| 02:54:15 | Rep. McKamey |
| 02:55:00 | Rep. Glimm |
| 02:55:25 | Rep. McKamey |
| 02:55:58 | Tom Butler, MHP |
| 02:56:24 | Chair Lavin |
| 02:56:38 | Tom Butler, MHP |
| 02:56:57 | Rep. McKamey |
| 02:58:01 | Harold Blattie, MACo |
| 02:58:44 | Rep. McKamey |
| 02:59:31 | Darryl James, Montana Infrastructure Coalition |
| 03:00:44 | Rep. Shaw |
| 03:00:54 | Rep. Hamilton |
| 03:01:41 | Rep. Garner |
| 03:03:57 | Rep. Fern |
| 03:04:53 | Dan Villa, OBPP |
| 03:06:43 | Chair Lavin |
| 03:07:02 | Sam Schaefer, LFD |
| 03:08:59 | Chair Lavin |
| | |

Closing by Sponsor:

03:09:38 Rep. Garner

03:17:45 Chair Lavin

ADJOURNMENT

Adjournment: 03:18:06

Abigail Konen, Secretary

ak

Additional Documents:

EXHIBIT(trh39aad.pdf)