1	JOINT RESOLUTION NO
2	INTRODUCED BY
3	(Primary Sponsor)
4	A JOINT RESOLUTION OF THE SENATE AND THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF
5	MONTANA DECLARING THAT WHITE SUPREMACIST NEO-NAZI VIOLENCE IS DOMESTIC TERRORISM.
6	
7	WHEREAS, federal law defines the term "domestic terrorism" as "activities that:
8	(A) involve acts dangerous to human life that are a violation of the criminal laws of the United States
9	or of any state;
10	(B) appear to be intended:
11	(i) to intimidate or coerce a civilian population;
12	(ii) to influence the policy of a government by intimidation or coercion; or
13	(iii) to affect the conduct of a government by mass destruction, assassination, or kidnapping; and
14	(C) occur primarily within the territorial jurisdiction of the United States"; and
15	WHEREAS, throughout the course of our nation's history, white nationalism has promoted intimidation
16	and violent repression of individuals solely on the basis of their race, ethnicity, religion, sexual orientation, and
17	immigration status; and
18	WHEREAS, "racially and ethnically motivated violent extremists—specifically white supremacist
19	extremistswill remain the most persistent and lethal threat in the [United States]", according to the United
20	States Department of Homeland Security's Homeland Threat Assessment from October 2020; and
21	WHEREAS, "[w]hite supremacists have demonstrated longstanding intent to target racial and religious
22	minorities, members of the LGBTQ+ community, politicians, and those they believe promote multiculturalism",
23	according to the United States Department of Homeland Security's Homeland Threat Assessment from October
24	2020, and that "[s]ince 2018, [white supremacist extremists] have conducted more lethal attacks in the United
25	States than any other [domestic violent extremist] movement"; and
26	WHEREAS, white supremacy is an ideology focused on maintaining White political and economic, as
27	well as demographic, dominance and is at odds with our commitment to inclusion and multiracial democracy in
28	the State of Montana; and



67th Legislature

1	WHEREAS, Black, Indigenous, and People of Color in Montana experience ongoing harassment, tribal
2	nations in Montana experience ongoing efforts to undermine treaty rights and tribal sovereignty, anti-Semitism
3	is a driving force behind white nationalism, and anti-Semitic hate propaganda has been distributed in
4	communities throughout Montana; and
5	WHEREAS, white nationalism has attempted to reinvent itself, yet its present-day rhetoric and terrorism
6	conjure painful memories of our nation's past (and still-existing) racism; and
7	WHEREAS, free speech is a core principle of American democracy, but does not excuse the
8	unconscionable agenda of hate groups that seek to destabilize American democracy, use fear as a control
9	tactic, divide our community, and promote and ignite social animosities; and
10	WHEREAS, while free speech is a bedrock value for Americans, white nationalist and neo-Nazi groups
11	promote agendas that are in irreconcilable conflict with our nation's foundational principles of liberty and justice
12	for all; and
13	WHEREAS, white nationalism and neo-Nazism are continuing to grow as menaces to societal order
14	that seek to reignite social animosities, reverse improvements in race relations, divide the nation, and foment
15	hatred, classism, and ethnic eradication; and
16	WHEREAS, our history serves a critical role in our understanding of discrimination, and it is thereby
17	incumbent on us to acknowledge our history so we do not repeat it; and
18	WHEREAS, our values are rooted in peace, respect, inclusivity, and equity, and we derive our strength
19	from our diversity; and
20	WHEREAS, we commit to ensuring the inequities of the past are never a part of our future; and
21	WHEREAS, the State of Montana condemns xenophobia, racism, white supremacy, anti-Semitism,
22	Islamophobia, homophobia, ableism, sexism, and all other forms of bigotry, and proudly stands for individual
23	dignity and security and in unity against all those who would seek to propagate hate, fear, and intimidation and
24	incite fear and violence targeting any human being; and
25	WHEREAS, the State of Montana celebrates and embraces the diversity of our community, which
26	includes people of all races, national origins, immigration or refugee statuses, heritages, cultures, religions,
27	sexes, gender identities, gender expressions, sexual orientations, abilities, ages, and economic statuses; and
28	WHEREAS, the white nationalist and neo-Nazi message of racial and social intolerance has led to



67th Legislature

1	senseless acts of violence that continue to terrorize members of ethnic and religious minority communities.
2	
3	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE AND THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF
4	THE STATE OF MONTANA:
5	That the State of Montana denounces bias or hate in any form and is committed to continue pursuing
6	policies and directing resources of the state in the next year and beyond to ensure civil and human rights are
7	afforded to all individuals.
8	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that as the Montana Legislature, we strongly denounce and oppose the
9	totalitarian impulses, violent terrorism, xenophobic biases, and bigoted ideologies that are promoted by white
10	nationalists and neo-Nazis.
11	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that we urge law enforcement to recognize these white nationalist and
12	neo-Nazi groups as domestic terrorist organizations, and to pursue the criminal elements of these domestic
13	terrorist organizations in the same manner and with the same fervor used to protect the United States from
14	other manifestations of terrorism.
15	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the State of Montana is proud to stand as a shining example of
16	states committed to inclusion, dignity, and justice. To that end, we deepen our resolve to recognize and
17	confront systemic discrimination by reaffirming our steadfast commitment to peace, respect, inclusivity, and
18	equity for all.
19	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State send a copy of this resolution to the
20	President of the United States, the Majority and Minority Leaders of the United States Senate and the United
21	States House of Representatives, each member of the Montana Congressional Delegation, the leaders of the
22	Tribal Nations in Montana, each county commissioner in the State of Montana, and all city councilmembers in
23	the State of Montana.
24	- END -

