67th Legislature SJ 15



A JOINT RESOLUTION OF THE SENATE AND THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MONTANA APPROVING THE BITTERROOT VALLEY COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT.

WHEREAS, pursuant to 20-15-202, MCA, citizens in Ravalli County filed a petition with the Board of Regents requesting an organizational election to approve the organization of the Bitterroot Valley Community College District; and

WHEREAS, the petition met the requirements under 20-15-201 and 20-15-202, MCA, that the proposed community college district fall within preexisting, contiguous elementary school boundaries, have a taxable value of at least \$10 million, and have at least 700 pupils regularly enrolled in public and private high schools within the district and met the requirement that the petition be signed by at least 20% of the proposed district's registered voters; and

WHEREAS, on May 5, 2020, the registered voters of the proposed community college district approved the establishment of the proposed community college district with 59% of the vote and elected seven trustees; and

WHEREAS, under 20-15-209, MCA, following an affirmative vote by the registered electors of a proposed community college district, the authority to ultimately approve a new community college district lies solely with the Montana Legislature.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE AND THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MONTANA:

That the Montana Legislature hereby approves the establishment of the Bitterroot Valley Community College District located in Ravalli County.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the Secretary of State send copies of this resolution to the Board of Trustees of the Bitterroot Valley Community College District, to the Ravalli County Board of County



67th Legislature SJ 15

Commissioners, and to the Board of Regents.

- END -



I hereby certify that the within bill,	
SJ 15, originated in the Senate.	
Secretary of the Senate	
President of the Senate	
Signed this	day
of	, 2021
Speaker of the House	
Signed this	
of	, 2021

SENATE JOINT RESOLUTION NO. 15

INTRODUCED BY J. ELLSWORTH, D. ANKNEY, B. BENNETT, M. BLASDEL, K. BOGNER, E. BOLDMAN, B. BROWN, J. COHENOUR, M. CUFFE, S. FITZPATRICK, C. FRIEDEL, T. GAUTHIER, B. GILLESPIE, C. GLIMM, G. HERTZ, S. HINEBAUCH, B. HOVEN, D. HOWARD, T. JACOBSON, D. KARY, M. LANG, T. MANZELLA, B. MOLNAR, S. MORIGEAU, S. O'BRIEN, R. OSMUNDSON, K. REGIER, D. SALOMON, J. SMALL, C. SMITH, R. TEMPEL, G. VANCE, J. WELBORN, R. LYNCH, D. BEDEY, M. BERTOGLIO, M. BINKLEY, A. BUCKLEY, G. CUSTER, J. DOOLING, G. FRAZER, S. GREEF, D. LOGE, R. MARSHALL, M. NOLAND, J. PATELIS, B. PHALEN, B. PUTNAM, T. RUNNING WOLF, J. SCHILLINGER, K. WALSH, K. ZOLNIKOV

A JOINT RESOLUTION OF THE SENATE AND THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MONTANA APPROVING THE BITTERROOT VALLEY COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT.