

AN ACT REVISING TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION LAW; UPDATING THE NAME OF THE ROCKY MOUNTAIN TRIBAL LEADERS COUNCIL; AMENDING SECTION 2-15-2502, MCA; AND PROVIDING AN IMMEDIATE EFFECTIVE DATE.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MONTANA:

Section 1. Section 2-15-2502, MCA, is amended to read:

"2-15-2502. Transportation commission. (1) There is a transportation commission composed of five members. One member must be a resident of and appointed from each of these districts, each composed of the counties named:

(a) District 1. Lincoln, Flathead, Sanders, Lake, Mineral, Missoula, Ravalli, Granite, Powell;

(b) District 2. Deer Lodge, Silver Bow, Beaverhead, Madison, Gallatin, Meagher, Broadwater, Jefferson, Park;

(c) District 3. Glacier, Toole, Liberty, Hill, Blaine, Pondera, Teton, Chouteau, Cascade, Lewis and Clark;

(d) District 4. Carter, Powder River, Fallon, Custer, Rosebud, Garfield, Phillips, Valley, McCone, Prairie, Dawson, Wibaux, Richland, Roosevelt, Daniels, Sheridan;

(e) District 5. Golden Valley, Stillwater, Carbon, Big Horn, Yellowstone, Musselshell, Judith Basin, Fergus, Petroleum, Treasure, Wheatland, Sweet Grass.

(2) Of the members appointed from districts 1, 3, 4, and 5, at least one must have specific knowledge of Indian culture and tribal transportation needs. The member provided for under this subsection must be selected by the governor after consultation with the Montana members of the Montana-Wyoming <u>Rocky Mountain</u> tribal leaders council.

(3) Two members may not be residents of the same district at the time of appointment or during

- 1 -



Authorized Print Version – HB 489

their respective terms of office.

(4) Not more than three members may at the time of appointment or during their respective terms be members of the same political party.

(5) An elective state official or state officer, during the term of office to which elected or appointed, or a state employee may not be a member of the commission.

(6) A resolution, motion, or other decision of the commission may not be adopted or passed without the favorable vote of at least three members.

(7) The commission is allocated to the department of transportation for administrative purposes only as prescribed in 2-15-121.

(8) The commission is designated as a quasi-judicial board for purposes of 2-15-124; however, the provision of 2-15-124(1) that at least one member of a quasi-judicial board be an attorney does not apply to the commission.

(9) The commission may adopt rules necessary for its government.

(10) The director of transportation or the director's designee shall act as liaison between the commission and the department."

**Section 2.** Notification to tribal governments. The secretary of state shall send a copy of [this act] to each federally recognized tribal government in Montana.

Section 3. Effective date. [This act] is effective on passage and approval.

- END -



I hereby certify that the within bill,

HB 489, originated in the House.

Chief Clerk of the House

Speaker of the House

Signed this	day
of	, 2023.

President of the Senate

Signed this	day
of	, 2023.

## HOUSE BILL NO. 489

## INTRODUCED BY T. BROCKMAN

AN ACT REVISING TRANSPORTATION COMMISSION LAW; UPDATING THE NAME OF THE ROCKY MOUNTAIN TRIBAL LEADERS COUNCIL; AMENDING SECTION 2-15-2502, MCA; AND PROVIDING AN IMMEDIATE EFFECTIVE DATE.