
HISTORY OF LEGISLATOR SALARY RATES

@:
o Prior to 2009 Session - Salary based on 5-2-301, MCA, defined as oocommensurate to that of the daily rate of
an entry grade l0 classified state employee in effect when the regular session of the legislature in which they
serve is convened..."

o Beeinnine with 2009 Session - HBl3, passed during the2007 session, reflected the executive branch
implementation of a broadband pay plan and revised 5-2-301, MCA, related to legislator salary. Legislator

, salary was established as "commensurate to that of the daily rate for an employee earning $10.33 an hour rvhen
the regular session of the legislature in which they serve is convened..." The salary must be adjusted by any
statutorily required pay increase. The statute revision was effective 7lIl07 and first applied to the 6l't
Legislature convening in January 2009. (Verified with Legal Director 7120107)

o Beginnine with 2017 Session - SB 418, passed during the 2015 session, raised state employee salaries by 50
cents an hour in January of 2016 and January of 2017. This salary adjustment for legislators will take effect for
the2017 Session, making the salary $11.33 /trour.

NOTE: When the hourly rate remains unchanged in statuter legislative staffwill manually have to
calculate and apply cumulative changes which apply to the rate since stafute requires an adjustment for
any statutory pay increase. Remember, a statutory increase which takes elTect after a Legislature
convenes in regular session is not applied until the nextlegislature convenes (Art.5, sec. 5, Montana
Constitution).

January 1 999 $59.67 2l day (57 .459 lhr, $59.67 2l day, $ I 5,5 I 5/annu alized)
January 200 1 $7 | .8321 day ($8.979lhr, $7 | .832/ day, $ 1 8,676lannu alized)
January 2003 $76. 80/day ($9.60/hr, $76.80/day, $ I 9,968/annualized)
January 2005 $76. 80/day ($9. 60/hr, $76. 80/day, $ I 9,968/annu alized)
J anuary 2007 $82.665 I day (S I 0. 3 3 3/hr, $ 8 2. 665/d ay, $21,493 I amrualized)
January 2009 882.64 I day ($ I 0.3 3/hr, $82.64 / day, $2 1,486/annu alized)
January 201 1 $82.64 I day ($ I 0. 3 3/hr, $82.64 I day, $21,486 I arcntalized)
January 2013 $82.64 I day ($ 1 0.3 3./hr, $82.64 I day, $2 1,486/annualized)
January 2015 $82.64 I day ($ I 0.3 3/hr, 582.64 I day, $2 1,486/annualized)
January 2017 $90. 641 day ($ I I .33ftr, $90.64lday, $23,566/annualized)

FYI - the additional $5/day during session for President of the Senate and Speaker of the House was enacted by
Chapter 103, Laws of 1977.

1

Updatedfor the Legislative Council, April 2016, by Susan B. Fox



HISTORY OF LEGISLATOR SESSION PER DIEM RATES

Statute provides a formula for calculation of the session per diem rate in 5-2-301(4), MCA (see text box).
Documentation of the calculation of the per diem rate each biennium is filed in the appropriate feed bill file.

Based on a biennial survey of the per diem allowance for legislators
from North Dakota, South Dakota, Wyomitg, and Idaho (and
including Montana), the Dept of Administration shall determine the
average daily rate for legislators. If the average daily rate is greater
than the daily rate for legislators in Montana, legislators are entitled
to a new daily rate for those days during which the legislature is in
session. The daily rate for the prior legislative session may be
increaseci by the percent age rate determined by the survey, a cost-oi-
living increase to reflect inflatiotr, or 5Yo, whichever is less. The
expense allowance is effective when the next regular session of the
legislature in which the legislators serve is convened under 5-2-103.

Per Diem:
1997
r999
200 1

2003
2405
2007
2009
20r1
2AI3
2015
2017

$70.00
$75.00
$s7 .25

$90.31
$94.05
$e8.7s
$ 103 .69

$ 105.3 1

$109.78
$l 12.85

$118.49 (est.) Ma"x

Interim per diem rates

Statute provides that when the legislature is not in session, legislators engaged in legislative business with prior
authorization are entitled to:

(l) a mileage allowance as provided in 2-18-503 (0.575 cents/mile);
(2) expenses as provided in 2-18-501 and 2-18-502 (meals @g23.0Olday (max instate) and lodging @

$96.23lnght); and
(3) a salary equal to a full day's pay atthe rate in 5-2-301(l) (see above).

Constituent services stipend and reimbursement

The 2015 Legislature passed SB 283 (Ch. 452). Effective July 1, 2017, the law provides for:
(l) Each legislator is entitled to a stipend of $3,000 in a biennium for providing constituent services,

which include but are not limited to unreimbursed expenses for mileage, per diem, or lodging as well as

communication and information technology, such as expenses for telecommunications or internet, computer
hardware and software, postage, and education-related expenses to represent constituents.

(2) Subject to subsections (4) and (5), legislators are allowed reimbursement of up to the amount
provided for in subsection (3) in a biennium for otherwise unreimbursed expenses related to the legislator's
expenses for mileage, meals, or lodging at rates provided for in 2-18-501 through 2-18-503 incurred for
providing constituent services.

(3) The amount authorized under subsection (2) is:
(a) $1,000 if the legislator's district is at least 100 square miles but less than 1,000 square miles;
(b) $2,000 if the legislator's district is at least 1,000 square miles but less than 5,000 sqrnre miles;
(c) $3,000 if the legislator's district is at least 5,000 square miles but less than 7,500 square miles; or
(d) $4,000 if the legislator's district is 7,500 square miles or more.
(4) For expenses authorized under subsection (2), a legislator shall apply for reimbursement to the

legislative services division by submitting written docuinentation that satisfies applicable requirements of Title
2, chapter 18, part 5.

(5) Legislators may not be reimbursed for expenses paid from a constituent services account provided
for in 13-37-402.
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