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1. If a law enforcement officer pulls over a vehicle for a suspected vehicle code violation
and after observing the driver suspects that the driver is under the influence of marijuana
and the driver is a registered cardholder, is the driver violating any law?

The short answer is yes, assuming the officer can gather the appropriate proof. Section
61-8-401(1)(b), MCA, provides that it is unlawful for a person who is under the influence of "a
dangerous drug to drive or be in actual physical control of a vehicle. . ." In addition, 61-8-
401(2), MCA, provides even though a person may be legally entitled to use alcohol or a drug,
that is not a defense to prosecution. The Montana Marijuana Act at 50-46-320(1), MCA, also
does not permit a registered cardholder to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of
marijuana. Further, the provisions of 50-46-320(7)(b), MCA, provide, in essence, that a person
convicted of driving under the influence is subject to revocation of the registry card.
Incidentally, 50-46-320(7)(a), MCA, also permits an officer who suspects someone is driving
under the influence of marijuana to request a search warrant to obtain a sample of the person’s
blood for testing. Notwithstanding this procedure, the provisions of Montana’s Implied Consent
law at 61-8-402, MCA, state that by operating a vehicle on the roads of Montana all drivers have
consented to a blood or breath test and a refusal results in a driver’s license suspension. An
implied consent refusal is technically a civil matter, but I think it is relevant because it deals with
the potential consequences of driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol in Montana.

2. Does the registered cardholder have to carry the card at all times?

The answer to this question is yes. Pursuant to 50-46-317, MCA, registered cardholders
are required to carry the registry card at all times.

3. What are the ramifications/implications if the registered cardholder cannot immediately
produce the card?

Section 50-46-330, MCA, addresses unlawful conduct by cardholders and penalties. If a
person violated 50-46-317, MCA, by failing to have the registry card with them when they were
pulled over by law enforcement, they could be subject to the misdemeanor penalty provided in
50-46-330(2), MCA, which states: "A registered cardholder, provider, or marijuana-infused
products provider who violates this part is punishable by a fine not to exceed $500 or by
imprisonment in a county jail for a term not to exceed 6 months, or both. . ."
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