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Memo

To: Economic Affairs Committee Members
From: Pat Murdo, Committee Staff
Re: Board of Hearing Aid Fees in Nearby States

At the January 2014 Economic Affairs Committee Sen. Dick Barrett asked for followup
information regarding hearing aid dispenser licensing costs in other states, particularly those
referenced during the public comment period related to licensing boards that are having
financial problems. A member of the Board of Hearing Aid Dispensers had provided information
to the Committee showing that Idaho and South Dakota both had far lower licensing fees than
the $1,500 annual cost to license a Montana hearing aid dispenser. This background report
provides additional information.

Idaho
Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licenses oversees 29 boards, including the Idaho Speech and
Hearing Services Board, which licenses:
• speech language pathologists 
• audiologists - 103 current licensees
• hearing aid fitters and dispensers - 90 current licensees

The 7-member Board consists of:
• 2 speech language pathologists
• 2 audiologists
• 1 hearing aid dispenser/fitter
• 1 licensee of any of the three occupations
• 1 public member

FY 2014
Starting Cash 

Budget Revenues as of
2/28/2014

Expenditures as
of 2/28/2014

Balance
as of 2/28/2014

$97,925 $67,000 $72,960 $63,366 $107,519

Personnel $40,000

Operating $25,000

Exam Costs $7,000

Licensing costs for hearing aid dispensers/fitters:
$30   - new license application fee
$100 - new license
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$125 - annual renewal fee
$65  -  inactive license fee

Budgeting factors
The Board contracts with the Idaho Bureau of Occupational Licenses, which provides for
indirect costs for administrative, investigative, and fiscal budget aspects. The administrative
costs are based on the average of the four previous fiscal years, and the investigative costs are
averaged over the past five years. The fiscal costs are based on the total number of individual
records plus the total financial transactions processed in the previous fiscal year. These costs
increased slightly from FY 2013 to FY 2014: administrative up 0.11% to 2.31%, investigative up
0.7% to 1.47%, and fiscal up 0.12% to 1.42%.

Fines -- Limited to $1,000 or less for each violation.
Disciplinary costs and attorney fees may be assessed against a licensee for an investigation or
administrative proceeding.
Disciplinary proceedings and investigations? - No indication of numbers

The Board's rules provide that a written contract must give the consumer 30 days to cancel the
purchase and obtain a refund (IDAPA 24.23.02) The 30-day trial period is the same as in
Montana.

Of interest:
A legislative audit in September 2013 found that one-third of Idaho's boards had negative cash
balances totaling almost $622,000, a situation that was allowed in part because the contract
between the Bureau and the Board allowed for the Bureau to pay expenses under unique
circumstances and the Bureau Chief considered investigative and disciplinary actions to be
unique circumstances. The cash balance of all boards was sufficient to cover the negative cash
balances of the 10 boards. The audit recommended that the Bureau and the boards develop
performance criteria to evaluate the boards' self-sufficiency. The Bureau's response was to note
its goal of having 1.5 times each board's operating expenses in reserve. 

South Dakota
Board of Hearing Aid Dispensers and Audiologists - part of Department of Health, which
charges indirect costs for attorney, printing, other services.

Board members serve as investigators (no outside investigators)

Board consists of:
• nonvoting executive secretary;
• 2 hearing aid dispensers;
• 2 audiologists;
• a public member

Licensees: 
• Hearing Aid Dispensers - 68
• Audiologists - 72

License costs:
$200 for hearing aid dispenser application (includes cost of first exam)
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$200 for endorsement application
$100 for provisional dispenser application
$200 for annual hearing aid dispenser license

No disciplinary actions from 2010 through 2013.
Bill passed in 2013 requires refund of full purchase price, less maximum of 10% within 30 days
of delivery.

Budgeting factors: South Dakota contracts with a management consultant and has no state
employees. The contract for 2013 (if I read the information right) was $18,632. An additional
$600 was requested for a proposed cost of $19,232. The consultant pays directly for a staff of 3.
Cost covers unreimbursed commercial liability, errors and omissions, and auto insurance as
well as reimbursed rent, phone and internet services, postage and miscellaneous expenses.
Legal consultant is retained for administrative rule changes and complaint investigations. 

July 2012- June
2013 Starting Cash* 

Budget Revenues Expenditures Ending Balance
as of 6/30/2013

$58,738 $29,389 $21,692 $66,435

Board costs requested $1,113

Contracted services $20,440

*The information is from p. 14 of an Expenditure Summary provided by board staff.

Wyoming
Board of Hearing Aid Specialists has 5 members of which 3 are hearing aid specialists, 1 is a certified
otolaryngologist, and 1 is an audiologist.

Fees:
Application $200
Examination $100 for written exam, $300 for practical exam
Temporary Permit $300
Renewal $300

Laws and regulations do not provide for refund of devices or a trial period.

Selected Other State Licensing Fees:
Minnesota Annual renewal for hearing instrument dispensers - $600

Surcharge fee - $100
• The Minnesota Department of Health's Health Occupations Program

includes licensing and regulation of audiologists, speech-language
pathologists, and hearing instrument dispensers among others. The
"Activity" also operates a consumer information center regarding hearing
aids. Licensing fees pay for investigating complaints and enforcement
actions as well as for the consumer information center.

• Minnesota law requires assistive device replacement or refund
(325G.205)
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