Unofficial Draft Copy

As of: March 15, 2016 (11:23AM)

LCjr01

A Bill for an Act entitled: "An Act creating a 23rd judicial district; revising the 4th and 20th judicial districts; reducing the number of judges in the 20th judicial district; amending sections 3-5-101 and 3-5-102, MCA; and providing effective dates."

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Montana:

Section 1. Section 3-5-101, MCA, is amended to read:

"3-5-101. Judicial districts defined. In this state, there are 22 23 judicial districts, distributed as follows:

- (1) 1st district: Lewis and Clark and Broadwater Counties;
- (2) 2nd district: Silver Bow County;
- (3) 3rd district: Deer Lodge, Granite, and Powell Counties;
- (4) 4th district: Missoula and Mineral Counties County;
- (5) 5th district: Beaverhead, Jefferson, and Madison Counties;
- (6) 6th district: Park and Sweet Grass Counties;

(7) 7th district: Dawson, McCone, Richland, Prairie, andWibaux Counties;

(8) 8th district: Cascade County;

(9) 9th district: Teton, Pondera, Toole, and Glacier Counties;

(10) 10th district: Fergus, Judith Basin, and Petroleum Counties;

Unofficial Draft Copy

As of: March 15, 2016 (11:23AM)

LCjr01

(11) 11th district: Flathead County;

(12) 12th district: Liberty, Hill, and Chouteau Counties;

(13) 13th district: Yellowstone County;

(14) 14th district: Meagher, Wheatland, Golden Valley, and Musselshell Counties;

(15) 15th district: Roosevelt, Daniels, and Sheridan Counties;

(16) 16th district: Custer, Carter, Fallon, Powder River,

Garfield, Treasure, and Rosebud Counties;

(17) 17th district: Phillips, Blaine, and Valley Counties;

(18) 18th district: Gallatin County;

(19) 19th district: Lincoln County;

(20) 20th district: Lake and Sanders Counties County;

(21) 21st district: Ravalli County;

(22) 22nd district: Stillwater, Carbon, and Big Horn Counties;

(23) 23rd district: Mineral and Sanders Counties."

{Internal References to 3-5-101: None.}

Section 2. Section 3-5-102, MCA, is amended to read:

"3-5-102. Number of judges. In each judicial district, there must be the following number of judges of the district court:

(1) in the 2nd, 7th, 16th, 20th, and 21st districts, two judgeseach;

(2) in the 18th district, three judges;

(3) in the 1st, 4th, 8th, and 11th districts, four judges each;

- (4) in the 13th district, six judges;
- (5) in all other districts, one judge each."

2 LC jr01

Unofficial Draft Copy

As of: March 15, 2016 (11:23AM)

{Internal References to 3-5-102: None.}

<u>NEW SECTION.</u> Section 3. Election of district court judge --23rd district. There must be an election for the office of the 23rd district court judge at the general election to be held November 2018 for a 6-year term to begin in January 2019.

<u>NEW SECTION.</u> Section 4. {standard} Effective dates. (1)
Except as provided in subsection (2), [this act] is effective January
1, 2019.

(2) [Section 3] is effective immediately.

END -

{Name	:	Rachel J. Weiss
Title	:	Research Analyst
Agency	:	Legislative Services Division
Phone	:	406-444-5367

E-Mail: rweiss@mt.gov}