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This briefing provides information requested at the last committee meeting on states that require a 
registration fee for electric vehicles.1 

States with Electric Vehicle Registration Fees 
The ten states appearing in color on the  map below require owners of an electric vehicle to pay a fee.  
The five states appearing in green levy the fee only on electric vehicles. The two states appearing in red 
also levy a hybrid vehicle fee. A hybrid vehicle uses both an internal combustion engine and an electric 
motor. The three states appearing in blue levy a fee on electric vehicles and alternative fuel vehicles. 
Examples of alternative fuel vehicles are vehicles that run on liquid petroleum or natural gas. 

 
                                                           
1 The information contained in this memorandum is compiled from material provided by the National Conference 
of State Legislatures. Kristine Hartman, “RE: Fees on electric vehicles,” Message to Megan Moore, Dec. 11, 2015. E-
mail. 
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Electric Vehicle Fees Range From $50 to $200 
Most of the ten states with a fee on electric vehicles levy a flat fee on all electric vehicles.  Michigan and 
Missouri are exceptions: Michigan’s fee is based on whether the vehicle’s weight is more or less than 
8,000 pounds and Missouri has one fee for passenger vehicles and higher fees for other electric vehicles 
based on the use of the vehicle and its weight. The table below provides a breakdown of fees by state. 

Electric Vehicle Fees by State 

State Annual 
Fee 

Year of 
Enactment 

Colorado $50 2013 
Wyoming2 $50 2015 
Virginia $64 20133 
Missouri - passenger vehicle4 $75 2014 
Nebraska $75 2011 
Michigan – up to 8,000 pounds $100 2015 
North Carolina $100 2013 
Washington $100 2012 
Idaho $140 2015 
Georgia $200 2015 
Michigan – over 8,000 pounds $200 2015 
 

Alternative Fuel Vehicle Fees the Same as Electric Vehicle Fees 
The fees in the three states with alternative fuel vehicles fees – Missouri, Nebraska, and Virginia – are 
the same for electric vehicles and alternative fuel vehicles. 

Hybrid Vehicle Fees Lower Than Electric Vehicle Fees 
The two states with fees on hybrid vehicles levy a lower fee on hybrid vehicles than on electric vehicles.  
Idaho’s hybrid vehicle fee is $75, compared with $140 for an electric vehicle. Michigan’s fee for a vehicle 
less than 8,000 pounds is $30 for a hybrid and $100 for an electric vehicle and, for vehicles over 8,000 
pounds, the fee is $100 for a hybrid and $200 for an electric vehicle. 
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2 The Wyoming Legislature passed legislation in 2015 to require a $50 electric vehicle decal. Indications are that 
the Legislature intended the fee to be paid annually but an attorney general review of the legislation indicates 
there is no language in the new law requiring annual purchase of the decal. Trevor Brown, “Electric Car Tax 
Wording Leads to Loophole in Fee,” Wyoming Tribune Eagle, Aug. 26, 2015. 
3 Virginia enacted a $50 tax on electric vehicles, hybrid vehicles, and alternative fuel vehicles in 2012. The Virginia 
General Assembly raised the fee to $64 in 2014 and removed its application to hybrid vehicles. Contingency 
language was also added in 2014 that requires the fee to be used for transportation purpose. If the fee is used for 
non-transportation purposes, the fee is lowered to $50.  
4 The fee for commercial vehicles ranges from $75 to $1,000 depending on weight. The fee for buses is $75 or $150 
depending on the use of the bus. See “Special Fuel Decals,” Missouri Department of Revenue, available from 
http://dor.mo.gov/motorv/decals.php, accessed Jan. 28, 2016. 
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