
AGRICULTURE

AGRICULTURAL SEED

1. Types of Activities Regulated

The Montana Department of Agriculture (DOA) regulates seed producers, labelers, and
dealers to ensure seed quality and seed products free of noxious or restricted weed seeds.
Licenses are required, with some exceptions, for facilities in the state that condition1

agricultural seed (producers), for when a person's name and address appear on the label
of agricultural seed (labelers), and for a person who sells agricultural seed in Montana
(dealers).

Statute: 80-5-120, et seq., MCA

Rule: ARM 4.12.3002, et seq.

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Agricultural Sciences Division

2. Application Requirements

A license application for a facility that conditions, labels or sells agricultural seed is
available from the DOA. The application requests the applicant's name, place of business,
and mailing address; the location of each seed conditioning facility if applying for a seed
conditioning plant license; a sample label if applying for a seed labeler's license; and a list
of persons who may be selling seed for the company. A license is required for each location
where seed is located or sold. Licenses must be renewed annually and expire on June 30.

Statute: 80-5-130, et seq., MCA

Rule: ARM 4.12.3008

3. Fees
The license fee for an out-of-state person selling seed in Montana is $130. The license fee
for a Montana producer, labeler or dealer is $75.

1   A conditioned seed is one that is dried, cleaned, scarified, or altered in a way that changes its purity or
germination properties.

15



16  AGRICULTURE

Seed labelers located outside of Montana who sell agricultural seed in the state must report
sales and pay an assessment of 25 cents per $100 in gross annual sales. The report and
fee are due July 31 for the preceding 12 month period.

Statute: 80-5-130, MCA

Rule: ARM 4.12.3009

4. Additional Information

A label is required on all containers of seed sold in Montana. The labels must be truthful
and appropriate to the product and contain specific information required by law. 

Seeds offered for sale or sold must not contain any prohibited noxious weed seeds as
designated under the Montana County Weed Act (7-22-2101(8)(a)(i), MCA).

Statute: 80-5-123, MCA

Rule: ARM 4.12.3010

ANIMAL FEEDING OPERATIONS

See DISCHARGE PERMITS, ANIMAL FEEDING OPERATIONS, pp. 205 and 206.

BEE KEEPING (APIARIES)

1. Types of Activities Regulated

The Montana Department of Agriculture (DOA) issues certificates of registration for four
types of apiaries: general, pollination, landowner, and hobbyist. 

Apiaries with a general certificate of registration must be located three or more miles apart
to prevent the spread of diseases and pests. There is no distance limit for pollination,
landowner, and hobbyist apiaries but other restrictions apply. For landowner certification,
the applicant must own (or control for purposes other than placing honeybees) the land
where the hives are located. Pollination apiaries are established for the pollination of
commercial crops and certificates of registration are issued for a specific period designated
by the DOA. Hobbyist beekeepers may only keep up to five hives (with a maximum of two
hobby beekeepers in a family, for 10 hives per family) and registration is voluntary.
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Honey bee colonies and beekeeping equipment moved into Montana must be inspected
by the Department of Agriculture or an agency in the originating state that has been
approved by the DOA.

Statute: 80-6-101, et. seq., MCA

Rule: ARM 4.12.102, et seq.

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Agricultural Sciences Division

2. Application Requirements

Apiary registration forms are available from the DOA or online at
http://agr.mt.gov/agr/Programs/Bees/forms/beeForm.doc. Application requirements and
conditions vary according to the type of certification requested. Apiaries must be registered
by April 1 of each year.

Statute: 80-6-111 through 80-6-114, MCA

3. Fees

The annual registration fee for an apiary site is $15. All sites must be associated with a
registered beekeeper. There is a one-time fee of $10 to register as a beekeeper. The fee
for the issuance of a certificate of health for bees that are seasonally transported is $125.
A recent inspection is required for the issuance of a certificate of health.

Statute: 80-6-202, MCA

Rule: ARM 4.12.113

4. Additional Information

The Department offers sex-ratio, emergence testing and x-ray evaluation for live larvae,
parasites, predators, and pathogens for basic and certified alfalfa leaf-cutting bee samples.
Certified samples are collected by the Alfalfa Seed Committee or its agent. Application
forms for certification and an explanation of the fees are available on the departmental
website at http://agr.mt.gov/agr/Producer/Bees/LeafcutterBees.html. The sample is certified
if departmental standards are met. Basic samples are submitted directly from the grower
to DOA. In both cases, samples should consist of at least one quart of loose cells. A basic
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sample analysis is $30 per sample. Sex-ratio and percentage emergence testing is an
additional $20.

Statute: 80-6-1101, et seq., MCA

CROPLAND LEASES ON STATE LANDS

1. Types of Activities Regulated

The Board of Land Commissioners may lease state lands for general agricultural use.
Cropland leases are based on a crop share rental value of not less than one-fourth of the
annual crop or the usual landlord's share prevailing in the area, whichever is greater. See
also GRAZING, p. 20.

Statute: 77-6-501, et seq., MCA

Rule: ARM 36.25.102, et seq.

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND CONSERVATION
Trust Land Management Division
Agriculture and Grazing Management Bureau

2. Leasing Procedures

1) Leases go to the highest bidder unless the Board determines that this
decision is not in the state's best interest.

2) Present lease holders have a preference right over others seeking to lease
the same land. The lease holder may meet the highest bid made by any
applicant by exercising their preference right except under certain conditions
when the land has been subleased. Additionally, the preference is valid only
if the lessee has not abused any conditions of the lease. Lessees may
appeal the bid to the Board if they consider the bid excessive.

3) Lease terms are five or 10 years.

Statute: 77-6-201, et seq., MCA
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FERTILIZER REGISTRATION

1. Types of Activities Regulated

A. Fertilizer Registration: Fertilizers and soil amendments, except
unmanipulated animal or vegetable manures, must be registered by the
manufacturer or the supplier on behalf of the manufacturer with the Montana
Department of Agriculture (DOA) before distribution in Montana.

B. Fertilizer Distribution License: A person may not distribute any type of
fertilizer or soil amendment, except unmanipulated animal or vegetable
manures or specialty fertilizer, until a license to distribute has been obtained
from the DOA for each facility distributing into the state and for each handling
facility in the state. It is unlawful to distribute fertilizers or soil amendments
adulterated with metals in amounts that exceed the levels identified in DOA
rules.

Before distributing any commercial fertilizer or soil amendment into the state,
a person must be licensed as a supplier.

C. Anhydrous Ammonia Facilities: DOA approval is required for the construction
and operation of anhydrous ammonia facilities.

Statute: 80-10-201, 80-10-202, and 80-10-503, MCA

Rule: ARM 4.12.601, et seq. and 4.12.701, et seq.

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Agricultural Sciences Division

2. Application Requirements

A. All applications for fertilizer registration must include the name and address
of the applicant; the brand, grade, and guaranteed analysis of the fertilizer;
and other detailed information about each product as required by the DOA.
Fertilizers or soil amendments that contain a waste or sewage sludge must
be identified as such in the registration application. The application must also
state the source of the waste and the level of metals in the final product.
Registrations expire on December 31 of each year.

B. The application for a fertilizer distribution license must be on forms approved
by the DOA. Licenses expire on December 31 of each year.
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C. An application for an anhydrous ammonia facility must include written
approval from the local governing body or a zoning permit issued by the
county or town where the facility will be located. Storage tanks and
associated equipment must meet applicable safety and design codes at the
time of installation.

Statute: 80-10-201, et seq., MCA
80-10-501, et seq., MCA (anhydrous ammonia)

Rule: ARM 4.12.601-4.12.604, 4.12.704, and 4.12.706-4.12.710

3. Fees

Applications for fertilizer registrations must be accompanied by a nonrefundable fee of $20
for each fertilizer and soil amendment and a nonrefundable fee of $35 for each specialty
fertilizer. An additional $10 fee is required for fertilizers and specialty fertilizers to fund the
ground water protection responsibilities of the DOA.

New applicants for fertilizer distribution licenses, or those failing to renew by January 1, pay
a nonrefundable $75 fee. License renewals received before January 1 are $50.

The DOA also assesses inspection fees and requires quarterly reports on the tonnage of
fertilizer distributed, except for specialty fertilizers and unmanipulated animal and vegetable
manures.

Statute: 80-10-103, 80-10-201, 80-10-202, 80-10-207, and 80-15-302, MCA

Rule: ARM 4.12.608

4. Additional Information

Commercial fertilizer and soil amendment containers must be labeled. The labels must be
truthful and appropriate to the product and contain specific information required by the
statutes and rules.

Statute: 80-10-204, MCA

Rule: ARM 4.12.604
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GRAZING

1. Grazing Districts

Three or more livestock operators owning or controlling property in an area may create a
state grazing district—a nonprofit cooperative organization regulated by the Montana Grass
Conservation Commission and authorized to ensure the protection of range resources.
Membership in a district is limited to persons engaged in the livestock business, or those
persons' agents, who own or lease forage-producing lands within or near the state district.

1) A permit is required from the state grazing district for a livestock owner or the
person in control of the livestock to run the animals at large or under herd
within the boundaries of a state district.

2) A person may obtain a permit (i.e., a grazing preference) by submitting an
application to the district. Temporary permits may be issued to nonmembers
on an annual basis.

3) Transfer of preferences are not allowed without the written consent of the
owner of the property from which the transfer will be made. A transfer is not
effective until approved by the Montana Grass Conservation Commission.

4) Prior to the transfer, a public hearing must be held before the Board of
Directors of the district.

5) A person is not required to obtain a permit to graze livestock on land that the
person owns or controls within a district if the stock being grazed are kept
from running at large and from grazing on any other lands within the district.

Statute: 76-16-201, 76-16-302, 76-16-310, and 76-16-401, et seq., MCA

Contact: STATE GRAZING DISTRICT

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND CONSERVATION
Conservation and Resource Development Division
Montana Grass Conservation Commission

2. State Leases

The Department of Natural Resources and Conservation (DNRC) issues leases, through
competitive bidding, for grazing on state lands.



22  AGRICULTURE

Leasing Procedures

1) When the DNRC receives an application to lease state lands for grazing
purposes, it must advertise for bids on the tract. The tract must be leased to
the highest bidder unless the Board of Land Commissioners determines that
the bid is not in the state's best interest. All bidding is by sealed bid mailed
to the DNRC headquarters in Helena. 

2) Present lease holders have a preference right over others seeking to lease
the same parcel. A preference right entitles the lease holder to meet the
highest bid made by any applicant and to appeal the bid to the Board if they
consider the bid excessive. Certain conditions regarding subleasing must be
met for a lease holder to exercise their preference right and the preference
is valid only if the lessee has not abused any conditions of the lease.

3) A person bidding for the lease of state lands must deposit a certified check,
cashier's check or money order in an amount equal to 20 percent of the
annual rental bid for grazing land and an amount equal to $1 per acre for
agricultural land. The rental rate for leasing state grazing lands is based on
the appraised animal-unit-month carrying capacity of the land.

4) Lease terms are five or 10 years.

Statute: 77-6-101, et seq. and 77-6-201, et seq., MCA

Rule: ARM 36.2.1003 and 36.25.102, et seq.

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND CONSERVATION
Trust Land Management Division
Agriculture and Grazing Management Bureau

3. Federal Leases

The U.S. Department of the Interior, Bureau of Land Management and the U.S. Forest
Service issue grazing leases and grazing permits for federal land administered by those
agencies.

Statute: Organic Administration Act
Federal Land Policy and Management Act
Public Rangelands Improvement Act
Taylor Grazing Act, as amended

Rule: 43 C.F.R. § 4100, 36 C.F.R. § 222
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Contact: U.S. DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR
Bureau of Land Management
Resource Area or Field Office

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Forest Service
Forest Supervisor

NATURAL BEEF CATTLE CERTIFICATION

1. Types of Activities Regulated

Certification for natural beef cattle and natural grass-fed beef cattle is available through a
cooperative program between the Montana Department of Agriculture and the Montana
Department of Livestock. To qualify as Montana-certified natural beef cattle, the beef cattle
must have been born and raised in Montana and finished following naturally raised
protocols. To qualify as Montana-certified natural grass-fed beef cattle, the beef cattle must
also have been finished on grass. Records of the birth of the beef cattle by month and
health records for the beef cattle, including vaccine lot numbers, the vaccine manufacturer,
and dates of vaccination must be kept.

Statute: 80-11-801, MCA

Rule: ARM 4.18.101, et. seq.

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Agricultural Development Division

DEPARTMENT OF LIVESTOCK

2. Application Requirements

A producer who wishes to receive natural beef cattle certification must complete a Montana
Natural Beef Program agreement, enroll the cattle in the program, and participate in an
in-person evaluation. The certificate holder must also keep detailed records and renew the
certificate annually.

3. Fees

The annual certification fee is $100 and the inspection fee is $2 per animal.

Rule: ARM 4.18.106
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NOXIOUS WEED FREE FORAGE

1. Types of Activities Regulated

Certification of forage products, including pellets, cubes, grain, and wattles, as free of
noxious weeds is available from the Montana Department of Agriculture (DOA). Forage
products may be certified as free of Montana designated noxious weed seeds or may be
certified as free of regional noxious weeds. Certified noxious weed seed free forage is
required when horses or pack animals are used on public land in Montana. Additionally,
local, state, and federal agencies and public utilities are required to use certified weed free
mulches, bedding materials, and erosion control barriers. 

Statute: 80-7-901, et seq., MCA

Rule: ARM 4.5.301, et. seq.

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Agricultural Sciences Division

2. Application Requirements

Applications should be made with the DOA agent in the county in which the person resides
or in the county in which the person owns or leases land on which forage will be produced.
Noxious weed seed free forage must be certified annually. All manufacturers of noxious
weed seed free product must submit an application for certification to DOA noxious weed
seed free forage program coordinator annually.

Rule: ARM 4.5.301, et. seq.

3. Fees

The annual field inspection fee is $4.50/acre or $45 for 10 acres or less. The inspection fee
for manufacturers is $44 per hour or $88 minimum per facility.

Rule: ARM 4.5.313

NURSERIES

1. Types of Activities Regulated

A. Licensing: The Montana Department of Agriculture (DOA) requires licenses
for firms, nurseries, plant dealers, or small plant vendors that sell or distribute



AGRICULTURE  25

nursery stock (plants or parts of plants) in the state. Licensing requirements
vary according to the value of gross annual sales and the number of
distribution locations. Certain firms, nurseries, plant dealers, or small plant
vendors that are licensed as a nursery in another state and have less than
$1,000 in gross annual sales are exempt from the licensing requirement.

B. Certification: The DOA must be notified if any nursery stock or material
becomes infested or infected with plant pests. Nursery stock and growing
sites may be inspected by the DOA and certified as disease free.
Applications for inspection and testing of registered stock for certification
must be filed with the department by June 1.

Statute: 80-7-105, et seq. and 80-7-122, MCA

Rule: ARM 4.12.1405, et seq.

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Agricultural Sciences Division

2. Fees

A. For a firm, nursery, plant dealer, or small plant vendor with gross annual
sales of at least $1,000 but less than $5,000, the license fee is $25; for sales
of $5,000 or more, the license fee is $100.

B.  Annual plant inspection certificates are $50.

Statute: 80-7-106, MCA

Rule: ARM 4.12.1405, et seq.

3. Additional Information

The DOA may impose and administer quarantines to control injurious plant pests, plants
capable of spreading plant pests, noxious weeds, and other exotic plants.

Statute: 80-7-402, et seq., MCA (Montana Quarantine and Pest Management
Act)

Rule: ARM 4.12.1409 
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ORGANIC CERTIFICATION

1. Types of Activities Regulated

Certification is required for production and handling operations that are selling and/or
labeling products as organic in Montana.

Statute: 80-11-601, MCA
USDA NOP Title 7, Part 205, Code of Federal Regulations

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Agricultural Sciences Division

2. Application Requirements

A producer or handler applying for organic certification must submit a completed application
and organic system plan forms, along with applicable fees, to the Montana Department of
Agriculture (DOA). The applicant must also establish and maintain necessary records and
documentation of purchased materials, production or handling activities and product sales
and cooperate with an inspector to schedule an onsite inspection.

Once granted, certification continues in effect until surrendered by the certified operation
or suspended or revoked by the DOA. To continue certification, operations must annually
submit an application and other information in compliance with the National Organic
Program, pay certification fees and allow an onsite inspection.

Rule: ARM 4.17.105, et seq.
USDA NOP Title 7, Part 205, Code of Federal Regulations

3. Fees

Fees vary according to the size of the operation. A schedule of fees is available at ARM
4.17.106. 
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PESTICIDES

1. Types of Activities Regulated

Pesticide Registrations

A. The manufacturer, formulator, or distributor of a pesticide distributed, sold,
offered for sale within the state, delivered for transportation or transported in
intrastate commerce or between points within the state must register each
pesticide annually with the Montana Department of Agriculture (DOA).

Licenses

B. Licenses are required for commercial, noncommercial, public utility and
government pesticide applicators and the licenses must be renewed
annually. The DOA routinely inspects pesticide applicators for compliance
with pesticide labeling requirements and state and federal statutes and rules.

Employees of certified applicators under certain conditions of use for general
and restricted-use pesticides are required to obtain a pesticide operators
license. A wastewater discharge permit may be required for any person
applying pesticides into or over state surface water. Wastewater discharge
permits are regulated by the Montana Department of Environmental Quality
(DEQ) and the Montana Discharge Elimination System (MPDES) program.

Farm applicators planning to use a restricted-use pesticide must obtain a
special-use permit.

C. Pesticide dealers must be licensed annually. A separate dealer's license is
required for each location or outlet from which pesticides are distributed,
sold, held for sale or offered for sale. The department routinely inspects
pesticide dealers for compliance with pesticide labeling and state and federal
statutes.

Statute: 80-8-101, et seq., MCA (Montana Pesticides Act)
80-15-101, et seq., MCA (Montana Agricultural Chemical
Ground Water Protection Act) 

Rule: ARM 4.10.101, et seq., ARM 4.11.101, et seq. and ARM
17.30.1341

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Agricultural Sciences Division
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D. Aircraft Registration

An individual applying for a license to engage in aerial application of pesticides must
certify on the application that the individual had met all the Federal Aviation
Administration and Montana Department of Transportation requirements for aerial
pesticide applicators.

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF TRANSPORTATION
Aeronautics Division

2. Application Requirements

Pesticide Registrations

A. An applicant applying to register a pesticide must file a statement with the
DOA with identifying information about the applicant or the person whose
name and address will appear on the label. The statement must also include
detailed information about the pesticide, including a copy of the pesticide
label, the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency registration number if the
pesticide is registered, and a statement of claims made for the pesticide,
including the trade and chemical name and directions for use. The DOA may
also require a description of tests and the results upon which the claims are
based. Federally-exempt Federal Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act
(FIFRA) 25(b) minimal risk pesticides are also registered in Montana. The
state must accept for registration all federally registered products. However,
the state may restrict or prohibit the use or sale of a pesticide to prevent
damage or injury to persons, animals, crops, pollinating insects, the
environment, plants, wildlife, fish and other aquatic life. Registrations expire
on December 31.

Licenses

B. Licensing requirements for pesticide applicators vary according to the scope
and type of pesticide application, but generally include a completed
application form, an examination, recordkeeping, a statement of financial
responsibility, and the payment of fees. Licenses must be filed or renewed
before pesticide application occurs in any calendar year. Applicants may
maintain their qualifications in subsequent licensing years by attending
training courses or requalifying by examination.

To obtain a license as a pesticide operator, a completed application form and
an examination is required. Applicants must maintain their qualifications in
subsequent licensing years by attending training courses.
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Farm applicators using a restricted-use pesticide qualify for their first permit
by completing the application form, paying the fee,  passing a graded written
examination, or attending a training course approved by the Montana State
University Pesticide Safety Education coordinator and taking a quiz at the
conclusion of the course. They must also maintain their qualifications by
periodically attending training courses or requalifying by examination. Farm
applicators must file for a new special-use permit and attend an approved
training program every five years. 

C. An applicant for a dealer's license must certify by examination with the DOA
and annually submit a completed application form with payment of fees.
Dealers are required to maintain their qualifications in subsequent licensing
years by attending training courses or requalifying by examination.

Aircraft Registration

D. Individuals applying for a license for aerial application of pesticides must
certify on the application that they have met all the Federal Aviation
Administration, the Montana Department of Transportation, and the DOA
requirements for aerial pesticide applicators.

Statute: 80-8-201, 80-8-203 through 80-8-209, 80-8-211, and 80-15-302, MCA

Rule: ARM 4.10.201-4.10.209, 4.10.401, 4.10.403-4.10.404, and 4.10.501-
4.10.504

3. Permitting Procedures

A. Pesticide Registration

1) The Departments of Public Health and Human Services (DPHHS);
Agriculture; and Fish, Wildlife and Parks (FWP) must review all applications
for registration of an experimental-use permit or registration of a pesticide for
special local needs. The departments utilize the same requirements and
standards for reviewing registrations as established by the federal
Insecticide, Fungicide, and Rodenticide Act.

2) The DPHHS and FWP must approve or disapprove applications within 10
days after receipt.

3) If the DOA, the Department of Public Health and Human Services, and the
Department of Fish, Wildlife, and Parks are in agreement with the proposed
registration, the department shall issue the registration.
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Statute: 80-8-201(8), MCA

B. Licenses

Persons applying for an applicator, operator or dealer license must complete a
license application on forms provided by the DOA. If the application is not complete
or the qualifications for the license are not met, the department will return the
application along with a notice of the deficiencies and the procedure for correcting
the deficiencies. Licenses will not be issued until the application, fees and all
examination or requalification requirements are completed and approved. 

4. Fees

Pesticide Registration

A. The fee for each registered pesticide is $90 annually plus an additional $95
to fund the ground water protection responsibilities of the DOA. If the
application is for emergency exemptions requested by the state, a special
local-need registration or an experimental-use permit registration, the fee is
$90.

Licenses

B. The annual fee for a commercial applicator's license is $55 ($45 plus a $10
fee to fund the state's waste pesticide and disposal program). The late
renewal fee is $25.

The annual fee for commercial pesticide operators is $25 each for the first
two operators and $10 for each additional operator.

The annual fee for a government applicator's license is $50 for each of the
first four employees and an additional $10 fee to fund the state's waste
pesticide and disposal program. For each additional employee applicator
there is a $5 fee, and an additional $10 waste pesticide disposal program
fee, with a fee cap of $600 for an agency.

The fee for a farm applicator special-use permit is $50 for a five year permit.

C. The annual application fee for a commercial dealer's license is $55 ($45 plus
a $10 fee to fund the state's waste pesticide and disposal program) and $25
for a late renewal. The annual fee for a government dealer's license is $60.
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Statute: 80-8-201, 80-8-203, 80-8-205, 80-8-207, 80-8-209, 80-8-213,
and 80-15-302(1), MCA

Rule: ARM 4.10.206(4) 

5. Criteria for Registration of Pesticides

If it does not appear to the DOA that the pesticide warrants the proposed claims for the
pesticide or if the article and its labeling do not comply with the Montana Pesticides Act, the
department must notify the applicant to allow them an opportunity to make the necessary
corrections. If the applicant does not make the corrections, the DOA may refuse to register
the pesticide. The department's decision may be appealed.

Statute: 80-8-201(6), MCA

6. Disposal

Empty containers must be safely disposed of according to label instructions. Most empty
pesticide containers must be triple rinsed, punctured and recycled or disposed of in a
landfill.

Participants in the DOA's voluntary pesticide disposal program are not charged for the first
200 pounds of acceptable pesticides. The fee is 50 cents per pound for amounts greater
than 200 pounds. Information about pesticide collection events is available at
http://agr.mt.gov/agr/Programs/Pesticides/Environmental/Disposal/.

Statute: 80-8-111, MCA

Rule: ARM 4.10.1801, et seq.

7. Public Notice

The owner or manager of a public building must post a notice at the entryway to a building
or room where certain pesticides have been applied that tells the name of the pesticide and
a number to call for more information. 

Statute: 80-8-107, MCA
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8. Pesticide General Permit

To protect the state's water quality, a pesticide general permit is required for a person or
entity who applies pesticides into or over state surface water. To receive a permit, the
owner or operator must submit a Notice of Intent (NOI) and a Supplement E form to the
Montana Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ). The NOI is a legal notification by the
owner or operator to the DEQ that they will comply with the terms of the pesticide general
permit. A Section E supplement must be completed for each county to which pesticides will
be applied. For general information on discharge permits, see WATER QUALITY
PERMITTING, p. 205.

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Permitting and Compliance Division
Water Protection Bureau

Rule: ARM 17.30.201 and 17.30.1341 

PLANT EXPORT

1. Types of Activities Regulated

The Montana Department of Agriculture (DOA) assists plant and plant product exporters
in meeting the phytosanitary standards of importing states and countries by certifying that
plants and plant products are free of pests. Applications for certification are available online
through the USDA Phytosanitary Certificate Issuance & Tracking System (PCIT)
http://pcit.aphis.usda.gov/pcit/.

Authority: Memorandum of Understanding with the U.S. Department of
Agriculture
Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service
Plant Protection and Quarantine

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE
Agricultural Sciences Division

2. Application Requirements

Exporters should contact the DOA before a commodity is ready for shipping to determine
what the phytosanitary requirements are for the intended destination. Field inspections
during the growing season, laboratory tests, soil analysis, and the completion of other
testing requirements may be necessary before export certifications can be completed.
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3. Fees

Phytosanitary certificates are either $105, $160, or $180, based on the value of the
shipment.


