MINING

COAL AND URANIUM MINING: OPERATING PERMITS
1. Types of Activities Regulated

A permit is required from the Montana Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) prior
to initiating strip or underground mining operations. Mined lands must be reclaimed and
revegetated. See also WATER QUALITY PERMITTING, p. 206 and AIR QUALITY
PERMITS, p. 35.

The Employment Relations Division of the Montana Department of Labor and Industry
enforces mine safety regulations. The division's Safety and Health Bureau works with the
mine operator and mining contractors to ensure worker safety.

Statute: 82-4-201, et seq., MCA (Strip and Underground Mine Reclamation
Act), and
50-73-101, et seq., MCA (Montana Coal Mining Code for mine safety)

Rule: ARM 17.24.301-17.24.1309 and 24.30.1302

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Permitting and Compliance Division
Industrial and Energy Minerals Bureau

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY
Employment Relations Division
Safety and Health Bureau

2. Application Requirements
A. Permit

An applicant for a coal or uranium mine operating permit must submit a
complete and detailed plan for the mining, reclamation, revegetation, and
rehabilitation of the resources that may be affected by the proposed
operations. The application mustinclude information on the climate, geology,
hydrology, neighboring surface and ground waters, and vegetation, etc., and
two copies of all maps that meet the requirements outlined in statute. An
applicant for a coal mining permit must also submit a certificate issued by an
insurance company authorized to do business in Montana certifying that the
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applicant has a public liability insurance policy for the strip or underground
mining and reclamation operations described in the permit application.

Prior to the issuance of a permit, the operator must file a bond payable to the
state of Montana with the DEQ in a sum to be determined by the department
of not less than $200 for each acre of the land affected, with a minimum bond
of $10,000. If federal coal is involved, the bond must also be made payable
to the U.S. Department of Interior, Office of Surface Mining Reclamation and
Enforcement. Permits may be renewed on each five-year permit anniversary
by applying for a renewal. In order to renew a permit, the operator must be
in compliance with the permit requirements.

Reclamation Plan

The reclamation plan for a coal or uranium mine must describe in detail how
the applicant will comply with provisions regarding grading, backfilling,
highwall reduction, subsidence stabilization, water control, topsoiling,
reclamation and coal conservation, and measures that will be taken to
eliminate damage to public and private lands from soil erosion, subsidence,
landslides, water pollution, and hazards. In addition, the plan must list the
steps that will be taken to comply with applicable air and water quality laws
and rules and any applicable health and safety standards. Provisions also
must be made for the protection and/or reclamation of alluvial valley floors
and prime farmlands.

Statute: 82-4-221, 82-4-222, 82-4-227, and 82-4-231, MCA

Rule:

ARM 17.24.302-17.24.327

Permitting Procedures

1)

An application is required for a permit or a major revision or amendment of
a permit or reclamation plan. The DEQ reviews the application materials and
determines if the application is administratively complete. Once the
department makes its determination, it sends written notice to the applicant
and if an Environmental Impact Statement is required (see MONTANA
ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY ACT, p. 131), it will also send notice of this
determination at this time.

The applicant must publish a notice in an area newspaper and the DEQ must
notify various local governments, planning agencies, sewage and water
treatment authorities, and water companies in the area of the proposed mine.
Any person having an interest that is or may be adversely affected or an
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4.

2)

3)

4)

officer of a federal, state, or local government agency may file written
objections to the application within 30 days of the last publication of the
applicant's public notice or receipt of the DEQ’s notice. If written objections
are filed and an objector requests an informal conference, the DEQ must
hold the conference in the area of the proposed mining and publish a public
notice of the informal conference. The DEQ may proceed with the application
review while the written objections and conference findings are assessed.

The DEQ must notify the applicant in writing within 120 days after receipt of
the complete application whether the plan is acceptable. If the plan is not
acceptable, the DEQ must indicate its reasons. The applicant may then
revise the application. The DEQ then has another 120 days to make its
decision concerning the acceptability of the application.

An acceptable application triggers public notice by the DEQ of the
acceptability of the proposal. Again, any person having an interest that is or
may be adversely affected by the department's decision may file written
objections and/or request an informal conference. The informal conference
must be held within 20 days of the request. The DEQ must issue its decision
within 10 days of the conference.

An applicant, permittee, or person with an interest that is or may be adversely
affected by the approval or denial of an application for a permit, a revision,
or amendment of a permit or reclamation plan or a permit transfer or renewal
may request a hearing before the Board of Environmental Review by
submitting a written request within 30 days of the decision. The contested
case provisions of the Montana Administrative Procedure Act apply (see
MAPA, p. 130).

Statute: 82-4-206, 82-4-225, and 82-4-231, MCA

Rule:

ARM 17.24.401-17.24.404

Criteria

The permit for a coal or uranium mining operation may be denied for a number of reasons,
including, but not limited to, an inadequate reclamation plan, adverse reclamation
possibilities, exceptional topographic or scientific characteristics or cultural resources,
historic or geologic importance, critical biological productivity or ecological fragility, the
threat of a public hazard, or designation of the land as unsuitable for mining.
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Statute: 82-4-227 and 82-4-228, MCA

Rule: ARM 17.24.1131-17.24.1148

COAL AND URANIUM MINING: PROSPECTING PERMITS
1. Types of Activities Regulated

A person interested in prospecting for coal or uranium must obtain a prospecting permit
from the Montana Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) if the land is not already
included in a current operating permit (see p. 106) and if the prospecting is conducted to
determine the location, quality, or quantity of mineral deposits. A reclamation plan and bond
must be submitted. The permit is valid for one year and may be renewed.

A prospecting permit is not required for an operation that is conducted for the purpose of
gathering environmental data to evaluate the conditions of an area before beginning strip
or underground mining or conducted to determine drill hole locations and access routes
prior to submittal of an application to prospect to determine the location, quality, and
guantity of a mineral reserve provided the area to be disturbed is not one designated as
unsuitable for coal mining (see 4. Criteria. p. 111). However, a notice of intent must be filed
that meets the requirements in ARM 17.24.1018.

Statute: 82-4-226, et seq., MCA (Strip and Underground Mine Reclamation
Act)
Rule: ARM 17.24.1001-17.24.1018

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Permitting and Compliance Division
Industrial and Energy Minerals Bureau

2. Application Requirements

The application for a prospecting permit must be made in writing, notarized, and submitted
to the DEQ on forms provided by the department. The application form and permitting
requirements vary according to the size and nature of the coal prospecting operation (see
below) but will include a detailed prospecting map, a description of the proposed method
of prospecting, the type of equipment to be used, and a reclamation plan.

A short form application is available for coal prospecting that does not remove more than
250 tons of coal and that does not substantially disturb the natural land surface (defined
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in ARM 17.24.301(121)). The information required for a short form application is described
in 82-4-226(8), MCA. A long form application is required for prospecting conducted to
determine the location, quality, or quantity of a uranium deposit or for coal prospecting that
would substantially disturb the natural land surface. The information required for a long
form application is outlined in ARM 17.24.1001.

3. Permitting Procedures

1) Short Form Applications: Within 10 working days of receipt of the application,
the DEQ must notify the applicant in writing whether the application is
complete and preliminarily acceptable. If the application is incomplete, the
DEQ will provide information to the applicant on how to complete the
application requirements. Within five working days of receipt of an applicant's
response to the identified deficiencies, the DEQ reviews the response and
determines if the application is complete and preliminarily acceptable. On
receipt of the department's determination of preliminary acceptability, the
applicant must advertise the public notice once in a newspaper of general
circulation in the locality of the proposed prospecting. A 10 day public
comment period follows the advertisement of the public notice. Within five
working days following the end of the public comment period, the DEQ must
notify the applicant as to whether the application is acceptable. If public
comments are received, the department has 10 days to make this
determination.

Long Form Applications: There are no established review timelines for long
form applications, however, as a general guideline, the timelines for mine
operating permit application review are used. All operations that are
permitted under the long form must be conducted in compliance with ARM
17.24.1002 through 17.24.1013.

2) Prior to obtaining a prospecting permit, the applicant must file a reclamation
bond with the DEQ based on the estimated cost of the required reclamation
and restoration work as determined by department guidelines. The bond may
be no less than $200 per acre with a minimum bond of $10,000.

3) At least 15 days prior to the permit's anniversary date, the operator may
submit an application for a permit renewal stating the number of holes
permitted and drilled, listing surface disturbances, and supplying an updated
map.

4) An applicant, permittee, or person with an interest thatis or may be adversely
affected by the approval or denial of an application for a permit may request
a hearing before the Board of Environmental Review by submitting a written
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request within 30 days of the decision. The contested case provisions of the
Montana Administrative Procedure Act apply (see MAPA, p. 130).

Statute: 82-4-206 and 82-4-226, MCA
Rule: ARM 17.24.1001, 17.24.1003, 17.24.1016, and 17.24.1102
4. Criteria

The permit for prospecting for coal and uranium may be denied for a number of reasons,
including, but not limited to, adverse reclamation possibilities, exceptional topographic or
scientific characteristics or cultural resources, historic or geologic importance, critical
biological productivity or ecological fragility, the threat of a public hazard, or designation of
the land as unsuitable for mining.

Statute: 82-4-227 and 82-4-228, MCA

Rule: ARM 17.24.1131-17.24.1148

COAL MINING: IN SITU COAL GASIFICATION
1. Types of Activities Regulated

The Montana Legislature authorized the Montana Board of Environmental Review to
establish rules to regulate underground mining using in situ coal gasification. In situ coal
gasification is the use of a conduit or well to inject or recover a liquid, solid, sludge, or gas
that causes the leaching, dissolution, gasification, liquefaction, or extraction of the coal.

Statute: 75-5-103(29), 82-4-203(27), and 82-4-203(44), MCA
Contactt ~ DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

Permitting and Compliance Division
Industrial and Energy Minerals Bureau
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HARD-ROCK MINING: EXPLORATION
1. Types of Activities Regulated

A state exploration license is required from the Montana Department of Environmental
Quality to conduct mineral exploration activities for ores and rock or rock products that
result in a material disturbance of the land surface for the purpose of determining the
presence, location, extent, depth, grade, and economic viability of mineralization (82-4-
303(7), MCA). An exploration license is a statewide license and only one is issued per
individual or company. Any additional projects are considered amendments to the license
and each must be individually approved and bonded. A bulk sample of up to 10,000 short
tons of material may be taken at each project for metallurgical testing.

Following exploration, an Operating Permit (see HARD-ROCK MINING: OPERATING
PERMITS, p. 113) must be obtained for production mining. Exploration and mining for oll,
gas, bentonite, clay, coal, sand, gravel, peat, soil, or uranium are regulated under other
statutes.

Statute: 82-4-331, et seq., MCA
Rule: ARM 17.24.101, et seq.

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Permitting and Compliance Division
Environmental Management Bureau

2. Application Requirements

To obtain an exploration license, the applicant must propose a specific project to the DEQ.
The department has available a sample plan of operations that shows the level of
information required. The DEQ also accepts copies of U.S. Forest Service or U.S.
Department of the Interior, Bureau of Land Management operating plans as long as an
adequate map is provided. Once the DEQ receives and reviews an exploration plan, an on-
site visitis scheduled among the DEQ), the applicant, and usually, a representative from the
appropriate federal agency, to calculate the amount of reclamation bond required for the
project. Joint bonds with the DEQ and the federal agency are accepted to avoid duplicate
bonding. The applicant must agree to post the bond, reclaim any damaged land, and not
be in default of any other reclamation law.

Statute: 82-4-331 and 82-4-332, MCA

Rule: ARM 17.24.103-17.24.104
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3. Permitting Procedures

On approval of the exploration plan by the DEQ and after the bond is submitted, the
applicant will receive a hard-rock exploration license. The operator cannot legally begin
explorations, however, until approval by any other state or federal agency, if applicable, is
also granted. The license is renewable annually by filing an annual report and payment of
the renewal fee.

Rule: ARM 17.24.103

4, Fees

The application fee for an exploration license is $100 and the yearly renewal fee is $25.

Statute:

82-4-332, MCA

HARD-ROCK MINING: OPERATING PERMITS

1. Permit Categories and Activities Regulated

Large Scale Operations—
an operating permit is
required for:

Small Mine Operations— a
Small Miner Exclusion
Statement (SMES) may be
filed to exclude an
operation from the
requirement to obtain an
operating permit if:*

Recreational Miners—are
not regulated by the state
provided the miner:

m |and disturbance in
anticipation of mining
activities

®  mining ore, some
industrial minerals, and rock
products

B Ore processing

m  Ore reprocessing

m  mill construction

In addition:
®  Annual reports and fees
are required.

m  The operation leaves no
more than five acres
disturbed and unreclaimed at
any one time or has two
operations that leave no more
than five acres disturbed and
unreclaimed at one time and
that are at least one mile
apart. There is no limit on
total disturbed and reclaimed
acreage over time.

m  The small miner does not
hold an operating permit that
exceeds 100 acres.

m  does not use motorized
excavation equipment

m  does not use blasting
agents

m  does not disturb more
than 100 ft? or 50 yd? of
material at any site

m  does not leave
unreclaimed sites that are
less than one mile apart

m  does not use mercury

m  does not use cyanide or
other metal leaching solvents
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Large Scale Operations—
an operating permit is
required for:

Small Mine Operations— a
Small Miner Exclusion
Statement (SMES) may be
filed to exclude an
operation from the
requirement to obtain an
operating permit if:*

Recreational Miners—are
not regulated by the state
provided the miner:

m A reclamation bond and
a reclamation plan must be
submitted and the DEQ
conducts annual or more
frequent inspections for
compliance with the
reclamation plan.

®  Community impact plans
are required (see 6.
Additional information).

See also AIR QUALITY
PERMITS, p. 35, WATER
APPROPRIATIONS, p. 196,
and WATER QUALITY
PERMITTING, p. 206.

* An operating permit is
required for that portion of an
SMES operation that uses
cyanide or other metal
leaching agents.

In addition:

®  the DEQ has the authority
to require a maximum
$10,000 reclamation bond on
placer and dredge mines and
to recover costs over the
$10,000 limit by filing for the
additional amount in District
Court, and

B an operator must post a
performance bond and obtain
approval for the design,
construction, operation, and
reclamation of any hard rock
tailings impoundment.

A statewide permit is
available for suction dredges
with an intake of 4" or less. A
one-time application fee of
$25 for Montana residents
and $100 for nonresidents is
required. An annual fee of
$25 for Montana residents
and $100 for nonresidents is
also required at the time of
application and each year the
permit is renewed. A person
using a suction dredge must
obtain a discharge permit
from the DEQ (see MPDES
Permits, p. 208) and a 310
permit from the county
Conservation District (see
STREAM BEDS - STREAM
BANKS - WETLANDS,

p. 10).

Statute:

Rule:

Contact:

82-4-301, et seq., MCA

ARM 17.24.101, et seq.

Permitting and Compliance Division
Environmental Management Bureau

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY

The Employment Relations Division of the Montana Department of Labor and Industry
enforces mine safety regulations. The division's Safety and Health Bureau works with the
mine operator and mining contractors to ensure worker safety.
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Statute: 50-72-101, et seq., MCA

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY
Employment Relations Division
Safety and Health Bureau

Application Requirements

A.

Operating Permit

An applicant for an operating permit must submit an application for each
mine complex, with the exception of mines for rock products at multiple sites
which, under certain conditions, may be authorized under one permit. The
application consists of several parts: a description of the present condition of
the area, i.e., hydrology, soils, vegetation, cultural resources, wildlife, etc; an
operating plan describing the type and size of the operation, equipment, etc;
reclamation plans, stating the reclamation objectives and how they will be
implemented; monitoring plans; contingency plans; and closure plans,
including water treatment, if necessary.

For mines starting operations after November 3, 1998, open pit mining for
gold or silver using heap leaching or vat leaching with cyanide ore-processing
reagents is prohibited.

Statute: 82-4-335 through 82-4-338, MCA

Rule: ARM 17.24.116

Small Mine Operations

The small mine operator must sign a Small Miner Exclusion Statement
(SMES), available at the DEQ, which consists of a signed and notarized
affidavit stating that the applicant will stay within the requirements or
conditions of the exclusion. The applicant must submit a one page plan of
operation and a map locating the mine site. Placer mines are bonded for
reclamation up to $10,000. An annual report and renewal are required to
maintain SMES status.
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3. Permitting Procedures

Operating Permit

1)

2)

3)

4)

5)

6)

7)

Once a plan is submitted, the DEQ has 90 days for an initial review and 30
days for any subsequent review of the application to determine if it is
complete and compliant with the requirements of the Metal Mine Reclamation
Act (MMRA) and associated rules.

If incomplete, the applicant is mailed a deficiency or completeness review
letter on or before the review deadline. The letter alerts the applicant to
additional resource or plan information required by the department. If it is a
joint state/federal action (if permits are required by both the DEQ and the
U.S. Forest Service or U.S. Department of the Interior, Bureau of Land
Management), a joint deficiency letter is sent that includes comments from
both the state and federal agencies. During the application process, the DEQ
inspects the proposed site. If the site is not accessible because of extended
adverse weather conditions, the DEQ may extend the review period by a
term agreed to by the applicant.

There are no constraints on the amount of time an applicant has to prepare
a response. Once a response is submitted, the DEQ again has 30 days to
review the information. This process continues until the application is
complete and compliant.

Once the application is deemed complete and compliant, the DEQ will
declare in writing that it is complete and compliant, detail the substantive
requirements of the MMRA and how the application complies with those
requirements, and issue a draft permit.

Issuance of the draft permit as a final permit is the state action subject to
review under the Montana Environmental Policy Act (see p. 131).

The DEQ will calculate the amount of the reclamation bond required for the
project and notify the applicant. The final permit will be issued after
completion of the MEPA review or when one year has elapsed from the
issuance of the draft permit, the reclamation bond has been received, and
the DEQ has determined that the final permit meets the substantive
requirements of the MMRA.

The DEQ can place stipulations in a draft or final permit, either with the
consent of the applicant or by providing the applicant in writing the reason for
the stipulation and a citation to the statute or rule that gives the DEQ the
authority to impose the stipulation. For a stipulation in the final permit that
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was not contained in the draft permit, the DEQ has to state the reason the
stipulation was not contained in the draft permit (82-4-337(2)(b), MCA).

8) Legal actions challenging the DEQ’s decision to grant or deny a permit have
to be filed within 90 days after the decision is made (82-4-349(1), MCA). The
applicant for an operating permit may request an administrative hearing on
a denial of an application by submitting a written request for a hearing before
the Board of Environmental Review within 30 days of the denial (82-4-353(2),
MCA). For hearings before the board, the contested case provisions of the
Montana Administrative Procedure Act apply (see MAPA, p. 130).

9) The final operating permit must provide that the reclamation plan may be
modified by the DEQ, upon proper application of the permittee or after timely
notice and opportunity for hearing, at any time during the term of the permit
and for any of the following reasons: to modify the requirements so that they
will not conflict with existing laws; when the previously adopted reclamation
plan is impossible or impracticable to implement and maintain; or when
significant environmental problem situations not permitted under the terms
of regulatory permits held by the permittee are revealed by field inspection
and the DEQ has the authority to address them under the MMRA (82-4-
337(4), MCA).

10) The DEQ may also require the operator to submit an amended reclamation
plan and post a temporary bond to guarantee the amended plan if it
determines, based on unanticipated circumstances that are discovered
following the issuance of a permit, that there is a substantial and imminent
danger to public health, public safety, or the environment (82-4-338(7),
MCA).

Statute: 82-4-337, 82-4-338, 82-4-349, and 82-4-353, MCA

4, Fees

The application fee for a hard-rock mining permit is $500. The fee for filing the annual
report is $100.

Statute: 82-4-335, MCA

Rule: ARM 17.24.116 and 17.24.118
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5. Criteria

An operating permit may be denied if the plan of development—mining or
reclamation—conflicts with the Montana Clean Air Act (75-2-101, et seq., MCA, p. 35), the
Montana Water Quality Act (75-5-101, et seq., MCA, p. 206), the Public Water Supply Act
(75-6-101, et seq., MCA, p. 190), or if the reclamation plan is insufficient to accomplish the
proposed reclamation.

Additional criteria apply if the applicant has outstanding enforcement or reclamation
responsibilities.

Statute: 82-4-351, MCA

6. Additional Information

Large Scale Developments

1) When a proposed mining project will employ more than 75 people in a
consecutive six-month period in the construction or operation of a mine or
associated milling facilities, the applicant must submit an economic impact
plan to the affected counties and to the Hard-Rock Mining Impact Board. The
plan must include development timetables, work-force and population
inmigration projections, and the increased local government service and
facility needs, costs, and revenues expected to result from the development.
The developer must commit to pay to the affected local governments the
increased costs identified in the approved plan, and if requested, must
provide financial or other assistance to help local governments prepare for
and evaluate the impact plan.

2) After the plan is submitted for review, the affected governing bodies have 90
days to submit objections to the Impact Board. If objections cannot be
resolved by the developer and local governments, the Impact Board will hold
a contested case hearing. Impact plan review is conducted concurrently with
the DEQ mine operating permit review.

3) Within 30 days after receipt of the approved plan, the developer must provide
to the Board and the DEQ a written guarantee that it will make all payments
according to the plan schedule. If the plan requires prepayment of taxes, the
developer must also provide a third-party financial guarantee acceptable to
the Board. Compliance with the terms of an approved impact plan is a
statutory condition of the DEQ's operating permit.
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4) Under certain circumstances, as specified by statute or by the plan itself, the
developer or an affected county may petition the Board for an amendment to
the impact plan. Jointly, they may petition for an amendment at any time.

Statute: 15-37-111, 82-4-335, 82-4-339, and 90-6-301, et seq., MCA

Rule: ARM 8.104.201, et seq.

Contact: BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

DEPARTMENT OF COMMERCE

Community Development Division

Hard-Rock Mining Impact Board
LANDOWNER NOTIFICATION
1. Types of Activities Regulated
When surface and mineral rights are in separate ownership, the surface owner must be
notified and give approval in writing of the proposed operations before any prospecting,
exploration, or development of subsurface minerals may take place.

Statute: 82-2-301, et seq., MCA (Landowner Notification Act)

Contact: SURFACE OWNER

MINING RIGHT-OF-WAY

1. Types of Activities Regulated

The owner of mining rights may establish a right-of-way over adjacent lands if necessary
to work the claim. The right-of-way may be for roads, ditches, flumes, and other mine-
related purposes. Application is made to the District Court.

Statute: 82-2-201, et seq., MCA

Contact: DISTRICT COURT



120 MINING

2. Permitting Procedures

1) If the mine owner cannot obtain the agreement of adjacent landowners for
right-of-way, the mine owner may file a complaint in District Court requesting
that a right-of-way be created.

2) After receipt of the complaint, the district judge must issue a summons to the
parties requiring appearance before the court. The court appearance must
be 10 or more days from the date of service of the summons.

3) If the judge determines that the right-of-way is warranted, the judge must
award the mine owner the right-of-way and establish a commission of three
persons to assess damages to the lands used as right-of-way.

4) Use of right-of-way can only begin upon payment of the assessed damages.

Statute: 82-2-203 through 82-2-208, MCA

3. Additional Information

Any party may appeal the commissioners' assessment of damages to the District Court
within 10 days after the report is filed.

Statute: 82-2-209 through 82-2-212, MCA

OPENCUT MINING
1. Types of Activities Regulated

The Opencut Mining Act and the related regulations apply to the mining of bentonite, clay,
scoria, peat, soil, sand, or gravel. An operator may not remove over 10,000 cubic yards of
material and overburden until the Montana Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) has
issued a permit for the mining and reclamation of affected lands. An operator conducting
a number of opencut operations, each of which results in the removal of less than 10,000
cubic yards of materials and overburden but that result in the removal of 10,000 cubic yards
or more of materials and overburden in the aggregate, must obtain an opencut mine
permit(s), except as follows. Exemptions may be available for operators currently holding
a reclamation permit if the new operations will result in the removal of 5,000 cubic yards
or less of material and overburden and the total area of excavation does not exceed five
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acres. There are specific requirements for this exemption, however, and a completed form
provided by the DEQ must be submitted.

The Employment Relations Division of the Montana Department of Labor and Industry
enforces mine safety regulations. The division's Safety and Health Bureau works with the
mine operator and mining contractors to ensure worker safety.

All opencut sand and gravel operations must comply with applicable zoning regulations.

An air quality permit (see AIR QUALITY PERMITS, p. 35) from the DEQ is required for the
operation of any mineral crushing or other processing plant.

Statute: 82-4-401, et seq., MCA (Opencut Mining Act)
50-72-101, et seq., MCA (mine safety)

Rule: ARM 17.24.201, et seq.

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY
Permitting and Compliance Division
Industrial and Energy Minerals Bureau

DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY
Employment Relations Division
Safety and Health Bureau

2. Application Requirements

An operator must submit an application for a mining permit on a form furnished by the
DEQ. A bond calculated by the DEQ as the cost to the department of reclaiming the
affected land, a zoning compliance form, plans of the intended operations, and other details
of the mine operation are also required. Government agencies are exempt from the bond
requirement.

Statute: 82-4-432 through 82-4-434, MCA
Rule: ARM 17.24.203-17.24.223
3. Permitting Procedures

1) The application materials (application/permit forms, bond, map(s), plan of
operation, names of surface landowners within one-half mile of the proposed
permit boundary using the most current known owners of record, etc.) are
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2)

3)

4)

5)

6)

7)

initially reviewed for completeness to ensure that each required item has
been submitted.

The DEQ has five working days to notify the applicant whether the application
is complete. If the application is not complete, the department must list the
information necessary to make the application complete. This process
continues for subsequent incompleteness responses until the application is
complete.

An on-site evaluation is conducted, as necessary, to determine if the land
has the capacity to be mined and reclaimed and to make sure site conditions
are as specified in the application. The site inspection may be conducted with
the applicant and other interested persons.

Within 15 days after the DEQ notifies the applicant that the application is
complete, the applicant must publish public notice of its proposed operation
and how to request a public meeting in a relevant newspaper, send the
notice to the above-identified surface landowners and to the county
commissioners of the affected county, and post the notice at the proposed
mine site.

The DEQ must accept requests for a public meeting for 45 days after the
department sends notice to the applicant of a complete application. A public
meeting must be held if a certain percentage or number of surface
landowners request a meeting.

Within the 45-day period above and unless a public meeting is required, the
DEQ must notify the applicant whether the application is acceptable, and if
not, include a detailed list of all deficiencies. An application is acceptable if
it contains all of the information required by the law and applicable rules. If
the DEQ and the applicant determine that a public meeting will not be
required, the DEQ must issue the acceptability notification to the applicant
within 30 days of the notice of a complete application. See also MONTANA
ENVIRONMENTAL POLICY ACT, p. 131.

If a public meeting is required, within 30 days of the closing of the public
meeting request period (a total of 75 days from the notice of completeness
of the application), the DEQ must issue the notice of acceptability to the
applicant, or notify the applicant whether an extended review, as a result of
the public meeting, will be required. For applications requiring an extended
review, the DEQ must, within 60 days from the date the department
determines the application warrants an extended review, issue the notice of
acceptability to the applicant; the DEQ may, for sufficient cause, extend this
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review period an additional 30 days if it provides prior notification to the
applicant.

The DEQ has 10 working days to review deficiency responses and notify the
applicant whether or not the application is acceptable. This process continues
for subsequent deficiency responses. For applications requiring an extended
review (see item 6) above), the DEQ has 30 days to review deficiency
responses and notify the applicant whether or not the application is
acceptable; the DEQ may, for sufficient cause, extend this review period an
additional 30 days if it provides prior notification to the applicant.

An applicant, permittee, or person with an interest that is or may be adversely
affected by the approval or denial of an application for a permit may request
a hearing before the Board of Environmental Review by submitting a written
request stating the reasons for the appeal within 30 days of the decision. The
contested case provisions of the Montana Administrative Procedure Act
apply (see MAPA, p. 130).

Statute: 82-4-427 and 82-4-432, MCA

Rule:

ARM 17.24.212

4, Criteria

The DEQ will issue a permit only if the bond, reclamation plan, and other requirements of
Title 82, chapter 4, part 4 are fulfilled. The reclamation plan must ensure that the applicant
will establish a productive post-mining land use, will appropriately protect ground and
surface water, and will properly bury waste, etc.

Statute: 82-4-432 through 82-4-434, MCA

Rule:

ARM 17.24.203-17.24.223

OPERATIONS ON STATE LANDS: COAL MINING

1. Types of Activities Regulated

Coal mining leases on state lands are awarded by competitive bidding at no less than fair
market value. The primary lease term is 10 years and may be extended if coal continues
to be produced in commercial quantities and the terms of the lease have been met. Rent
and royalties are required. Corporations not incorporated in Montana must obtain a



124 MINING

certificate of authority from the Montana Secretary of State. See also WATER QUALITY
PERMITTING, p. 206.

Statute: 77-3-301, et seq., MCA
Rule: ARM 36.25.301, et seq.

Contact: DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND CONSERVATION
Trust Land Management Division
Minerals Management Bureau

2. Application Requirements

Applications are made on a form furnished by the Montana Department of Natural
Resources and Conservation (DNRC). The application must include an adequate and
sufficient description of the proposed tracts. All leases must comply with the requirements
of the Strip and Underground Mine Reclamation Act, (82-4-201, et seq., MCA, pp. 106-
111). Mining operations must be as systematic as possible to prevent the waste of coal and
to facilitate subsequent operations.

Statute: 77-3-306, MCA
Rule: ARM 36.25.304
3. Permitting Procedures

1) When a sufficient number of applications for leases have been received, or
atthe director's discretion, a lease sale will be announced through publication
in a trade journal of general circulation in the coal mining industry or in
Montana's major newspapers for four weeks preceding the sale.

2) A lease may not be issued until the coal resources and the surface of the
tract have been evaluated or competitively bid by the Montana Board of Land
Commissioners to determine the lease's value.

3) Sales of state coal leases are through competitive bidding. The DNRC may
require a bid deposit in any amount it may determine, up to 10 percent of the
appraised value of the coal offered for lease.
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4) If no competitive bids are offered, the Board may enter into a lease that is at
least at the fair market value as determined by an appraisal.

Statute: 77-3-312, MCA
Rule: ARM 36.25.304
4, Fees

A fee of $50 is required for a lease application. Rent on a state coal lease cannot be less
than $2 per acre. The DNRC may authorize the bonus bid to be amortized for a period of
up to five years. The lessee must pay a cash royalty on all coal produced from the leased
premises at a rate of not less than 10 percent of the coal's value.

Statute: 77-3-316, MCA

Rule: ARM 36.2.1003, 36.25.309, 36.25.310, and 36.25.321

OPERATIONS ON STATE LANDS: METALLIFEROUS MINERALS AND GEMS
1. Types of Activities Regulated

The Board of Land Commissioners leases state lands for the purpose of mining for
metalliferous minerals (gold, silver, lead, zinc, copper, platinum, iron, and all other metallic
minerals) and gems (sapphires, rubies, and other precious or semiprecious stones).
Royalties must be at least five percent of the full market value of the metalliferous minerals
recovered under the lease. The primary lease term is 10 years and may be extended if
minerals continue to be produced in commercial quantities and the terms of the lease have
been met.

Statute: 77-3-101, et seq., MCA
Rule: ARM 36.25.601
Contact: DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND CONSERVATION

Trust Land Management Division
Minerals Management Bureau
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2. Application Requirements

Applications are made on a form furnished by the Montana Department of Natural
Resources and Conservation (DNRC). The application must include an adequate and
sufficient description of the proposed tracts.

Statute: 77-3-111, MCA

Rule: ARM 36.25.604

3. Permitting Procedures

1) Leases may be issued on a first-come, first-served basis or by competitive
bid.

2) When the DNRC receives an application for a lease, it may advertise for
written bids on the tract of land for a reasonable time in trade journals and/or
the official county newspaper of the county where the tract is located.

3) If bids are accepted, the tract will be leased to the highest bidder unless the
Montana Board of Land Commissioners determines that the bid is not in the
state's best interest.

4) A lease may not be issued until the mineral resources and the surface of the
tract have been evaluated by the Board to determine the lease's value. The
DNRC may require the applicant to pay up to $500 for the evaluation.

5) The lease will contain provisions for prospecting and mining, royalties, etc.
The Board also may require payment of a bond.

Statute: 77-3-111 through 77-3-112 and 77-3-119 through 77-3-121, MCA
Rule: ARM 36.25.602, et seq.
4. Fees

Afee of $50is required for a lease application. Rent on a state metalliferous and gem lease
is $1 per acre for the first three years, $2.50 per acre for the fourth and fifth years, then $3
per acre until the lease terminates. The lessee must pay a cash royalty on all minerals
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produced from the leased premises at a rate of not less than five percent of the mineral's
value.

Rule: ARM 36.2.1003, 36.25.606, and 36.25.607

OPERATIONS ON STATE LANDS: PROSPECTING
1. Types of Activities Regulated
Permits may be issued by the Montana Department of Natural Resources and
Conservation (DNRC) to non lease holders for prospecting for metalliferous metals (gold,
silver, lead, zinc, copper, platinum, iron, and all other metallic minerals) and gems
(sapphires, rubies, and other precious or semiprecious stones) on state lands. See also
OPERATIONS ON STATE LANDS: METALLIFEROUS MINERALS AND GEMS, p. 125.
Statute: 77-3-101, et seq., MCA
Contact: DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND CONSERVATION
Trust Land Management Division
Minerals Management Bureau
2. Fees
The applicant for a prospecting permit on state lands is required to pay an issuance fee and
an annual fee during the life of the permit. The prospecting permit fee is set by the DNRC
and approved by the Board of Land Commissioners. Contact the DNRC for fee information.

Statute: 77-1-302, MCA

Rule: ARM 36.2.1003

OPERATIONS ON STATE LANDS: STONE, GRAVEL AND OTHER
NONMETALLIFEROUS MINERALS

1. Types of Activities Regulated

Leases for the mining of nonmetallic minerals (i.e., stone, limestone, oil shale, clay,
bentonite, calcite, talc, mica, ceramic, asbestos, marble, diatomite, gravel and sand,
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phosphate, sodium, potash, sulphur, fluorite, barite, or any other nonmetallic mineral,
excluding coal, oil, or gas) on state lands are issued on a royalty basis for up to a 10-year
period. The lessee may have a preferential right of renewal of a producing lease under the
readjustment of terms and conditions determined by the Montana Board of Land
Commissioners to be in the best interest of the state. Monthly reports are required. The
Board may issue permits on its terms and conditions to the Montana Department of
Transportation, the Board of County Commissioners, or other local government entities for
the removal and use of stone, gravel, or sand from state land for the construction and
maintenance of streets, bridges, highways, etc. Compliance with air quality laws is also
required. See AIR QUALITY PERMITS, p. 35 and OPENCUT MINING, p. 120.

Statute: 77-3-201, et seq., MCA
Contact: DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND CONSERVATION
Trust Land Management Division
Minerals Management Bureau
2. Application Requirements
Applications must be made on forms supplied by the Montana Department of Natural
Resources and Conservation.
3. Permitting Procedures
See OPERATIONS ON STATE LANDS: METALLIFEROUS MINERALS AND GEMS,
p. 125.
4. Fees
An application fee of $40 is required for a nonmetalliferous lease.
Statute: 77-3-202, MCA

Rule: ARM 36.2.1003
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RECORDING OF MINING CLAIMS

1. Types of Activities Regulated

A person who discovers a vein, lode or ledge of rock on federal land bearing valuable
mineral deposits and who wishes to locate a mining claim must follow these procedures:

1)
2)

3)

4)

Post a written notice at the point of discovery;
Within 30 days, mark the boundaries of the site;

Within 60 days, comply with United States mining laws and record the
location with the county clerk and recorder, who in turn must provide a copy
within 20 days to the Montana Department of Natural Resources and
Conservation. The claimant must also, within 90 days, record the claim with
the U.S. Department of the Interior, Bureau of Land Management (BLM),
Montana State Office in Billings; and

File an affidavit of performance of annual work with the appropriate county.
Claim maintenance fees must be paid or the applicant must comply with the
BLM small miner maintenance fee waiver provisions by September 1 of each
year. Small miners taking advantage of the fee waiver provisions must still
file annual assessment filings on or before December 30 of each year.

Statute: 82-2-101, et seq., MCA

Contact: COUNTY CLERK AND RECORDER

DEPARTMENT OF NATURAL RESOURCES AND CONSERVATION

U.S. DEPARTMENT OF THE INTERIOR
Bureau of Land Management
Montana State Office



