## **CIGARETTE STANDARDS**

## August 2010 Report on MCA 50-65-101

The number of cigarette-caused home fires resulting in death and property loss prompted the 2007 Montana Legislature to pass a law enacting reduced ignition cigarette standards. This law is designed to reduce the risk of cigarettes igniting upholstered furniture, mattresses, bedding and other household materials.

## Montana Residential Fire Deaths and Property Loss

Year	Deaths	Property loss
2007	9	\$851,035
2008	6	\$264,663*
2009	5	\$ 59,488
* The reduced ignition standards went into effect in May 2008.		

While the Montana Department of Justice (DOJ) cannot draw any conclusions about the effectiveness of the new law using only one year of data, preliminary reports from other states show an approximately 40% drop in home fires.

The Fire Prevention and Investigations Section of the Division of Criminal Investigation, Montana Department of Justice, conducts inspections of wholesale and retail sales of cigarettes to assure compliance with the law. Five inspectors have completed over 1,200 inspections and have found complete compliance with this law. Local fire officials also conduct inspections within their jurisdictions.

Manufacturers are required to certify their product every three years. There are now 28 manufacturers certified to sell 851 different brand styles of cigarettes in Montana. Over three years, the brand certification fee has generated a total of \$212,750 for the Department of Justice Special Revenue Fund.

In the future, the Fire Prevention and Investigations Section plans to continue educating local fire and health officials, as well as Montanans who smoke, about cigarette safety. Reducing the number of home fire deaths in Montana is our highest priority. It is our goal that our 2015 report will reflect even fewer deaths and a lower dollar loss from cigarette-caused fires.