Continuing Education Requirements of Licensed Professions, Occupations in Montana

The following list provides a review of professions and occupations that are licensed or regulated
by statute in Montana in relation to whether they require continuing education for continued
licensure, certification, or endorsement of some kind. Those professions and occupations
regulated under Title 37 generally have the following statement that applies to continuing
education (as a result few chapters in Title 37 refer specifically to continuing education):

Duties of Boards regarding Continuing Education (CE):

37-1-131(7) — “A board or the department program may:... (d) require
continuing education for licensure as provided in 37-1-306. If the board or
department requires continuing education for continued licensure, the board or
department may not audit or verify continuing education requirements as a
precondition for renewing the license, certification, or registration. The board
or department may conduct random audits of up to 50% of all licensees with
renewed licenses for documentary verification of the continuing education
requirement after the renewal period closes.”

In an attempt to provide a full review of references in statute and rule for continuing education
requirements, the list below is broader than just professions and occupations licensed under Title 37.
The list starts with Boards then moves to Programs regulated by the Department of Labor and Industry.
Following these professions and occupations are additional professions and occupations that have
some reference in statute to continuing education. The approach to continuing education is varied.

Two questions for SJR 35 Subcommittee members:

e If the state creates a board to protect public health, safety, and
welfare, should the state expect members of a licensed profession
or occupation to have continuing education?

e If a profession or occupation does not have continuing education,
is there a need for a board or is a program sufficient?

Board of Alternative Health Care

e Midwives. No specific CE reference in statute. Requirement for 14 CE credits in 12 months
prior to renewal. Allows 2 credits by cassette or videotape per renewal period. Up to 3 CE
credits from Internet or correspondence courses per renewal period. Presentation and
preparation of course allowed at rate of 1 CE for hour, with limit of 3 CEs. Waivers may be
requested. 24-111-2103 ARM.

e Naturopathic Physicians. No specific CE reference in statute. Renewal of a certificate for
specialty practice of naturopathic childbirth attendance requires 5 hrs of board-approved CE in
obstetrics in addition to 15 CE credits required for naturopathic physician license renewal.
24.111.510 ARM. Licensees required to earn 15 CE credits within 12 months prior to renewal,
of which 5 must be in naturopathic pharmacy, 5 in obstetrics if licensee has childbirth specialty
certificate (the latter are in addition to the 5 credits required by 24.111.510). 24.111.2102. Up
to 2 credits allowed by videotape or cassette. No more than 3 credits for internet or
correspondence courses. 1 CE =1 hr of participation or presentation, excluding breaks or
meals. Criteria for courses listed. No courses are pre-approved. Up to 3 credits allowed for
presentations. Waivers may be requested.
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Board of Architects

No CE described in rule or in statute.

Board of Athletics

No CE described in rule or in statute. Licenses not renewable. Separate application each time.

Board of Barbers and Cosmetologists

No statutory reference to CE in Chapter 31.

Instructors — 24.121.2101 ARM. If activating an inactive license, instructor shall show
evidence of 15 hours of CE within 12-month period prior to reactivating license. Also required
to complete 30 hours addition CE before renewal date.

Endorsement required for mechanical exfoliation/microdermabrasion services. Endorsement
requires 50 hours of specified continuing education. 24.121.403 ARM.

Active instructors 30 hours CE per renewal period. Board approves course before credits
granted. Up to 10 of 30 credits may be obtained at trade shows.

Board of Chiropractors

No CE described in statute.
Chiropractors — 24.126.2101 — 12 hours of board-approved CE in year preceding renewal.
Board approves type of CE on case-by-case basis.

Board of Clinical Laboratory Science Practitioners

No CE described in statute.

No CE required for inactive licensees. 24.129.610 ARM.

Annual CE of 14 hours to renew license: 24.129.2101 ARM. Up to 7 hrs in excess of 14 hrs
may be carried over into next year. CE must be germane to profession and professional
competence. Lists types of settings and conditions, including semester credit equaling 15 hrs
CE, and provision for credits awarded if licensee teaches class germane to profession (1 hr
taught = 2 hrs CE)

Board of Dentistry

An inactive license may be reactivated by meeting certain criteria & giving proof of CE credits:
For dentists — 60 hrs in the 3 most current years.

For dental hygienists — 36 hrs in the 3 most current years.

For denturists — 36 hrs in the 3 most current years.

A license may be reinstated with, among other requirements:

e 60 hrs of CE in 3 most current renewal years for a dentist;

e 36 hrs of CE in 3 most current renewal years for a dental hygienist;

e 36 hrs of CE in 36 months preceding application, unless required to take an examination.
Definitions in 24.138.2101.

Eligible subject matters for dentists/dental hygienists in 24.138.2102.

Subject matter for denturists in 24.138.2103.
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Requirements and exclusions in 24.138.2104. Presentation of lectures may earn CE credits at
rate of 3 credits per 60 minutes of initial presentation and 1 credit for 60 minutes of repeat
lectures. No carryover. Exemptions and exclusions in 24.137.2106.

Dentists. No CE described in statute.

60 hrs of CE in 3-yr renewal cycle. If dentist has general anesthesia or conscious sedation

permits, the CE for those are in addition to the basic 60 hrs of CE. (see below)

For licensing by credentialing, dentist or dentist specialist applicant needs 60 hours of CE in

clinical dentistry within 3 yrs preceding application. Courses must meet board specifications.

Dentists with general anesthesia permit must have minimum of 20 clock hrs of CE every 3 yrs

in specified fields. Dentists with conscious sedation permits must have minimum of 12 clock

hrs of CE every 3 years.

Dental hygienists. No CE described in statute.

36 hrs of CE per 3-yr renewal cycle.

For a limited access permit (LAP), dental hygienist applicant needs 12 additional CE credits

within the 3 yrs preceding application. To maintain LAP, dental hygienist must have 48 hrs of

CE credits in each 3-yr cycle after obtaining LAP. This includes 36 hrs for dental hygienist and

12 hrs for LAP.

Denturists

36 hrs of CE per 3-yr renewal cycle.

State Electrical Board

Master, journeyman, residential electrician — 24.141.2102 ARM

CE course curricula must be approved by Electrical Board; approval good for one year.
Instructor must meet one of credential criteria (e.g. electrical engineer licensed as an
electrician, vo-tech instructor, certified teacher with electrical credentials).

Maximum verification of 24 hours in a 3-year period prior to license renewal of which a
minimum of 12 hours must be related to national electrical code updates 24.141.2102(2)(d).

Board of Funeral Services

No CE described in statute.

CE definitions in 24.147.301, includes reference to 12-month period preceding renewal date.
To activate inactive license, applicant must show evidence of attending 6 hrs of CE for each yr
or portion of yr that licensee has been inactive, up to 12 hrs. 24.147.502 ARM. Licensee may
apply for conditional permit pending fulfillment of CE requirements.

Minimum of 12 CE clock hrs in 2-yr period. Maximum carryover of 6 hrs. 24.147.2101.(1).
24.147.2101(2) says affidavit must state a minimum of 6 clock hrs of CE. Spells out criteria
and that the board/staff does not approve specific programs/sponsors. Some types require test.
Specifies 1 CE credit for each hr, with maximum of 3 credits/yr by cassette, videotape or tested
home study.

Recognized sponsors of CE activities listed in 24.147.2102

Exceptions allowed by board to CE requirements if person certifies not planning to practice
funeral service. 24.147.2108.

Penalty for noncompliance with CE requirements (suspension or revocation after hearing)
24.147.2109 ARM.
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Board of Hearing Aid Dispensers

Inactive licensees — 24.150.505 not required to meet CE requirements.

Active licensees — 24.150.2201 — 10 clock hours by renewal date. Lists acceptable course
sponsors. Published books/articles contributing to professional competence equal 4 clock hrs.
Full-time research equals 4 clock hrs. Courses similar to courses completed in previous 2 yrs
cannot receive credit if CE granted previously. No carryover.

Exceptions — 24.150.2202 — Individual hardship, health with medical proof, military service,
foreign residence, retirement, or inaccessibility to programs.

Proof of attendance specified in 24.150.2203.

Board approval required of courses/teachers. 24.150.2204. Sales training seminars don’t count.

Board of Landscape Architects

No CE described in rule or in chapter.

Board of Medical Examiners

Acupuncturists — No CE specified in chapter or in rule.

Emergency Medical Technicians - No CE specified in statute. Only reference to CE is in
24.156.2771 ARM, which states EMTs may perform acts allowed for the relevant EMT
licensure level while participating in a continuing education program.

Nutritionists — (licensed for 1 yr — 37-25-303. Title Act.) No CE specified in chapter or in rule.
Physicians - No CE specified in chapter or in rule.

Physician Assistants — No CE specified in chapter or in rule.

Podiatrists — No CE specified in chapter or in rule.

NOTE: The Board of Medical Examiners does not require continuing medical education
(CME) credits for physicians and osteopaths in Montana because those physicians and
osteopaths who are board-certified must meet the CME requirements set nationally for renewal
of board certification (if they are board certified), according to Brian Zins of the Montana
Medical Association. Also, hospitals tend to give privileges only to physicians or osteopaths
who have board certification, Zins said. A physician can practice without having hospital
privileges.

Some states do require CMEs (e.g., CT). An Accreditation Council for Continuing
Medical Education oversees accreditation of institutions and organizations that offer CMEs.
The American Board of Medical Specialists, an umbrella board for 24 approved specialty
certifying boards, says that most certificates are limited to 6 to 10 years in recognition of the
fast-paced changes in medical knowledge. Recertification is through CME, review of
credentials and further examination.

Board of Nursing

No CE described in statute.

ARM 8.32.411(4) requires 20 pertinent CE units a year (or 40 per 2-year renewal period) for
advanced practice registered nurses. If APRN has a subspeciality, the majority of the CE units
are to be in the subspecialty. To reactivate an inactive license, an APRN is required to submit
proof of 20 CE units from the 12-month period prior to reactivation. 8.32.412(6) ARM. For an
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APRN requesting prescriptive authority, an additional 5 CE units must be obtained in
pharmacology or pharmaceutical management. 8.32.412(a)

APRN (advanced practice registered nurse) must document CE in even years. 8.32.1412 ARM
Nursing faculty “shall maintain continuing professional development in each area of academic
responsibility”. 8.32.1111(3) ARM

Definition of CE in 8.32.1502 says 1 unit = 50 minutes of instruction in academic institution of
higher learning or by a recognized certifying body.

For APRNSs renewing prescriptive authority, CE requirements include a minimum of 10 contact
hours of CE in pharmacology or pharmacology management within 2 years of renewal. A
minimum of 4 hours must be face-to-face interaction. The units must be provided by advanced
formal education or CE seminars/programs approved by certifying bodies. Of these units, the
majority must concern a study of pharmaceutical medications. These CE units are in addition to
those required for the general APRN license. 8.32.1510 ARM.

Board of Nursing Home Administrators

No CE described in statute.

License renewal or reactivation of a license requires 25 hours of CE annually. Up to 25 hours
may be carried over to the succeeding year. A licensee is exempt from CE for the original year
of licensure. One semester credit = 15 CE hours. 60 minutes = 1 CE hr. No more than 15 hrs of
college courses may be submitted for CE without prior approval of the board. Board lists CE
approval guidelines and requires course not on preapproved list to be submitted for approval
with a fee. (24.162.2105 ARM).

Board of Occupational Therapy Practice

No CE reference in statute.

Approval for CE course work set out in 24.165.509 ARM. Documentation spelled out in
24.165.511 ARM.

Reactivating inactive license — requires CE for each yr of inactive status (substantially
equivalent in board’s view to what rules require) OR a minimum of 6 contact hrs of CE in 6
months preceding application to reactivate. 24.165.604 ARM OR repassage of national exam.
CE - 10 contact hours after first full year of licensure. CE must be germane to profession. Lists
acceptable sponsors, options for college courses giving 1 semester credit = 15 contact hrs and 1
quarter credit = 10 contact hrs. Board may approve teaching a course, with 1 hr teaching = 2
contact hrs only for first presentation/instruction, except for teachers of regular courses. Board
may approve apprenticeships with 10 contact hours for each 40-hr week. Reading germane
books OK — 1 contact hr for each book or article up to 4 contact hrs/yr. (book review required
for documentation). Carryover of up to 10 contact hours in excess of required 10 allowed to
succeeding year. Credit allowed for a course previously submitted on a biannual basis.
24.165.2101 ARM

Waivers and extensions allowed. 24.165.2102 ARM

Board of Optometry

No CE described in statute.
CE required of not less than 36 hrs biennially from scientific clinics, forums optometric
educational studies (reported every 2 years). Up to 4 hrs of practice management CE allowed
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every 2 yrs. Approved correspondence courses or internet courses can account for up to 12 hrs
of CE. Waiver allowed for recent licensees, those who have completed accredited residency
program. 24.168.2101 ARM

e Approved programs or courses described in 24.168.2104 ARM.

Board of Outfitters and Guides
e No CE described in statute. Rule requires updated first aid card.

Board of Pharmacy

e Requires 1.5 CEU (continuing education unit, which equals 10 hrs of credit) per fiscal year, but
requirement doesn’t apply for pharmacist applying for first license renewal. Carryover allowed
for only 1.5 CEUs. At least 0.5 CEU must be obtained in approved group program. MT CEU
requirements apply to out-of-state pharmacist with a Montana license. 24.174.2104 ARM.

e CEU list of professional postgraduate education subjects for registered pharmacists in
24.174.2105 ARM.

e Approved programs for registered pharmacists CEUs in 24.174.2106 ARM.

Board of Physical Therapy Examiners

e Former CE in statute amended out in 2005. Covered by rule.

e CE not pre-approved but based on criteria set out in 24.177.2105 ARM. Presentation of a
course by non-teacher to PTs or PT assistants counts for 4 hrs of CE in a 2-yr cycle. Credits =1
CE for each hr of lab or lecture participation; up to 2 CE allowed for cassette or videotape
courses and up to 4 CE from on-line or correspondence courses. Up to 10 CE per reporting
period for peer-reviewed publication of journal article(s), textbook(s) or other publication(s).
Total CE requirements per 24 months = 20, submitted in odd-even years by odd-even licensees.
No CE used for making up delinquent credits can be used to meet current requirements. Waiver
requests to board allowed.

Board of Plumbers

e No CE in statute.

e Effective September 1, 2006, journeyman and master plumbers required to obtain at least 4
hours of board-approved CE each year. (24.180.2102 ARM) New licensees exempt for first
renewal cycle (except that persons changing from journeyman to master plumber still must
have 4 hours). Requirements for curriculum listed in rule.

Board of Private Security Patrol Officers & Investigators
e No CE in rule or statute. However, certification for fire arms instructors is required every 2 yrs
on anniversary date. 8.50.504 ARM. Each instructor required to conduct 1 certified combat
shooting course a year.

Board of Professional Engineers and Land Surveyors
e CE no longer described in statute.
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Reactivating an inactive license requires 30 hrs of board-approved CE. 24.183.2102 ARM.

CE and Professional Development Hour requirements — 24.183.2105. CE unit = 10 hrs of class.
Professional Development Hour — 1 contact hour of instruction/presentation. Each licensee is
required to have 30 professional development hour units in a 2-year renewal period. Carryover
allowed of 15 professional development hour units into next renewal period. Units may be
from college courses, CE courses, correspondence, in-house courses, teaching, publishing, etc.
College semester hour = 45 professional development hours. One CE unit = 10 professional
development hours. For teaching, first-time and not for full-time faculty, merits 2 times the
allowed professional development hours for the course, etc. Up to 2 professional development
hours allowed at end of year of service as officer or active participant in professional or
technical society. Exemptions allowed for disability and various other reasons, including
retirement. Return to work requires completing necessary professional development hours.
Dual licensees required to get 30 professional development hours, with one-third in each
profession.

Extension of deadline by 90 days in order to get CE credits.

Board of Psychologists

No specific CE reference in statute.

Criteria for CE outlined in 24.189.2101.

Even-numbered licensees to submit 40 hrs of CE credit (over 2 years) before renewal date of
even-numbered year. Licensees with odd number licenses submit 40 hrs of CE (over 2 yrs)
before renewal date of odd-numbered year. CE = 1 hr of participation. A person licensed less
than a year has no CE requirement for first renewal and a licensee of less than 2 full calendar
years is required to submit 20 hours of CE. CE fulfilling delinquent requirements cannot be
used for current-year requirements. Exemptions may be requested. 24.189.2107 ARM.
Approved courses outlined in 24.189.2104 ARM. Up to 20 of CE units may be through
completion of advanced credentialing that requires extensive preparation of work samples,
research, oral examination. Up to 10 CE units allowed through initial presentation of
paper/poster on relevant topic. CE = 1 hr per hour of presentation and 1 CE for preparation for
each hr of presentation. Also, teaching, research, publication, formal case presentation. Up to
15 CE units for personal growth activities in individual psychotherapy or group therapy that
meet certain criteria or specific supervision.

Board of Public Accountants

Transfer of license from another state, if held less than 4 years prior to application in MT,
requires meeting continuing professional education requirements, among other provisions.
8.54.415(2)(c). Transfer from another country also requires meeting continuing professional
education requirements. 8.54.416(1)(f).

Reactivation of inactive or revoked license (8.54.418 ARM) or person seeking reinstatement
(8.54.810 ARM) requires compliance with CE rules.

Failure to meet CE requirements is cause for imposition of disciplinary action. 8.54.702 ARM.
Basic CE requirement: over the 3 yrs before renewal, 120 hrs of CE required. Of these, 24 hrs
must relate to financial statement reporting, 2 hrs related to ethics or professional conduct
codes (which may be part of the 24 hrs required for financial statement reporting). Carryover
allowed for excess hours accumulated in 2 months preceding June 30 reporting period. Those
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who have insufficient hrs as of the June 30 reporting period may apply hours accrued in
following months of July and August. 8.54.802 ARM.

CE applies to all permit holders unless exempted. 8.54.803 ARM. Exceptions under 8.54.806.
Board may impose “amplified program” on annual case-by-case basis. 8.54.807 ARM.
Out-of-state holders of MT permit/license required to meet basic CE. 8.54.809 ARM.
Qualified CE is formal program of learning that meets minimum standards set forth by
National Association of State Boards of Accountancy or other standards OK’d by board.
8.54.811 ARM.

Reporting requirements in 8.54.812 ARM.

Subject matter in 8.54.813 ARM.

Suitable group programs in 8.54.814 ARM.

Credit hr = minimum of 50 minutes. 0.5 credit allowed for 25 minutes if 1 credit already
earned. University or college each semester credit = 15 hrs; each quarter credit = 10 hrs.
8.54.815 ARM.

Individual study programs allowed, with CE = to average completion time for interactive
courses and = to ¥ of average completion time for noninteractive programs. 8.54.816 ARM.
Lecturer, discussion leader, speaker allowed credit for preparation time up to 2 times the
number of class contact hours on one-time basis. Credit for session if suitable for CE.
Maximum allowed under this approach (contact and preparation) is 60 CEs. Report reviewers
allowed 1 hr of CE per 2 hrs spent reviewing reports. Maximum per fiscal year of 8 hrs. These
credits can meet requirement for financial statement reporting. 8.54.817 ARM.

Publications can get credit as approved by board. 8.54.818 ARM. Preparation of publication
can be earned on self-declaration basis for up to 30 CEs.

Honor system used if person does not meet requirement by June 30 but plans to meet by
August 31. Report due July 31. 8.54.821 ARM.

Advisory committee may be appointed for CE. 8.54.822 ARM.

Definitions of formal and information CE in 8.54.823 ARM.

Definitions of various levels of CE programs and need to identify prerequisites and pre-review
of courses in 8.54.824 ARM.

Preferred presentation formats, including seating arrangements and evaluation. 8.54.825 ARM.
Further explanation of course hours in 8.54.826 ARM.

Peer review required of permit holders or firms if they sign off on a financial statement. Peer
review to be done on highest level of financial statement report performed by permit holder.
8.54.904 ARM.

Board of Radiologic Technologists

No CE reference in statute.

24.204.2102. Renewal requires 6 contact hrs. (an hour is not less than 55 minutes). Applies
after first full year of licensure. College credit allowed. Also allows retaking of the limited
permit general examination with a passing score. Courses either are approved by professional
organizations listed in rules or by board approval. Reading books/articles germane to
profession also is subject to board approval for credit, at rate of 1 contact hour per book/article,
up to 4 contact hours. Requires book review. No course can be used for credit twice in a period.
No carryover of credit.

Waiver allowed for hardship on written request and approval by board.
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Board of Real Estate Appraisers

No CE reference in statute.

Course requirements — 24.207.504 ARM. Applicant must attend minimum of 90% of scheduled
class hours (defined as 50 minutes), complete required exercises, and get a passing score.
Distance education allowed. (Used for both general education and CE, except CE does not
require exam.)

Inactive status applicants must show current CE (24.207.515) and to reactivate must show CE
obtained (24.207.516).

Trainees must meet CE requirements after original trainee licensing year and may use
qualifying education for CE. 24.207.517.

CE courses must be minimum of 2 hrs for CE approval. CE of 31 hrs required for every other
renewal, at least 7 of the CE hours are to be related to the national uniform standards of
professional appraisal practice course. Activities like program development, teaching,
publications may be approved for CE credits. — 24.207.2101

Failure to comply with CE requirements is unprofessional conduct. 24.207.2102 ARM.

Board of Realty Regulation

Specific authority to board to hold educational programs. 37-51-204 MCA.

Rulemaking specific to CE in 37-53-104 for timeshare sales.

Fees for CE course application and approval and renewal $75 per 8.58.411 ARM.

Rookie CE course preregistration $100 per 8.58.411 ARM. ???

Inactive licensees must continue CE to maintain status. 8.58.412 ARM. (New is 24.210.624)
CE for licensees = 12 hrs each calendar year. Attendance of 90% of each hour required to get
credit. Board must approve courses/instructors. At least 4 hrs must be in mandatory topics set
by board. 8 hrs may be elective topics approved by board. No course repetition in the same
reporting yr. Failure to comply with CE treated as unprofessional conduct. 8.58.415A ARM
and 24-210-667 ARM as revised.

Rules for course approval 8.58.415B and 24.210.674 as revised. Instructors must apply for
approval for each topic. Other states’ approved CE allowed. Distance education allowed, with
conditions.

Rules for instructor approval 8.58.415C and 24.210.677 as revised.

New licensee salespersons must meet mandatory CE in year of initial licensing. 12 hrs of CE
required for second year of licensing and not the same as new licensee training. 8.58.415D
New rule is 24.210.661.

Property Management (old 8.58.709 and new 24.210.835) — Minimum of 12 board-approved
CE every yr of which 4 hrs must come from mandatory specific topics determined by the
board, with the remainder elective hrs approved by the board. Form and reporting requirements
in 8.58.715 ARM.

Property Management course and instructor approval — 8.58.710 and 8.58.711 ARM. CE
course application $75 and instruction application $50.

Board of Respiratory Care Practitioners

No statutory description of CE.
Reactivation of license after 3 years away requires proof of completion of 30 hrs of CE within
the last 60 months or testing requirements. 24.213.402 ARM. Under 24.213.415 the
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requirement for changing from inactive to active status is either full-time practice in another
state and completion of CE for each yr of inactive status substantially equivalent to MT rules or
completion of a minimum of 24 CE units within 2 yrs of applying for reinstatement.

Biennial renewal requires 24 CE units in preceding 24 months. CE unit must be 50 minutes. No
carryover. Insufficient CE hours can be fixed by taking and passing certain exams before
renewal. No CE required until after a full year of licensure.

Approved courses are set out in 24.213.2104 (Category 1 — sponsoring organizations) and in
24.213.2107 (Category Il — nonsponsored organizations -- prior approval requested),
24.213.2111 (Category Il — teaching of which 8 CE units are allowed on a 2-to-1 ratio — as in
1 hr = 2 CE units. Prior approval requested). Also 24.213.2114 (Category IV — papers,
publications, independent study, exhibits, videotapes and college course work — up to 8 CEs,
with report required. College coursework of 1 semester hr = 1.5 CEs; 1 quarter hr = 1 CE unit.
Prior approval requested.

Waiver allowed with written request. 24.213.2121 ARM.

Board of Sanitarians

CE of at least 15 clock hours (50 to 60 minutes per hr.) or 1.5 CE units with renewal form each
odd-numbered year. No carryover. Provides list of acceptable sponsors, types of specialty
program courses. Correspondence course work allowed for specific sponsors subject to board
approval. Courses approved in other states may be OK’d by board. Waiver allowed for retiree.
24.216.2102 ARM

Board of Social Work Examiners and Professional Counselors

Specific statutory reference to CE removed from social workers’ chapter in 2005.

Reactivating a social worker’s or a professional counselor’s inactive license requires 20 hrs of
CE per yr of inactive status with maximum of 40 hrs of CE that complies with the board’s rules
and is approved by board. CE must have been acquired within 24 months prior to reactivation
application. 24.219.509 ARM for social workers; 24.219.609 for professional counselors.
Social workers/professional counselors required to get 20 clock hrs of accredited CE.
Maximum of 10 clock hrs for initial preparation of new course or workshop related to social
work/professional counseling or for paper being published for first time in a recognized
professional journal or at a state/national professional meeting. Carryover of up to 20 hrs
allowed for following year. Exemption allowed. Specifies that licensees prior to July 1 must
fulfill CE. Those licensed after July 1 must fulfill 1/2 of CE. [24.219.2101 ARM for social
workers; 24.219.2201 ARM for professional counselors]

Standards for CE outlined in 24.219.2104 ARM for social workers and 24.219.2204 ARM for
professional counselors, including providers’ application to board for approval.

Affidavit required. CE review committee assists board in approving CE courses, etc.
24.219.2107 ARM for social workers, 24.219.2210 ARM for professional counselors.

CE noncompliance is grounds for suspension/revocation. 24.219.2110 ARM for social workers
and 24.219.2210 ARM for professional counselors.

Board of Speech Language Pathologists & Audiologists

No Statutory Description.

10
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Rule Requirements — 24.222.2101. Policy of undertaking CE. 24.222.2102 — Before February 1
of odd-numbered years, complete 40 CE units for individual license holders, at least 25 of
which through approved sponsor programs or academic course work. If dually licensed, 50 CE
units, split equally between disciplines. Of these 14 CE units in each area must be sponsored.
Speech-Language Aides | have 20 CE units required annually, of which 6 must be sponsored.
14 unsponsored CE units may include on-the-job training or college coursework. Audiology
Aides and Audiology Industrial Aides must complete 6 CE units annually, of which 2 must be
sponsored and 4 unsponsored. Under definitions, 1 CE unit in an ASHA or AAA-approved
sponsor program is equal to 10 CE units.

No carryover.

Instructors in approved programs/courses can receive credit for first presentation not
subsequent ones.

To reactivate an inactive license, a person is required to provide evidence of 10 hours of
approved CE for each year or portion of year in which a licensee has inactive. 24.222.513.

Board of Veterinary Medicine

CE required for persons handling nonsurgical embryo transfers in bovines. 37-18-104 MCA.
Licensee — Minimum of 20 credit hours within 24 months prior to renewal. 24.225.511 ARM
Licensees with less than 2 full calendar years under license and more than 1 calendar year are
required to submit 10 hours of CE.

Grace period of 3 mos., with late penalty fee, written and approved request.

CE credit =1 hr credit for each hr of attendance or participation in meetings/programs
approved by board. Practice management hrs may not exceed 25% of required CE hrs.
Hardship exemption allowed on case by case basis.

Embryo Transfer Technician — Annual renewal. Requirement of 10 CE credit hrs in embryo
transfer in preceding year. 24.225.709 ARM. Grace period of 3 mos., with conditions as above.
Hardship exemptions allowed. No carryover of CE. Proposed CE courses must be pre-
approved. Licensed veterinarians among the exempt.

Euthanasia technicians must recertify every year and show satisfactory completion of a board-
approved euthanasia course within 36 mos of current renewal deadline. 24.225.925 ARM.

Board of Water Well Contractors

Board may set fees for CE, 37-43-202(8) MCA.

Licensees required to obtain minimum of 4 hrs of board-approved training prior to license
renewal each yr. 36.21.413 ARM. New licensees not required to obtain training until 2"
renewal year after receiving a license. Apprentices have separate training.

PROGRAMS

Program for Addiction Counselors

To renew, licensed addiction counselors must earn 40 hours per 2-year renewal cycle.
Carryover to next cycle allowed -- up to 20 hours over 40 hours requirement. Exemptions
allowed on case-by-case basis. 8.11.116 ARM

Criteria and exclusions listed in 8.11.117 ARM.

11
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e Documentation criteria listed in 8.11.118 ARM. Allows workshop presenters up to 20 contact
hours, publication authors up to 20 hours with 2 publications. Rules for in-service training (of
less than 6 hours) and for academic and home-study courses (15 hrs for each semester credit
hr.)

Program for Athletic Agents
e No CE Requirements (no educational requirements to register) in statute. Rules “coming soon”

Program for Blasters
e No specific CE reference in statute or rules.

Program for Boilers
e No specific CE reference in statute or rules. Licenses renewed annually.

Program for Crane Operators
e No specific CE reference in statute or rules.

Program for Elevator Mechanics, Contractors and Inspectors

e At least 8 hrs of CE required for each license term, but department to set requirements by rule.
All hrs to be accumulated in year prior to license expiration. 37-73-220 MCA.

e Penalties for not displaying license: $100 for first offense; $250 for 2" offense. $500 for
subsequent offenses. Each day of violation is a separate offense. 37-73-226 MCA.

e Penalty for violating licensure — not more than $500, imprisonment for a term of up to 6
months, revocation of license, or any combination. Violators that are corporations may be fined
up to $1,000. 37-73-227 MCA.

e Proposed rule - 24.142.2102

Program for Fire Protection

e Completion of CE required for renewal of endorsement under 50-39-102 MCA.

e Minimum of 8 hrs with 60 minutes = 1 hr of CE each yr. CE to cover practice of installing or
servicing fire protection equipment. 24.144.2101 ARM.

e Carryover of up to 8 hrs (in excess of required 8 hrs) to succeeding year.

e List of programs that are eligible for approval, including videotapes, correspondence courses,
teaching germane courses. 1 hr presentation = 2 hrs CE. College or vocational courses, if
passed, result in 15 hrs of CE for 1 semester credit and 10 hrs of CE for 1 quarter credit.

Program for Private Alternative Adolescent Residential or Outdoor Programs
e No CE in statute.
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**** OTHER PROFESSIONALS:

Appraisers

Department of Revenue allowed to set rules for CE for appraisers. 15-7-107 MCA.

Attorneys

Montana Supreme Court regulates under Article V11, section 2 of the Montana constitution.
(Principles for Mandatory Continuing Legal Education are listed in MCA annotations.)

A 9-member commission reviews courses/programs not presented by accredited sponsors to
determine whether they merit CLE credits and, if so, how many.

Active members required to complete 15 credit hours, with at least 10 earned at interactive
seminars. No more than 5 credit hours may be earned through “other methods”, such as audio
or video tapes, writing articles for Law Reviews, attending courses at ABA-accredited law
schools, or first-time teaching/preparing materials for approved activities, approved self-study
programs or inhouse seminars (with conditions). Carryover of interactive credit hours allowed
for us to 2 succeeding years. “Other method” credit hours may not be carried over.

Up to 30 credit hours may be carried forward.

Every 3 years, active member must have 5 credit hours in ethics.

Exemptions for legislators, judges, and governor and, upon application, for special
circumstances (for 1 year).

Paralegals

Regulated by Paralegal Section Council of the State Bar of Montana. Rules administered by
the Professional Responsibility Committee.

Each member required to complete 10 credit hours of CLE each year. At least 6 of the credit
hours must be at interactive seminars. No more than 4 credit hours may be earned through
“other methods”. A maximum of 20 interactive credit hours may be carried forward.

Every 3 years, a member must complete 3 credit hours in ethics. (“Other methods” are similar
to those for attorneys.)

Municipal Court Judges and Justices of the Peace

Municipal court judges - A minimum of 15 hours of continuing judicial education or more, if set
by the supreme court. Supreme Court order of 6/10/2003 says more, but no specific number
listed (see below). Completion of either continuing judicial or legal education hours satisfies the
requirements for CE. 3-6-202 MCA says two annual training sessions under 3-10-203 may
fulfill that requirement.

Supreme Court order of 6/10/2003 said municipal court judges and justices of the peace of
justice’s courts “shall attend the two mandatory annual training sessions provided for in 3-10-
203, MCA, in addition to whatever other courses of continuing judicial or legal education they
may choose to complete”.

Justices of the peace - Two training sessions mandatory under 3-10-203 MCA.. JPs also must
have a certificate of completion of a course of education and training prescribed by the
commission on courts of limited jurisdiction established by the supreme court before taking
office. 3-1-1502 MCA (temporary certificate is allowed under 3-1-1503 MCA). Also, minimum
of 15 hrs of continuing judicial education each yr unless more required by Supreme Court.
Supreme Court order of 6/10/2003 says more, but no specific number listed (see above).
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Public Defenders and Support Staff
e Public Defender Commission to set standards that include CE requirements. 47-1-105 MCA.

Construction Industry

e Continuing education program in building code standards, funded from building fees. 50-60-116
MCA.

Coroners
e Continuing education required under 7-4-2905(2)(b) of 16-hr advanced course, conducted by
the board of crime control. Required once every 2 yrs on penalty of forfeiting office.

County Assessors
o Before taking office must take assessor certification training and has continuing education
courses that must be taken when conducted by the department of revenue, on penalty of
forfeiting office. 7-4-3007 MCA.

Dieticians
e Title 37, Chapter 21. CE mentioned in 37-21-302(2)(c). Didn’t find in DPHHS rules.
(oversight in DPHHS)

Insurance Producers, Adjusters, Consultants, Viatical Brokers

e Required to complete at least 24 credit hrs of approved CE in each 24-month period. 33-17-
1203 MCA. Viatical broker’s requirement in 33-20-1303 MCA, in field of ethics, viaticals, life
insurance.

e Insurance producer licensed for limited lines must complete 5 credit hrs in insurance law, ethics
or limited lines credit insurance. 33-17-1203 MCA.

¢ Insurance producers, adjusters, consultants required to complete at least 1 credit hr in changes in
insurance statutes and administrative rules. 33-17-1203. Exemptions allowed.

e Commissioner of Insurance and Advisory Council approve courses. 33-17-1204 MCA.

e Funding for CE in state special revenue fund. 33-17-1207 MCA.

Mental Health Professionals certified under requirements in Title 53, chapter 21, part 1, for treatment
of seriously mentally ill.
e CE is part of certification requirement. 53-21-106 MCA.

Mortgage Brokers and Loan Originators
e CE of 12 hours required every yr prior to licensing renewal. 32-9-118 MCA.
e Requirements for course approval under 2.15.1705 ARM. Nonrefundable fee of $350 for review
of initial and biennial education provider application. Commercial lending or commercial loan
brokering courses not eligible for CE under this area.
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Teachers

Board of Public Education requires: teachers and specialists to annually complete at least 3
pupil instruction related days specifically dedicated to professional development (a day = 6
hrs). Renew licenses every 5 years.
License renewals, as spelled out in 10.57.215 ARM, require:
60 renewal units for Class 1 (professional teacher), 3 (administrative), and 7 (American Indian
language and culture specialist) licenses;
60 renewal units for Class 4 (career/vo-tech educator) licenses.
College credits and renewal units for a Class 2 (standard teacher’s) license, in specified
combinations (e.g. 5 quarter credits and 10 renewal units.)
60 renewal units or 4 graduate semester credits or 6 graduate quarter credits for Class 6
(specialist) licenses.
Renewal activities include: 1 hour of workshop attendance = 1 renewal unit. One quarter college
credit = 10 renewal units; 1 semester college credit = 15 renewal units.

Title Insurance Agents

Montana Land Title Foundation set up to administer funds for CE and other activities. 33-25-201
MCA.

Water Treatment Plant Operators

Reasonable CE may be established by Department of Environmental Quality. 37-42-202 MCA.
Fully certified operator to earn in 2 yr period credits based on class of operations: -- Class 1
operator = 2 credits for each certificate held (water treatment, water distribution or both) and 2
credits for each wastewater certificate held; Class 2, 3, and 4 operators to earn 1 credit for each
certificate for water treatment, distribution, or both and 1 credit for each wastewater certificate;
Class 5 operator to earn 0.4 credits for each water certificate held for water treatment or water
distribution. 1 credit = 10 contact hours. ¥ credit = 5 contact hours. 1 hr = 60 minute
participation in approved course. Certified operators can get credit for teaching, based on 0.1
credit per hour of instruction plus credit for attending. Approved courses listed.
Correspondence courses allowed. Up to 0.05 credits allowed for participation in a department-
approved vendor show (per show). Hardship extensions allowed. 17.40.213 ARM.
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