February 2005

STATE OF MONTANA
PRIMARY BELT LAW FACT SHEET
PRODUCED BY THE NATIONAL HIGHWAY TRAFFIC
SAFETY ADMINISTRATION

PRIMARY SAFETY BELT LAWS:

e In States with primary safety belt laws, law enforcement officers may stop a vehicle
and issue a citation when the officer observes an unbelted driver or passenger.
Officers in States with secondary enforcement safety belt laws may only write a
citation after the officer stops the vehicle or cites the offender for another infraction.

o States with primary safety belt laws can expect use rates about 11 percentage points
higher than States with secondary enforcement laws.

e If Montana were to enact a primary law, that will save approximately 25 lives,
183 serious injuries, and $44 million in costs each year.

USAGE DATA:
e 19 percent of Montana’s population — about 174,420 people - are still not buckling
up. _

COMPARISON TO OTHER STATES:

i | "[ Montana | Washington | Oregon
'Safety BeltLaw " [ Secondary | Primary | Primary |
| 2004 Observed Use Rate L 81% | 94% | 9%

2003 FATALITY DATA:

e 228 people died while riding in cars and light trucks in Montana.

e 50 percent of all Montana occupant fatalities occur in light trucks.

e About 30 percent of fatally injured passenger vehicle occupants in Montana were
known to be restrained.
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