## **Economic Development Advisory Council**

http://businessresources.mt.gov/BRD\_EDAC.asp

Statutory Citation: Section 2-15-1820, MCA.

The Economic Development Advisory Council provides direction and oversight to the Governor and the Montana Department of Commerce (DOC). Specifically, the Council:

- advises the DOC concerning the distribution of funds to certified regional development corporations for business development purposes;
- advises the DOC regarding the creation, operation, and maintenance of the Microbusiness Finance Program and the policies and operations affecting the certified microbusiness development corporations;
- advises the Governor and the DOC on significant matters concerning economic development in Montana;
- prescribes allowable administrative expenses for which economic development funds may be used by certified regional development corporations; and
- encourages certified regional development corporations to promote economic development on Indian reservations in their regions.

#### <u>Membership</u>

The Council is composed of up to 19 members. Fifteen of the members are appointed by the Governor and include the Director of the DOC, the Governor's Chief Business Development Officer who serves as Presiding Officer of the Council, one member from a Montana tribal government who represents a tribal economic development organization, and up to 12 public members representing each geographic region covered by each of the regional development corporations certified by the DOC. In addition, two representatives, including one from each party, are appointed by the Speaker of the House. Two senators, including one from each party, are appointed by the Committee on Committees.

#### MEMBERS OF THE COUNCIL

#### Legislative Members

#### Rep. John Fleming (D)

55533 McKeever Rd. Saint Ignatius, MT 59865-9331 Ph: 745-4161 fleming@stignatius.net

#### Rep. Tom McGillvray (R)

3642 Donna Dr.
Billings, MT 59102-1119
Ph: 656-7542
tmcgillvray@bresnan.net

#### Sen. Joe Balyeat (R)

6909 Rising Eagle Rd. Bozeman, MT 59715-8621 Ph: 586-1838 joebalyeat@yahoo.com

#### Sen. Kim Gillan (D)

750 Judicial Ave. Billings, MT 59105-2130 Ph: 248-6063 glonky@aol.com

### Public and State Agency Members

#### Mr. Jim Atchison

Southeastern Montana Development Corp. P.O. Box 1935 Colstrip, MT 59323 Ph: 748-2990 semdc@bhwi.net

## Ms. Kathie Bailey

Snowy Mountain Development Corp. 613 NE Main Lewistown, MT 59457 Ph: 535-2591 smdcdist6@hotmail.com

#### Mr. Evan Barrett, Presiding Officer

Montana Governor's Office
Office of Economic Development
P.O. Box 200801
Helena, MT 59620-0801
Ph: 444-5634
ebarrett@mt.gov

#### Ms. Sheila Hogan

Career Training Institute 347 N Last Chance Gulch Helena, MT 59601 Ph: 443-0800 sheilah@ctibrc.org

#### Ms. Elizabeth Marchi

307 1st Street West #2 Polson, MT 59860 Ph: 883-4044 liz@frontierangels.com

#### Ms. Corlene Martin

Sonoran Institute P.O. Box 215 Choteau, MT 59422 Ph: 466-5784 corlene@3rivers.net

2009-10 Interim Directory of Legislative Committees
Economic Development Advisory Council
Page 67

#### Mr. Joe Menicucci

City of Belgrade 91 E Central Ave. Belgrade, MT 59714 Ph: 388-3760 belgrademgr@qwest.net

# Mr. Tony Preite, Vice Presiding Officer

Montana Department of Commerce 301 S Park P.O. Box 200501 Helena, MT 59620-0501 Ph: 841-2708 tpreite@mt.gov

#### Mr. Joseph Reber

3710 American Way, Apt. 309 Missoula, MT 59808 Ph: 829-6602 josephreber@msn.com

## Mr. Richard Sangray

Chippewa Cree Business Committee RR 1, Box 544
Box Elder, MT 59521
Ph: 395-5705
richard@cct.rockyboy.org

## Mr. Wade Sikorsky

1511 Highway 7 Baker, MT 59313 Ph: 775-6378

#### <u>Staff</u>

## Mr. Quinn Ness, Section Manager

Montana Department of Commerce Big Sky Economic Development Trust Fund Certified Regional Development Corporations Economic Development Advisory Council

#### Mr. Jim Smitham

Butte Local Development Corp. P.O. Box 507 Butte, MT 59701 Ph: 723-4349 jsmitham@bldc.net

#### Mr. Curt Starr

4960 Cheyenne Trail Billings, MT 59106 Ph: 238-3142

#### Mr. Paul Tuss

Bear Paw Economic Development Corp. P.O. Box 170 Havre, MT 59501 Ph: 265-9226 ptuss@bearpaw.org

#### Ms. Linda Twitchell

Great Northern Development Corp. 233 Cascade St. Wolf Point, MT 59201 Ph: 653-2590 linda@gndc.org

2009-10 Interim Directory of Legislative Committees
Economic Development Advisory Council
Page 68

MicroBusiness Finance Program 301 S Park P.O. Box 200505 Helena, MT 59620

Ph: 841-2758 FAX: 841-2731

quness@mt.gov

## Ms. Janice Wannebo, Program Manager

Montana Department of Commerce MicroBusiness Finance Program 301 S Park P.O. Box 200505 Helena, MT 59620

Ph: 841-2751 FAX: 841-2731

jwannebo@mt.gov