Print Version
Print Banner Print

Districting and Apportionment Commission Public Comments

***The commission finalized its plan for legislative redistricting on February 12, 2013. At that time, the commission was dissolved, as required by the Montana Constitution. The documents on this page are part of the commission's permanent record. However, because the commission no longer exists, new comments will not be forwarded on to the former commissioners or added to the commission's files. If you have questions, please contact the Legislative Services Division at or 406-444-3064.

The Districting and Apportionment Commission welcomes your input. Use the resources on this page to provide your comments to the commissioners.

Districting Criteria

The commissioners are bound by the U.S. and Montana Constitutions when redrawing political districts. To that end, the commission adopted the following criteria that are based on state and federal law. The mandatory criteria are derived from various statutes and court cases, while the discretionary criteria are traditional redistricting principles selected by the commission to use to provide further guidance on where to draw lines.

When providing input, keep in mind that the commissioners are following their criteria when redrawing districts. Be sure to include in your comments how your ideas fit with the criteria. Download a pdf copy of the criteria now.

Comments will be distributed to all commissioners and copied for the commission's permanent record.

Contact information

By mail:
Montana Districting and Apportionment Commission
PO Box 201706
Helena, MT 59620-1706

By e-mail:

By fax:

Read what others have said


***Please visit the Commission's Maps page to view any full or partial maps submitted by the public.

Montana Legislature Facebook
Disclaimer | Help | Contact Us | Privacy &Security | MT Legislature Homepage | Back to Top
Last Modified:
2/14/2013 3:13:59 PM