Print Version
Print Banner Print

HB 49 Subcommittee -- Special Purpose Districts

HB 49 requires the Education and Local Government committee (ELG) to establish a subcommittee to conduct a study of local government special purpose districts. The study must include a review of current law with regard to special purpose districts, an inventory of existing special purpose districts, and a determination of whether it may be appropriate to consolidate processes for various special purpose districts into one set of statutes. The subcommittee members include legislators and city and county officials.

ELG's presiding officer appoints subcommittee members after considering recommendations from the Montana Association of Counties and the Montana League of Cities and Towns.

Sign Up for Electronic Notices of Committee Information



Sen. Kim Gillan (chair)
Rep. Gary Branae (vice-chair)
Sen. Rick Laible
Rep. Bill Nooney

City/County Officials:
Mike McGinley, Beaverhead County Commissioner
Paula Robinson, Flathead County Clerk & Recorder
Paulette DeHart, Lewis & Clark County Clerk & Recorder/Treasurer
Shoots Veis, Billings City Councilman
Ed Meece, Livingston City Manager
Marty Rehbein, Missoula City Clerk

Meeting Schedule

No further meetings are scheduled. The subcommittee's work is complete. Click here to review the subcommittee's final work report, proposed draft legislation, and related documents.

September 5, 2008
September 4, 2008
July 29, 2008
May 29, 2008
December 12, 2007
October 2, 2007

Assigned Study

HB 49


HB 49 Subcommittee: Special Districts
An interim study of local government special purpose districts

Submitted to the 61st Legislature

How to Contact Us

Hope Stockwell, Lead Staff
Greg Petesch, Staff Attorney
CJ Johnson, Secretary
Legislative Services Division
PO Box 201706
Helena, MT 59620-1706

Last Modified: 2/20/2009 3:23:33 PM

Montana Legislature Facebook