Print Version
Print Banner Print

2010 Census: Your Leadership Is Needed

The U.S. Census Bureau is issuing a call to action for every resident of our nation: "Be counted in 2010."

U.S. Census 2010 logoCensus Day is April 1, 2010. As an elected official and community leader, you can help raise awareness of and encourage participation in this monumental event. By doing so, you can help your constituents get their fair share of federal funds, census jobs, and congressional representation.

On this page are many resources you can use to help educate your constituents about the census. More information is also available from the U.S. Census Bureau or the Montana Census and Economic Information Center and its special 2010 Montana website.

Census Timeline: Key Dates

Fall 2009 Recruitment begins for census takers to support peak workload in 2010.
February-March 2010 Census questionnaires are mailed or delivered to households.
April 1, 2010 Census Day
May-July 2010 Census takers visit households that did not return a questionnaire by mail.
December 2010 By law, Census Bureau delivers population counts to the President for apportionment of Congress.
March 2011 By law, Census Bureau completes delivery of redistricting data to states. Legislative redistricting begins.

Legislator Resources

Montana Resources

General Resources

Montana Complete Count Committee

The Montana Complete Count Committee program consists of community and government leaders dedicated to building awareness of the 2010 Census. It is chaired by Lieutenant Governor John Bohlinger.

On September 23, the Complete Count Committee launched a campaign to keep Montanans informed about the census and the importance of getting a complete population count. The committee created several subcommittees, including a Government Subcommittee.

Members of the subcommittee from the legislative branch are Senator Ryan Zinke, Whitefish; and Representatives Tony Belcourt, Box Elder; Chuck Hunter, Helena; Deborah Kottel, Great Falls; Scott Reichner, Bigfork; Jon Sesso, Butte; and Wayne Stahl, Saco. Susan Fox, executive director of the Legislative Services Division, is the subcommittee chair.

Other subcommittee members are Peggy Beltrone, Cascade County Commission; Harold Blattie, Montana Association of Counties; Dan Clark, MSU Local Government Center; Mike Ferriter, Montana Department of Corrections; Alec Hanson, League of Cities and Towns; Paul Lachappelle, MSU Local Government Center; and Sheena Wilson, Governor's Office. Mary Craigle, CEIC bureau chief, 406-841-2739, serves as support staff.

Rep. Shannon Augare, Browning, chairs the Tribal Subcommittee. Sen. Mike Cooney, Helena, is a member of the Business Subcommittee, and Sen. Kim Gillan, Billings, is on the Economic Development Subcommittee.


Montana Legislature Facebook
Disclaimer | Help | Contact Us | Privacy &Security | MT Legislature Homepage | Back to Top
Last Modified:
2/16/2010 4:03:42 PM