Print Version
Print Banner Print

Loan Call for Special Session


WHEREAS, Montana lacks the start up venture capital necessary for midsizebusinesses and enterprises; and

WHEREAS, Montana financial institutions are unable to supply the necessaryventure capital because of lending limits and equity requirements ; and

WHEREAS, it is desirable to develop a method of providing the venture capitalnecessary for new midsize businesses and enterprises in order to improve the Montanaeconomy; and

WHEREAS, Article V, section 6, of The Constitution of the State of Montanaand section 5-3-101, MCA, provide that the Legislature may be convened in specialsession at the request of a majority of the members.

NOW, THEREFORE, WE THE UNDERSIGNED, being a majority of the membersof the Fifty-Sixth Legislature, pursuant to Article V, section 6, of the MontanaConstitution and section 5-3-101, MCA, hereby convene the Fifty-Sixth Legislatureinto special session in Helena, to run concurrently with the special session beginningMay 8, 2000, called by the Governor.

The special session hereby convened shall consider legislation to authorize theuse of $50 million of coal severance tax permanent trust fund by the Board ofInvestments and participating local financial institutions for loans to finance newmidsize businesses and enterprises.

Members of the Fifty-Sixth Legislature:

Jay Stovall

Arnie Mohl

Tom Beck

William Crismore

Lila Taylor

Bob Keenan

Debbie Shea

John Cobb

Steve Vick

Stanley Fisher

Marian W. Hanson

Dan Harrington

Peggy Arnott Bergsagel

Bob Depratu

Dale Berry

Jack Wells

John Hertel

Reiny Jabs

Ken Mesaros

Mike Sprague

Ric Holden

Alvin Ellis, Jr.

Lorents Grosfield

Thomas Keating

Daryl Toews

Don Hargrove

Mike Taylor

Duane Grimes

Chuck Swysgood

Dale Mahlum

E.P. "Pete" Ekegren

Chris Ahner

Ernest Bergsagel

Gay Ann Masolo

Doug Mood

Dick Haines

Darrel Adams

Brad Molnar

Larry Grinde

William Rehbein, Jr.

Bob Pavlovich

Aubyn Curtiss

Matt Brainard

Robert "Bob" Clark

Sylvia Bookout-Reinicke

Sam Kitzenberg

Bill Thomas

Joe Barnett

Daniel Fuchs

Donald Hedges

Roger J. Somerville

Joan Andersen

Loren Soft

Steve Gallus

Joe McKenney

John "Sam" Rose

Paul Clark

Edith J. Clark

Dan McGee

Tom Zook

Mack Cole

John Mercer

Chase Hibbard

Fred Thomas

Walter McNutt

J.D. Lynch

Joe Quilici

John Harp

Gerry Devlin

Wm. E. "Bill" Glaser

Paul Sliter

Karl Ohs

John L. Holden

Robert R. Story, Jr.

John E. Witt

Shiell W. Anderson

Cindy Younkin

Return to 2000 Session Page

Montana Legislature Facebook
Disclaimer | Help | Contact Us | Privacy &Security | MT Legislature Homepage | Back to Top
Last Modified:
7/16/2008 8:45:55 AM