58th Legislature SB0220



AN ACT REVISING THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION DISTRICTS FOR THE PURPOSE OF POPULATION EQUALITY; PROVIDING FOR TRANSITION; AND AMENDING SECTION 69-1-104, MCA.

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MONTANA:

Section 1. Section 69-1-104, MCA, is amended to read:

- **"69-1-104. Public service commission districts.** In this state there are five public service commission districts, with one commissioner elected from each district, distributed as follows:
- (1) first district: Blaine, <u>Cascade</u>, Chouteau, Daniels, Dawson, Fergus, Garfield, Glacier, Golden Valley, Hill, <u>Judith Basin</u>, Liberty, McCone, <u>Musselshell</u>, Petroleum, Phillips, Pondera, Prairie, Richland, Roosevelt, Sheridan, Toole, Valley, and Wibaux, and Wibaux Counties;
- (2) second district: Big Horn, Carbon, Carter, Custer, Fallon, Powder River, <u>Prairie</u>, Rosebud, Stillwater, Sweet Grass, Treasure, and Yellowstone Counties;
- (3) third district: <u>Beaverhead</u>, Broadwater, Cascade, <u>Deer Lodge</u>, <u>Gallatin</u>, <u>Golden Valley</u>, <u>Jefferson</u>, <u>Judith Basin</u>, <u>Lewis and Clark</u>, <u>Madison</u>, Meagher, Teton, <u>Musselshell</u>, <u>Park</u>, <u>Silver Bow</u>, <u>Stillwater</u>, <u>Sweet Grass</u>, and Wheatland Counties:
- (4) fourth district: Beaverhead, Deer Lodge, Gallatin, Granite, Madison, Park, Lincoln, Mineral, Missoula, Powell, Ravalli, and Silver Bow Sanders Counties;
- (5) fifth district: Flathead, Lake, Glacier, Lake, Lewis and Clark, Lincoln, Mineral, Missoula, and Sanders Pondera, and Teton Counties."
- **Section 2. Transition.** For the purposes of the 2004 election, the secretary of state shall declare which district a sitting commissioner represents for any public service commissioner whose district is not up for election and shall use as criteria the residence of the respective commissioner on [the effective date of this act].
- **Section 3. Saving clause.** [This act] does not affect rights and duties that matured, penalties that were incurred, or proceedings that were begun before [the effective date of this act].

I hereby certify that the within bill,	
SB 0220, originated in the Senate.	
Secretary of the Senate	
President of the Senate	
Signed this	day
of	
Speaker of the House	
0: 141:	
Signed this	
of	, 2019.

SENATE BILL NO. 220

INTRODUCED BY F. THOMAS, R. BROWN, DEPRATU, ELLINGSON, FUCHS, KEENAN, LASZLOFFY, MCNUTT, STONINGTON, STORY, TESTER, WHEAT, BRUEGGEMAN

AN ACT REVISING THE PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION DISTRICTS FOR THE PURPOSE OF POPULATION EQUALITY; PROVIDING FOR TRANSITION; AND AMENDING SECTION 69-1-104, MCA.