60th Legislature HB0207.01

HOUSE BILL NO. 207 INTRODUCED BY P. INGRAHAM

A BILL FOR AN ACT ENTITLED: "AN ACT REVISING WHEN COUNTY COMMISSIONERS AND OTHER COUNTY ELECTED OFFICIALS SHALL TAKE THE OATH OF OFFICE; AND AMENDING SECTIONS 7-4-2105 AND 7-4-2205, MCA."

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MONTANA:

Section 1. Section 7-4-2105, MCA, is amended to read:

"7-4-2105. Term of office. (1) The term of office of county commissioners is 6 years. A county commissioner takes office at 12:01 a.m. on January 1 succeeding the date of the election at which the county commissioner was elected.

(2) A county commissioner elected to take office shall take the oath of office on <u>or before</u> the last business day of December following the commissioner's election, except as provided for in 7-4-2106."

Section 2. Section 7-4-2205, MCA, is amended to read:

"7-4-2205. Term of office -- oath. (1) Each person elected to an office named in 7-4-2203 holds the office for the term of 4 years and until a successor is elected and qualified.

- (2) A person appointed to any of the different offices serves at the pleasure of the commissioners.
- (3) Each officer who is mentioned in this part and who is elected to office shall:
- (a) take the oath of office on <u>or before</u> the last business day of December following the officer's election; and
 - (b) take office at 12:01 a.m. on January 1 following the officer's election."

- END -