63rd Legislature

1	HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 2
2	INTRODUCED BY L. RANDALL
3	
4	A RESOLUTION OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MONTANA PROVIDING
5	RECOMMENDATIONS ON THE LEGISLATIVE REDISTRICTING PLAN TO THE MONTANA DISTRICTING AND
6	APPORTIONMENT COMMISSION.
7	
8	WHEREAS, the Montana Districting and Apportionment Commission submitted its legislative redistricting
9	plan to the Legislature on January 8, 2013, as required by Article V, section 14, of the Montana Constitution; and
10	WHEREAS, the Commission adopted criteria to guide the drawing of district lines that preserve the
11	principle of "one person, one vote"; and
12	WHEREAS, the House of Representatives commends the Commission for establishing a maximum 3%
13	population deviation, which surpasses the standard of a 5% population deviation; and
14	WHEREAS, the Commission formed districts that successfully comply with all requirements of the federal
15	Voting Rights Act and that protect the voting rights of minority populations; and
16	WHEREAS, the House of Representatives contends that criteria directing the creation of compact and
17	contiguous districts that preserve communities of interest and, when possible, follow the lines of political and
18	geographic boundaries have not been satisfactorily adhered to; and
19	WHEREAS, the House of Representatives contends that the proposed plan does not pass a general
20	appearance test regarding compactness in numerous instances, particularly House Districts 24 and 25 in
21	Cascade County, House Districts 47, 48, 49, and 50 in Yellowstone County, House District 66 in Gallatin County,
22	House District 81 in Lewis and Clark County, and House District 96 in Missoula County; and
23	WHEREAS, the House of Representatives contends that pairings of House Districts made to form Senate
24	Districts fracture communities of interest, particularly the assignments of House Districts 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, and
25	79 in Deer Lodge, Jefferson, and Silver Bow Counties; and
26	WHEREAS, the House of Representatives contends that holdover Senators Kaufmann and Webb have
27	been assigned to Senate Districts predominantly composed of citizens who have never had the opportunity to
28	vote for these officials, when it is possible to assign them to districts that include significant populations from their
29	original Senate Districts; and
30	WHEREAS, the Legislature is required to return the plan to the Commission with its recommendations

- 1 -

Legislative Services Division

1 on or before February 7, 2013.

2

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF
MONTANA:

5 That the House of Representatives urges the passage of amendments necessary for the Legislative 6 Redistricting Plan to conform to the Commission's established criteria. To this end, the House of Representatives 7 recommends that the Commission consider the following amendments:

8 (1) redraw House Districts 24 and 25 in Cascade County, House Districts 47, 48, 49, and 50 in 9 Yellowstone County, House District 66 in Gallatin County, House District 81 in Lewis and Clark County, and 10 House District 96 in Missoula County to better meet the standard of a general appearance test regarding 11 compactness. A compact district would be more square-like, as opposed to a long rectangle.

(2) preserve both compactness and communities of interest by reassigning the following House Districts
into Senate District pairings: House Districts 73 and 76, House Districts 74 and 77, and House Districts 75 and
78. The House District lines for Districts 74 and 77 should be moved together in order to meet the contiguous
standard in the Commission's criteria.

- (3) reassign the following holdover Senators to Senate Districts that include the communities from whichthey were originally elected:
- 18 (a) Senator Kaufmann from Senate District 40 to Senate District 41; and
- 19 (b) Senator Webb from Senate District 23 to Senate District 22.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a copy of this resolution be kept on file by the Secretary of State and that copies be sent by the Secretary of State to the presiding officer and each member of the Montana Districting and Apportionment Commission.

23

- END -

